Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2447 (Men's Shirt, Vest, and Ties) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 464 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/09 7:09 PM
Last Updated:7/22/09 4:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $10.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $10.36  List Price: $12.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
From what I can see, this looks very nice. I love the color of the shirt very much!
7/14/09 7:12 PM
sewtime said...
Nice looking shirt!
7/14/09 7:21 PM
Sallygirl said...
Your 14-year-old looks like a grown man! The shirt is perfect! I haven't made a men's dress shirt in eons, but I do remember it involves a lot of details. Great job!
7/14/09 7:40 PM
CinLou said...
Looks good. I just finished using this pattern to make a shirt for my Dad.
7/14/09 9:12 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you for the supportive comments! I was so thankful nothing went dreadfully wrong! This is a great pattern!
7/14/09 9:56 PM
chacha45 said...
Wow! Beautiful work!
7/14/09 10:41 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the buttonhole marking tip!
7/15/09 3:16 AM
arianamaniacs said...
looks great! I have been wanting to try out a men's shirt, but haven't been brave enough yet
7/15/09 3:56 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
A VERY nice looking shirt !
7/15/09 5:25 AM
craftygamma said...
Good job! Thanks for the buttonhole marking tip--plan to use that someday. The other method of marking buttonholes is so tedious.
7/15/09 7:44 AM
emcrorie said...
Thank you for your review. I just got this pattern to make for my husband, and was wondering if it was a good one for a "shirt novice" Can't wait to try it now!
7/15/09 11:55 AM
RLL said...
Good job, and so satisfying when you make something for someone else and it works out so well. I have been making my DH's dress shirts for a few years now and I love it. So does he. Believe it or not, HE actually shops for fabric now because of all the things I make him. I think I have created a monster!
7/15/09 12:21 PM
shawnd said...
Very nice shirt. I also recently picked up this pattern and glad to hear it was easy to follow. I am also glad for resource for fabrics. Great job!
7/16/09 6:37 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I felt really good making something for my son to wear. Normally, I make a lot of stuff for his sister. I learned a lot about shirt making and interfacing from an interview of Pam Erny on Sew Forth Now podcast, produced by Lori V. That podcast was so great and really long and I listened to it repeatedly. Really my sewing has improved so much since I heard it, just for the fact that I learned about decent interfacing. I also learned that there is an incredible art to shirt making. People like Pam spend YEARS perfecting techniques. WOW. Speaking of which, thanks for the comment Pam. I am terrified to have you see it up close, but will post close-ups soon anyway.
7/18/09 7:08 PM
lucylal said...
Your shirt looks perfect! Store bought even. Great job. I have never made one, but would like to try. I might start with one for my 3yo. Love the tip of using the blind hem foot for topstitching. Thanks!!
7/22/09 5:34 PM
KathyBKnits said...
Great looking shirt! Looks so nice!
7/22/09 6:01 PM
solosmocker said...
Beautiful shirt! Your buttonhole tip is great.
7/22/09 7:03 PM
MHW said...
I love your shirt! I've just completed a shirt too but you're braver (and a way better sewer!) than me to show close-ups. Well done on finding something for the boys. It looks perfect!
7/22/09 7:07 PM
HLT said...
Excellent details. You should be very proud!!!
7/22/09 7:19 PM
Rippling Waters said...
Absolutely amazing, to say the least!
7/22/09 8:18 PM
carolynw said...
Totally an absolutely awesome - I make shirts for my DH and DSs but would not want to turn out something so perfect as this as I may never get a chance to sew for myself again - Bravo - beats RTW anyday which I have found can fall apart after one or two gentle washes
7/22/09 8:44 PM
SoMsGal said...
Very professional looking results. Great job. I haven't tackled a man's shirt yet but your review makes me want to try.
7/22/09 9:17 PM
jannw said...
Your topstitching is beautiful..what size needles did you use? Beautiful results for the entire project
7/23/09 0:11 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the encouraging comments... I used 70/10 sharp needles. I really liked the way my top-stitching turned out as compared to when I have used 80/12 Top-Stitching needles. I didn't have any stash of the 70/10 TS needles or I would have tried those.
7/23/09 4:09 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Handsome shirt! Fantastic review! Glad too see you can get profession results for men's dress shirt from a pattern.
7/23/09 9:55 PM
kathleencramer said...
You are my hero. That is some darn tooting-good precision sewing, girl!!
7/25/09 10:30 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous job on this beautiful shirt! Thanks for the tip about the needle, will file it for future reference.
9/23/09 3:30 AM
lynnewill said...
I could not agree more with the previous comments. Your review is inspirational. I have been telling myself for years to make some shirts for my dh and have yet to do it. Must move it up on my "to do" list.
10/28/09 9:28 AM
cleverkitty said...
looks store bought, I said WOW when I opened up the picture, showed my husband he said the same thing! I need to improve my shirt, thanks for the review....
2/9/11 5:17 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! What a gorgeous shirt!!!!
1/15/12 11:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2683
photo
Review by sacmabell on 7/6/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)
photo
Review by gabc on 12/30/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Gore Skirt
Loes Hinse Gore Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8974 Pattern
Burda 8974 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us