SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6582 (60's Retro Dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 871 times 
Reviewed by:MissFit
photo

 
 
About MissFitstar
NY
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/09 8:19 PM
Last Updated:7/13/09 9:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blessedtosew said...
That is very elegant!!
7/13/09 9:52 PM
JEF said...
This is such a classy and pretty dress. You did a great job.
7/13/09 10:00 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, this is such a great dress!! I've always loved this pattern!
7/13/09 10:59 PM
lamstu said...
Your dress is lovely and you did a great job to get such a good fit. I have been considering this pattern for ages, but the high neckline probably won't flatter. Silk dupioni is a wonderful fabric to sew and to wear!
7/13/09 11:26 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL dress, and I really enjoyed looking at the wedding pictures. This dress fits you to a T, and I don't think it gapes too much at ALL. It just looks very elegant and casually draped. As for little threads showing from the right side of your French seams, it's sometimes hard to avoid with such a ravely fabric. If you trim your seams down after you've made the first stitching, though, then turn, press and stitch the second (closing) seamline, you can avoid most of the show through via the fact that you trimmed down the raw edges before encasing the seam. You look so pretty in your outfit, and you're lucky to have a date who will dance -- ha!
7/14/09 0:33 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Truly lovely dress . . . you look fantastic! I've been considering this pattern myself, so many thanks for your review.
7/14/09 7:55 AM
LisaRM said...
Beautiful dress and excellent fit. The white pearls really a bit of elegance.
7/14/09 8:30 AM
Tiner W said...
It's a gorgeous dress!
7/14/09 9:12 AM
wreninrome said...
very beautiful. i agree on the neckline...if you have a resonably present bosom a high neckline isn't as attractive as a mid to low. i really love your muslin too
7/14/09 2:25 PM
Barbara V said...
I love this dress...so simple and elegant looking. Nice work. It looks lovely on you too.
7/14/09 3:04 PM
emr said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for all the detail in the review. I have been courting this pattern for some time now and your review has made up my mind. Gonna pick it up. Hope my version comes out as well as yours. PS. Invisible zipper feet make it much easier to put invisible zippers in.
7/14/09 4:56 PM
emr said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for all the detail in the review. I have been courting this pattern for some time now and your review has made up my mind. Gonna pick it up. Hope my version comes out as well as yours. PS. Invisible zipper feet make it much easier to put invisible zippers in.
7/14/09 8:05 PM
Christas said...
Great review! I love how the kitties all "helped" with the project! Your dress is gorgeous and you look wonderful on the dance floor!
7/15/09 10:59 AM
Jolet said...
Great dress and a great review. I also like the mock up dress you made!
7/15/09 11:35 AM
grey ann said...
Looks so nice on you! I am curious about your dress form shown in the pix? Is it a custom one? if so, how did you make it? thanks, Ann
7/18/09 8:40 PM
MissFit said...
Thank you everyone for all of your wonderful comments! I feel a lot better about this dress now. For a time I was thinking I would never ware it again. Ann, my dress form is a Uniquely You dress form. It is made of foam rubber that compresses to fit a cover that you fit to your measurements. I have not gotten it *perfectly* to my size, but close enough for now…
7/20/09 8:03 AM
tessture said...
I had the same fit problems with this pattern. Neck seems too high and it gaps at the neck, front and back, when I flex my torso.
9/25/09 5:31 PM
LBH2010 said...
This is so classy and beautiful!
11/2/12 10:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now