SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> SW Sandra Betzina (Sandra Betzina Coat)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1646 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/04 10:24 AM
Last Updated:1/7/04 10:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Gorgeous! I bet you'll get lots of compliments!
1/7/04 11:21 AM
mClones said...
I'll second that. You have beautiful taste and so right for your figure (also your yellow Miyake dress).
1/7/04 11:28 AM
Lisette said...
Love your coat! It has a 1920's flavor to it that I just love!
1/7/04 12:42 PM
cindyann said...
You are right. At 5'1" Id be a big piece of walking fabric in that style, but it looks just fabulous on you! I love the line of the coat especially the collar. Beautiful
1/7/04 1:09 PM
jlg said...
Very nice looking coat, Harriet. Very becoming.
1/7/04 1:45 PM
Skymom said...
This is so stylish on you. I would worry that it would look like a bathrobe on me, but it looks like very expensive RTW fashion on you. Nice work!
1/7/04 2:27 PM
Ann Smith said...
Looks wonderful and I love the leather trim. I have made this coat and I'm only 5'3". I think it works on a short person as long as the fabric is a bit drapey.
1/7/04 2:33 PM
sewgirl said...
Very ambitious!! Great results!!!
1/7/04 4:17 PM
PattiA said...
Really elegant--I love the color on you!
1/7/04 5:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely coat Harriet! Years ago, I made a coat out of white boiled wool that looked almost exactly like this one. It was, however, a Vogue Designer pattern -- kind of makes me wonder where Sandra got her inspiration. I am tall, and the style suited me very well. I wore it till it fell apart.
1/7/04 5:56 PM
mudcat said...
It looks great on you! How did you choose your size? I know this line tends to run large.
1/7/04 6:13 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Awsome coat! I'd certainly wear something like this, and I'm only 5'4".
1/7/04 8:25 PM
VROOM VROOM said...
You are right Harriet. This coat is for tall people who can carry the flair of the coat off. The whole beauty of this coat is in its sweep and carriage, kind of like runway models needing to be tall. The grey color goes excellently with your silver hair. I love how you carried the grey detail down to your stockings and shoes. That is such a nice complet. You go girl!!! Work the look!!!
1/8/04 0:29 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for all the compliments: this site is great for the 'ole ego!. Mudcat, I chose a medium because I knew the coat was unlined and figured I'd be wearing with heavy sweaters underneath. Now that I know how large it is, I'm sure a small would have been sufficient. (nothing like a scientific approach to these things!) Vroom, vroom, love the saying "work the look". Have not heard it before. I don't recall seeing any of your sewing on here, and you've got me interested. When was the last time you posted one? Thanks again everyone.
1/8/04 1:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Kwik Sew 3238

photo
by: Lynn67

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now