SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2447 (Men's Shirt, Vest, and Ties)

28 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/09 7:09 PM
Last Updated:7/22/09 4:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
From what I can see, this looks very nice. I love the color of the shirt very much!
7/14/09 7:12 PM
sewtime said...
Nice looking shirt!
7/14/09 7:21 PM
Sallygirl said...
Your 14-year-old looks like a grown man! The shirt is perfect! I haven't made a men's dress shirt in eons, but I do remember it involves a lot of details. Great job!
7/14/09 7:40 PM
CinLou said...
Looks good. I just finished using this pattern to make a shirt for my Dad.
7/14/09 9:12 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you for the supportive comments! I was so thankful nothing went dreadfully wrong! This is a great pattern!
7/14/09 9:56 PM
chacha45 said...
Wow! Beautiful work!
7/14/09 10:41 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the buttonhole marking tip!
7/15/09 3:16 AM
arianamaniacs said...
looks great! I have been wanting to try out a men's shirt, but haven't been brave enough yet
7/15/09 3:56 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
A VERY nice looking shirt !
7/15/09 5:25 AM
craftygamma said...
Good job! Thanks for the buttonhole marking tip--plan to use that someday. The other method of marking buttonholes is so tedious.
7/15/09 7:44 AM
emcrorie said...
Thank you for your review. I just got this pattern to make for my husband, and was wondering if it was a good one for a "shirt novice" Can't wait to try it now!
7/15/09 11:55 AM
RLL said...
Good job, and so satisfying when you make something for someone else and it works out so well. I have been making my DH's dress shirts for a few years now and I love it. So does he. Believe it or not, HE actually shops for fabric now because of all the things I make him. I think I have created a monster!
7/15/09 12:21 PM
shawnd said...
Very nice shirt. I also recently picked up this pattern and glad to hear it was easy to follow. I am also glad for resource for fabrics. Great job!
7/16/09 6:37 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I felt really good making something for my son to wear. Normally, I make a lot of stuff for his sister. I learned a lot about shirt making and interfacing from an interview of Pam Erny on Sew Forth Now podcast, produced by Lori V. That podcast was so great and really long and I listened to it repeatedly. Really my sewing has improved so much since I heard it, just for the fact that I learned about decent interfacing. I also learned that there is an incredible art to shirt making. People like Pam spend YEARS perfecting techniques. WOW. Speaking of which, thanks for the comment Pam. I am terrified to have you see it up close, but will post close-ups soon anyway.
7/18/09 7:08 PM
lucylal said...
Your shirt looks perfect! Store bought even. Great job. I have never made one, but would like to try. I might start with one for my 3yo. Love the tip of using the blind hem foot for topstitching. Thanks!!
7/22/09 5:34 PM
KathyBKnits said...
Great looking shirt! Looks so nice!
7/22/09 6:01 PM
solosmocker said...
Beautiful shirt! Your buttonhole tip is great.
7/22/09 7:03 PM
MHW said...
I love your shirt! I've just completed a shirt too but you're braver (and a way better sewer!) than me to show close-ups. Well done on finding something for the boys. It looks perfect!
7/22/09 7:07 PM
HLT said...
Excellent details. You should be very proud!!!
7/22/09 7:19 PM
Rippling Waters said...
Absolutely amazing, to say the least!
7/22/09 8:18 PM
carolynw said...
Totally an absolutely awesome - I make shirts for my DH and DSs but would not want to turn out something so perfect as this as I may never get a chance to sew for myself again - Bravo - beats RTW anyday which I have found can fall apart after one or two gentle washes
7/22/09 8:44 PM
SoMsGal said...
Very professional looking results. Great job. I haven't tackled a man's shirt yet but your review makes me want to try.
7/22/09 9:17 PM
jannw said...
Your topstitching is beautiful..what size needles did you use? Beautiful results for the entire project
7/23/09 0:11 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks for the encouraging comments... I used 70/10 sharp needles. I really liked the way my top-stitching turned out as compared to when I have used 80/12 Top-Stitching needles. I didn't have any stash of the 70/10 TS needles or I would have tried those.
7/23/09 4:09 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Handsome shirt! Fantastic review! Glad too see you can get profession results for men's dress shirt from a pattern.
7/23/09 9:55 PM
kathleencramer said...
You are my hero. That is some darn tooting-good precision sewing, girl!!
7/25/09 10:30 PM
moushka said...
Fabulous job on this beautiful shirt! Thanks for the tip about the needle, will file it for future reference.
9/23/09 3:30 AM
lynnewill said...
I could not agree more with the previous comments. Your review is inspirational. I have been telling myself for years to make some shirts for my dh and have yet to do it. Must move it up on my "to do" list.
10/28/09 9:28 AM
cleverkitty said...
looks store bought, I said WOW when I opened up the picture, showed my husband he said the same thing! I need to improve my shirt, thanks for the review....
2/9/11 5:17 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! What a gorgeous shirt!!!!
1/15/12 11:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 302398-1000

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review