Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-114 (Summer Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1100 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Kim12469
photo
About Kim12469starstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 3/27/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/09 10:21 AM
Last Updated:7/31/09 7:13 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhotpepper said...
Love the Ellie May comment! I made this dress and my kids asked if it was pajamas. I had it on with flip flops that had a silk flower on the toe and it did look like I was wearing jammies with fuzzy slippers. I promptly changed shoes.
7/15/09 10:33 AM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks great!
7/15/09 7:05 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I think you might bethe first reviewer to make the skirt on the bias as Burda intended. It looks really fabulous. It's a bonus that you don't need a zipper to put it on but it still looks like a fitted dress.
7/15/09 8:04 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is a great looking dress! very flattering on you. thanks for the detailed instruction on your modifications.
7/15/09 8:15 PM
21wale said...
This looks great! I've been thinking of making this one, so it's good to know about the zipper.
7/15/09 8:50 PM
Michelle L said...
What a great looking dress! I love the skirt on the bias. I think it looks fantastic!
7/15/09 8:56 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
Very cute dress.
7/15/09 10:13 PM
swede said...
Very nice! I realized I didn't need the zipper after I made mine and put it on without opening the zipper! Doesn't that make it a whole lot easier? The bias cut is really flattering too.
7/15/09 10:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress looks beautiful. Very cute with the bias skirt as presented in the magazine. You look great in it. I love mine too!
7/17/09 0:25 AM
Amanda S. said...
Darn! I can't look at your picture without signing up for a Yahoo account. I love this design and am glad to read you didn't need the zipper.
7/31/09 6:52 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute version!! I could see it in your blog but the other pics wouldn't open. I LOVE the sleeves!
7/31/09 10:05 PM
michalklimer said...
Looks so pretty!
8/1/09 1:06 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Wow! Great fabric choice - your dress is gorgeous.
8/1/09 6:40 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Your pic is not visible to the public, unfortunately..
8/1/09 9:39 AM
barbcl said...
Adorable!
8/1/09 12:02 PM
trinicity said...
beautiful dress, the colors are great for summer, I love this design
8/2/09 4:47 AM
Scousegal said...
Great review. Design is sadly not for my figure but I appreciated your descriptions Thanks
4/30/13 1:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 2172 misses costume
photo
Review by j Renee De... on 10/31/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5145 Misses Coat
photo
Review by mollymolly on 8/28/11
Read Review

Burda 8351 Pattern
Burda 8351 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6229 Pattern
New Look 6229 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us