SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5060 (Misses'/Miss Petite Lined Coat)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1250 times 
Reviewed by:CynthiaSue
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CynthiaSuestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/11/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/09 8:31 PM
Last Updated:7/31/09 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
47 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket. You did a great job drafting the pattern to meet your needs, fantastic.
7/31/09 10:02 PM
okie2thdoc said...
Great drafting! It looks better than the original.
7/31/09 10:27 PM
CarolynGM said...
Yes, it took some time, but it was worth every minute of it. The pleated peplum, the intriguing sleeve design, the collar -- every detail is sensational. Please promote yourself to Advanced.
7/31/09 10:42 PM
CypGrl said...
Definitely agree with CarolynGM -- on to Advanced. It looks as if it will be so wearable and is just beautiful too.
7/31/09 11:29 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is a DAZZLING jacket, Cindy! Your drafting skills and construction details are TOP-NOTCH!
7/31/09 11:45 PM
chicaem29 said...
looks great. I'm very jealous of your super cute jacket!
7/31/09 11:58 PM
Erin D said...
So stylish and versatile-amazing work!
8/1/09 0:20 AM
Leora said...
Why do such great patterns go OOP? I love that waist seam and peplum. Gorgeous!
8/1/09 0:59 AM
Christina Sonja said...
You rock this look! Way to go on your knockoff. The back pleats are awesome. And, I see another toy of yours - that pressing machine...
8/1/09 1:06 AM
knitsheila said...
Beautiful job. You niece thanks it would be a great hand-me-down!
8/1/09 2:11 AM
Jali said...
So beautifully done! All those details are wonderfully made and combined into this jacket.
8/1/09 3:22 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Fantastic details! This looks great on you.
8/1/09 6:19 AM
becca a said...
Stunning jacket! I love your 2 part sleeves and pleated peplum.
8/1/09 8:35 AM
Re Becca said...
Those sleeves are just to-die-for! I love the peplum too. Stunning!
8/1/09 8:46 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Spot on! That is one beautiful jacket!
8/1/09 10:08 AM
Erica B. said...
Fabulous knockoff! It looks great!
8/1/09 10:15 AM
Beek said...
Fantastic accomplishment! From tne photos it certainly looks designer quality to me!
8/1/09 10:58 AM
Christas said...
Fantastic jacket! It looks great on you!
8/1/09 11:14 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is really a knockout of a jacket - WTG girlfriend!!!
8/1/09 12:07 PM
Gelbean said...
Wow! I love your jacket. Great details. It looks so good in you!
8/2/09 1:16 AM
FullertonRegan said...
So, so, so beautiful. Your finishing work is absolutely top notch! I wish your jacket was a pattern... I would love, love, love to have one exactly like that. I could gush for hours over that coat. Truly gorgeous, magnificent, couture work there honey.
8/2/09 2:58 AM
nancy2001 said...
Cindy, you did an impeccable job on your beautiful jacket. I agree -- you're really sewing at the advanced level.
8/2/09 11:20 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh my gosh, this is a WORK OF ART! EVERY single detail, I'm just DROOLING over. (Yes, I ended that with a preposition, but it has more emphasis that way!) :o) And it even looks good unbuttoned, which isn't always the case with a double-breasted jacket. You FAR surpassed the inspiration jacket. :o)
8/2/09 5:02 PM
feldmanTcat said...
I love this. I want to make a white/light colored trench for fall, and this is just perfect! Exactly what I was looking for...can you make me one? :)
8/3/09 7:23 AM
Nancy K said...
Great work on this jacket! It looks wonderful on you.
8/3/09 8:16 AM
EveS said...
To die for, Cindy!!!!! LOOOOVE the back pleats! And your sewing is impeccable. I am one envious perfectionist at the moment! :)
8/3/09 11:55 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Cute jacket. I like what you did with this pattern.
8/3/09 1:48 PM
calminatrix said...
the inspiration pales in comparison to your jacket! yours is a stunner! truly a work of art.
8/3/09 10:15 PM
Barbara V said...
All of your time and effort paid off. It's really a great looking jacket.
8/4/09 11:45 PM
elily00 said...
gorgeous jacket! you did such beautiful work! i hope to some day be able to sew this well! fabulous job!
8/10/09 12:25 PM
MissCelie said...
There are no words for how phenomenal this looks!
8/10/09 12:32 PM
ggexpansive said...
i love your coat it looks great! you did a great job and as to time worth every second :)
8/10/09 4:06 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Your jacket looks great on you! I loved looking at all your photos because your workmanship is so beautiful--inspirational might be the word.
8/10/09 4:07 PM
jayejoyce said...
I think you did a spectacular job. You definitely see the inspiration from the original, but I think you might have improved on it!
8/10/09 4:37 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I can certainly see all the work you put into this adorable jacket! I love the fit, fabric texture, color, topstitching, and the style changes you made. It's definitely a winner!
8/10/09 5:03 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice jacket.
8/10/09 7:16 PM
kerrynw said...
Fabulous jacket!
8/11/09 7:46 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Fantastic jacket! You did an amazing job!
8/11/09 11:02 AM
Christine B said...
I agree - excellent work!
8/12/09 8:01 PM
nancyc said...
This is beautiful! Great work!
8/13/09 5:47 PM
cindy-lou said...
Cindy... WOW. Great, great jacket. Totally missed it at the time... but it's gorgeous. Love the peplum and the sleeve lining-- both bump it up way higher than the Juicy Couture original. You're a star!!
8/14/09 0:12 AM
jnamcd said...
Congrats on your 2nd place win! your jacket is great!!
8/21/09 10:06 PM
maryfrana said...
What a knockout! No wonder it looks so great, you put so many hours into the finishing.
8/23/09 11:24 AM
SheriF said...
My daughter would be in heaven if I could sew this for her! Gorgeous!
9/15/09 9:04 AM
quixoticpixels said...
It was great to meet you this weekend! Your jacket is even more impressive when seen up close--it was definitely worth every minute you spent on it :)
9/20/09 3:11 PM
Laury S said...
You are adorable in your jacket! Nice work.
9/27/09 6:12 PM
kiddo said...
Brilliante! Way better than original inspiration.
11/30/09 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6069

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Vogue Patterns 8705

photo
by: Willowwear...

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now