Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6582 (60's Retro Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 870 times 44 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MissFit
photo
About MissFitstar
NY
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/09 8:19 PM
Last Updated:7/13/09 9:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blessedtosew said...
That is very elegant!!
7/13/09 9:52 PM
JEF said...
This is such a classy and pretty dress. You did a great job.
7/13/09 10:00 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, this is such a great dress!! I've always loved this pattern!
7/13/09 10:59 PM
lamstu said...
Your dress is lovely and you did a great job to get such a good fit. I have been considering this pattern for ages, but the high neckline probably won't flatter. Silk dupioni is a wonderful fabric to sew and to wear!
7/13/09 11:26 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL dress, and I really enjoyed looking at the wedding pictures. This dress fits you to a T, and I don't think it gapes too much at ALL. It just looks very elegant and casually draped. As for little threads showing from the right side of your French seams, it's sometimes hard to avoid with such a ravely fabric. If you trim your seams down after you've made the first stitching, though, then turn, press and stitch the second (closing) seamline, you can avoid most of the show through via the fact that you trimmed down the raw edges before encasing the seam. You look so pretty in your outfit, and you're lucky to have a date who will dance -- ha!
7/14/09 0:33 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Truly lovely dress . . . you look fantastic! I've been considering this pattern myself, so many thanks for your review.
7/14/09 7:55 AM
LisaRM said...
Beautiful dress and excellent fit. The white pearls really a bit of elegance.
7/14/09 8:30 AM
Tiner W said...
It's a gorgeous dress!
7/14/09 9:12 AM
wreninrome said...
very beautiful. i agree on the neckline...if you have a resonably present bosom a high neckline isn't as attractive as a mid to low. i really love your muslin too
7/14/09 2:25 PM
Barbara V said...
I love this dress...so simple and elegant looking. Nice work. It looks lovely on you too.
7/14/09 3:04 PM
emr said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for all the detail in the review. I have been courting this pattern for some time now and your review has made up my mind. Gonna pick it up. Hope my version comes out as well as yours. PS. Invisible zipper feet make it much easier to put invisible zippers in.
7/14/09 4:56 PM
emr said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for all the detail in the review. I have been courting this pattern for some time now and your review has made up my mind. Gonna pick it up. Hope my version comes out as well as yours. PS. Invisible zipper feet make it much easier to put invisible zippers in.
7/14/09 8:05 PM
Christas said...
Great review! I love how the kitties all "helped" with the project! Your dress is gorgeous and you look wonderful on the dance floor!
7/15/09 10:59 AM
Jolet said...
Great dress and a great review. I also like the mock up dress you made!
7/15/09 11:35 AM
grey ann said...
Looks so nice on you! I am curious about your dress form shown in the pix? Is it a custom one? if so, how did you make it? thanks, Ann
7/18/09 8:40 PM
MissFit said...
Thank you everyone for all of your wonderful comments! I feel a lot better about this dress now. For a time I was thinking I would never ware it again. Ann, my dress form is a Uniquely You dress form. It is made of foam rubber that compresses to fit a cover that you fit to your measurements. I have not gotten it *perfectly* to my size, but close enough for now…
7/20/09 8:03 AM
tessture said...
I had the same fit problems with this pattern. Neck seems too high and it gaps at the neck, front and back, when I flex my torso.
9/25/09 5:31 PM
LBH2010 said...
This is so classy and beautiful!
11/2/12 10:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

McCall's 6348
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 7/5/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6421
photo
Review by sewamazin on 4/20/11
Read Review

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2238 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2238 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us