Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 02-2009-05 (Waterfall Jersey Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 394 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 118
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 115
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/09 3:21 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
The ties are a very creative way to get the neckline to drape nicely and add a pretty design to the top as well.
7/14/09 3:31 PM
Catbird said...
WOW, that was quick!! I log on to see what my PR friends are up to and there you are with new shorts AND this pretty Waterfall top all done! You and Meggie are giving me an inferiority complex:-))!! I really love this on you and think your idea to add ties to the shoulders was inspired. The drape of the fabric is perfect for this pattern, and it would be great in a long sleeve version, too!
7/14/09 4:18 PM
Karendee said...
Christa, Your top is lovely and the neckline is TDF. I find that look so flattering to the face, not that you need anything to flatter you. Ladies and gents, when you see her pretty legs in her shorts shot, you'll notice what I mean. This top is really a winner and you look darling in it.
7/14/09 4:33 PM
j222b said...
Good save with the ties-nice color on you and style. Gosh, you must be drinking from the fountain of youth-you get younger every time I peek at your sewing fashions!
7/14/09 5:03 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great top! It would be cute with your new shorts.
7/14/09 5:19 PM
Barbara V said...
You look great in your top. I love the draping neckline and shoulders tied.....very cute!
7/14/09 5:23 PM
kim*brown said...
Lovely, and can I say you look absolutely magnificent for having had 9 children!!! What a blessing!
7/14/09 6:44 PM
Peggy L said...
This top is really cute and I love the ties - great idea. I agree with the "fountain of youth" comment. Please share the source - I need to pay it a visit.
7/14/09 6:59 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I just love it!
7/14/09 7:01 PM
Raye Ann said...
this top is so cute! i love the shorts, too. i feel like the only person on PR not sewing patterns from magazines...:) i think i will have to *invest* in some subscriptions. these patterns look fantastic! thank you for the details on your changes to the design.
7/14/09 7:49 PM
busymomof3 said...
This top looks great on you!! Love the changes you did!
7/14/09 7:56 PM
JudiBee2 said...
Great review and great information. Thanks for taking time to create this review and to include all the illustrations!
7/14/09 9:15 PM
kathleencramer said...
Looks great! Nice job. And so quick and easy. Those are my kind of garments!
7/14/09 10:21 PM
Mahler said...
ohhhhhhh I do not have this magazine. I am in love with your top. Really love at first site. I want it :-( You look so nice !!!!!!!! I love how you tighten the not ;-) on your shoulder. I am really green a envy. Love it I tell you. I even came back to add more comments about it.
7/14/09 10:25 PM
Annette1 said...
Aaaaaaaah, this top looks SOOOOO cool and comfortable, ESPECIALLY with those ingenious little ties that you've incorporated. I REALLY like those, and I think it makes the neckline look even better! GREAT review with LOTS of pictures. You KNOW how we DEMAND pictures around here. :o)
7/14/09 10:47 PM
BlossomKyle said...
The ties are SUPER CUTE!!! I might have to try that!!!
7/14/09 11:06 PM
Terri A said...
Really pretty neckline. Great color on you too.
7/14/09 11:43 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
What a good idea to make this top sleeveless. I have made one of these and should make another it has a nice drape.
7/15/09 1:20 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful top!
7/15/09 2:15 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top! I like how you saved the top with the ties. Great "design feature".
7/15/09 5:07 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Christa ! What a great idea those shoulder ties are ! The top looks fabulous !
7/15/09 7:01 AM
Kisha said...
Wonderful idea with the ties. I keep looking at this top and had a similar concern with the amount of drape ... I LOVE your fix.
7/15/09 7:53 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Very pretty!
7/15/09 12:46 PM
Erin D said...
Love the ties and the overall look!
7/15/09 2:27 PM
cleverkitty said...
You made it look so much better, I love it on you. Great Style!
7/15/09 4:56 PM
Grammy Gin said...
This is one adorable top on you, Cristas! You could make up a bunch of these in all different colors with your odds & ends from other projects. I love the idea of the ties on the shoulders...did the trick!!
7/15/09 8:50 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very pretty top!
7/15/09 11:40 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Fabulous top Christa! Ditto on all the comments about the shoulder ties. Years(and years)ago, I used to tie my t-shirt sleeves at the shoulders together like that with long "Baggie Ties!"
7/16/09 1:27 AM
wineyjudy said...
Nice job, this looks great on you! I like your version better than the magazine version!
7/16/09 12:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2311
photo
Review by michou68 on 10/18/10
Read Review

Burda 7065 Pattern
Burda 7065 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3076
photo
Review by CarolynD on 1/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us