SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1007 (fit to be tied shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 982 times 
Reviewed by:QuiltSewSewSue
photo

 
 
About QuiltSewSewSuestarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/08
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/09 2:46 AM
Last Updated:7/19/09 0:28 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Oh Sue I love it! I don't think the gathering overwhelms you at all. Quite the opposite! It also looks to be in exactly the right place. You have encouraged me to dig out my pattern to try it. A beautiful blouse that is a very flattering. Good job on the fit too.
7/11/09 3:03 AM
Caitycat said...
I think this looks AWESOME!! Great colour on you and well worth persisting and getting it right. I disagree on it suiting a larger busted woman - I think the gathers are very figure flattering on you!
7/11/09 3:35 AM
Tailypo said...
I love it! Especially with that skirt.
7/11/09 3:39 AM
Mel.J said...
Very nice! Your adjustments have made this fit really well, I like the style. Especially with the colour of the skirt.
7/11/09 7:14 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Fantastic shirt. Great color, excellent fit. Have no concerns about those gathers; it's a very flattering design for you, and your shirt is going to sell some patterns for HP.
7/11/09 7:30 AM
Rebecca D said...
I have looked at purchasing this pattern many a time and this review may spur me into action. Not to mention that all HP patterns are 25% off through July. What a great looking shirt and I very much appreciated all the blog posts.
7/11/09 8:23 AM
Nancy K said...
I love this top on you. I don't think that it overwhelms you at all, but rather it is extremely flattering. Great job on this. I think that your review and the current sale at HP will spur me into buying this pattern.
7/11/09 8:45 AM
Barbara V said...
A really great shirt with lovely detail. I see the front gathers as very complimentary to your size and figure. Your detailed fitting with muslin produced a wonderful fit.
7/11/09 8:48 AM
Nancywin said...
this shirt turned out very nicely. I love your sleeve placket - it looks great. The whole shirt looks very well made.
7/11/09 10:41 AM
Izzie said...
Very flattering shirt! It looks good with the pants and the skirt, but I like it best with your new skirt. Great job and thanks for the detailed construction pics.
7/11/09 11:29 AM
kathyw said...
Very timely review, since HP patterns are on sale! I wouldn't have bought it based on their website, but your photos are much more useful than their drawings. Great looking shirt.
7/11/09 12:30 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful fit - I don't think it overwhelms you at all. It's very flattering and looks great with your new skirt too.
7/11/09 12:43 PM
brissie71 said...
This is one fabulous shirt! The colour and the style really suit you. I LOVE the gathers - very stylish - and not overwhelming at all.
7/11/09 3:16 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
It's funny, as I looked at the picture of your lovely shirt I thought, too bad it wouldn't suit someone bustier than she! I agree with the other comments, it is very, very flattering and so nicely done.
7/11/09 5:12 PM
marec said...
I hate coming in late to the party! I echo everyone so far: gathers are very flattering, and the fit is perfect. I love the color, especially with the black slacks.
7/11/09 7:43 PM
brrmm said...
Terrific job there. I really love it on you, very flattering, and looks great with your skirt. It's time you updated your skills thingy and leave off the 'beginner' part. Great job.
7/11/09 8:30 PM
Mary Nanna said...
great job, looks fabulous!
7/11/09 11:41 PM
Annette1 said...
I don't think this overwhelms you at ALL. In FACT, I think the fact that you're NOT real busty makes this look EVEN NICER on you. If you're a "busty little number," as my mom says :o), you don't need ANY details whatsoever, and people still KNOW you're busty. If I were to wear this top, I'd probably look like I was wearing a target, saying, "Look at me, look at me!" Which is all just my way of saying, I think this is so perfectly suited to YOU YOU YOU!
7/12/09 0:17 AM
o3b said...
I love your shirt and think it looks wonderful on you. I have wanted this pattern for some time but have wondered if it would look very good on my *because* I am busty. I agree with Annette - it probably looks better on someone w/o as much on top. But I still want it anyay.
7/12/09 3:47 AM
Fran G said...
Wonderful blouse! Classic yet distinctive. Works well with your fabulous skirt..love them both!
7/12/09 8:10 AM
persevering said...
Beautiful flattering blouse - well done!
7/12/09 12:22 PM
MareeAlison said...
Sue - you've done a great job. The shirt looks good on you.
7/13/09 7:32 PM
cabinbaby said...
The fit of this top is perfect!!!
7/19/09 0:47 AM
Raye Ann said...
this really looks terrific. all of your hard work and detailing was worth it! it looks fantastic on you!
7/19/09 1:09 AM
Natasha B said...
Fabulous shirt! The details are so well done and the fit is perfect (especially those gathers)! Enjoyed the extra details photos you posted too.
7/19/09 1:36 AM
jent said...
This is a great looking shirt.
7/19/09 3:11 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is such a cute shirt--it looks great on you!
7/19/09 3:18 PM
Terri Smith said...
This is a great blouse! I love the details, the it, and the fabric. Thank you.
7/19/09 3:38 PM
quixoticpixels said...
The top looks wonderful on you. I don't think the gathering overwhelms you either. It's a lovely detail. Great color too!
7/20/09 11:29 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Great shirt first time I saw your review... Now that I have checked out the detail photos (thank you DH!) It is a FABULOUS shirt. the detailing is superbly executed by you! Now I am off to visit the HP website... very visually entertaining shirt. Must have been fun to sew too.
8/29/09 11:48 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Great review. Also thanks for posting your bust size with the pattern size you used. I have a tough time figuring out what pattern sizes to sew up. :) I think it looks GREAT on you!!!
1/10/10 12:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 2648

photo
by: wildberrym...

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now