SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2961 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS A)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1036 times 
Reviewed by:Lana E
photo

 
 
About Lana E
Member since: 10/10/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/09 8:29 PM
Last Updated:7/22/09 7:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chacha45 said...
You look soooo cute! Good job!
7/22/09 10:22 PM
heapha said...
congrats you did a brilliant job. I just bought this pattern and hope it looks as good on me as it does on you
7/22/09 10:52 PM
Sandi S said...
cute dress - you did a good job on this!
7/22/09 11:20 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Beautiful dress which looks stunning on you. I think you did a really amazing job on this. Don't underestimate your skills, I am very impressed that you tackled a strapless style as your second ever dress.
7/23/09 3:27 AM
rozzybabe said...
You did very well, especially with being a beginner sewer. None of us ever get to "perfect", so don't worry! You will continue to increase your skill level with more studying & attempts. Keep up & persevere!!!
7/23/09 5:45 AM
jenniesue said...
This is so cute, I love the cherries. Are you choosing your size by your bust or high bust measurement? American patterns are generally drafted for a B cup so if you are larger than that and you choose the size that matches your bust measurement it may be too big. This may be why your dress was too big at the top. If you check the knowledge base or fitting message board you will find lots of information about this. I was sewing the wrong size for years because no one ever told me this and once you know the right size to pick and how to make it fit sewing is so much better.
7/23/09 10:31 AM
Lana E said...
Thanks for the compliments everyone. You all have made my day! Jennisue, I will be sure to check out the fitting message board and knowledge base. Hopefully I won't have the fitting issue, but I know I'm not the only person to have this problem with this particular pattern.
7/23/09 1:52 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
Goodness, this is adorable! It flatters your figure really well. I just love the 50's feel of it too!
7/24/09 10:24 AM
Kayseri said...
Very smart looking dress and great fitting.
7/26/09 5:12 AM
ggexpansive said...
you look great , i love the dress esp. the cherries! you have just the right look to pull this off , and for this to be just your second dress wow : )
8/14/09 4:34 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY cute dress! I love the contrasting bow at the bodice. :o) As the contest manager for the beginners' contest, I've been enjoying going through all of our wonderful entries and reminding everyone to be sure and include all of the required information in your review, if you have not already done so, that being: (1) Write a review of your project, complete with a picture of the finished item. (2) In addition to the standard information on the review template, the review should include: (a) A very brief description of your previous sewing experience. (b) Information regarding what outside help you may have received, other than online help here on PR. (c) If you are entering a garment into the Advanced Beginner Contest, please describe which technique(s) was new to you. (d) If your item was made as a part of a class, please note this in the review. Additionally, if the item was made as part of a class, the instructor must not have had any part in stitching or construction. I noticed that the project photo link at the top of your review isn't working, BUT I was able to see it down within your review, so that's good! You look GREAT in this dress. Good luck in the contest!
8/24/09 0:38 AM
Michele19 said...
Adorable! Good job!
8/29/09 3:55 PM
rebija said...
Beautiful!
8/31/09 12:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Lana: I just sent you a personal message in regards to this review, okay? If you'll look to the upper right of your screen, you'll see a link to the "Message Center," and it will be showing that you have a new message. Just click on that link, and it'll take you to my message. Thanks, Annette.
9/3/09 0:33 AM
FullertonRegan said...
OK, when I was a beginner, my garments consisted of pajama shorts made out of dinosaur fabric, and a very cute but horribly made sweetheart neckline dress. I would have hit a miserable fail compared to these garments! This was a very ambitious dress to take on to say the least, and it came out simply stunning!! Wonderful work.
9/5/09 3:13 PM
CarolynGM said...
Darling dress. You did a great job making the necessary modifications for a great fit!
9/6/09 8:08 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lana, Very nice job on your dress. The contrasting trim and bow made the dress pop.
9/8/09 3:32 PM
Nancy Anne said...
That dress is quite the undertaking for a beginner! For someone who had so many issues, your dress sure did turn out cute! I always match up my seams and notches, easing the fabric as necessary. I take pins out when I sew EXCEPT when it comes to matching seams- to get them to line up I'll risk breaking a needle by leaving the pin in and sewing over it.
9/15/09 8:16 PM
MerryB said...
What a fun dress! The detail on your review is very helpful. Thank you.
9/29/09 1:02 PM
Sassy T said...
I anbsolutely love it. The cherrie fabric is so damn cute. You look the belle of the ball.
12/11/11 12:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Burda 7220

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now