Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: SW Sandra Betzina (Sandra Betzina Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1644 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/04 10:24 AM
Last Updated:1/7/04 10:24 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Gorgeous! I bet you'll get lots of compliments!
1/7/04 11:21 AM
mClones said...
I'll second that. You have beautiful taste and so right for your figure (also your yellow Miyake dress).
1/7/04 11:28 AM
Lisette said...
Love your coat! It has a 1920's flavor to it that I just love!
1/7/04 12:42 PM
cindyann said...
You are right. At 5'1" Id be a big piece of walking fabric in that style, but it looks just fabulous on you! I love the line of the coat especially the collar. Beautiful
1/7/04 1:09 PM
jlg said...
Very nice looking coat, Harriet. Very becoming.
1/7/04 1:45 PM
Skymom said...
This is so stylish on you. I would worry that it would look like a bathrobe on me, but it looks like very expensive RTW fashion on you. Nice work!
1/7/04 2:27 PM
Ann Smith said...
Looks wonderful and I love the leather trim. I have made this coat and I'm only 5'3". I think it works on a short person as long as the fabric is a bit drapey.
1/7/04 2:33 PM
sewgirl said...
Very ambitious!! Great results!!!
1/7/04 4:17 PM
PattiA said...
Really elegant--I love the color on you!
1/7/04 5:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Lovely coat Harriet! Years ago, I made a coat out of white boiled wool that looked almost exactly like this one. It was, however, a Vogue Designer pattern -- kind of makes me wonder where Sandra got her inspiration. I am tall, and the style suited me very well. I wore it till it fell apart.
1/7/04 5:56 PM
mudcat said...
It looks great on you! How did you choose your size? I know this line tends to run large.
1/7/04 6:13 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Awsome coat! I'd certainly wear something like this, and I'm only 5'4".
1/7/04 8:25 PM
VROOM VROOM said...
You are right Harriet. This coat is for tall people who can carry the flair of the coat off. The whole beauty of this coat is in its sweep and carriage, kind of like runway models needing to be tall. The grey color goes excellently with your silver hair. I love how you carried the grey detail down to your stockings and shoes. That is such a nice complet. You go girl!!! Work the look!!!
1/8/04 0:29 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for all the compliments: this site is great for the 'ole ego!. Mudcat, I chose a medium because I knew the coat was unlined and figured I'd be wearing with heavy sweaters underneath. Now that I know how large it is, I'm sure a small would have been sufficient. (nothing like a scientific approach to these things!) Vroom, vroom, love the saying "work the look". Have not heard it before. I don't recall seeing any of your sewing on here, and you've got me interested. When was the last time you posted one? Thanks again everyone.
1/8/04 1:22 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

New Look 6626
photo
Review by maridunn on 12/14/07
Read Review

Oliver S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Hula Hoop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6022
photo
Review by MarianS on 8/27/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6508 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6019 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 6019 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us