SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2581 (Skirts)

Viewed 1782 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/04 2:28 PM
Last Updated:4/21/05 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Ah, yes, I think that does make sense now, Lisa. Thanks! I'll go peruse your tip as well to make certain. (I should probably get myself that Power Sewing book.)
4/23/05 10:59 AM
JDpenelope said...
Nice job with your "utility" skirt. This is a thorough review, helpful for us venturing into sewing skirts.
4/23/05 6:38 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Anne, I wrote a tip about it that goes into more detail...and there are pictures of the process in Sandra Betzina's More Power Sewing. The waistline seam allowance is pressed up toward the waistband, and the elastic is placed between the seam allowance and the waistband and secured. Then, you wrap the rest of the width of the waistband around to the back (the wrong side of the waistline), encasing the elastic...make sense?
4/22/05 7:53 PM
AnneM said...
Umm - I don't get it. I'm just being dense, I think, but I'm not following your new elastic description. It the elastic intially on the right or wrong side of the fabric? What do you mean by "wrapped the waistband to the back"? It's probably perfectly obvious, but... ??
4/22/05 6:50 PM
flowermama said...
Great skirt and thanks for the great review.
4/22/05 0:29 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review -- I think it's going to be a great utility skirt! Actually, I like both of them. Great look with the top, too!
4/21/05 10:53 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Ladies! Kathi, I didn't mean to imply I thought the skirt was unflattering; I was pretty pleased with it. It's just that after the holidays I find myself looking a little...matronly?...in just about everything. But that's due to the body, not the patterns... ;)
1/12/04 6:16 AM
Lizzy said...
Looks terrific +ditto previous remarks. I'm really glad you drew my attention to this pattern. Straight skirts are definitely my most flattering style but I do like pockets in everything and sometimes I like a bit more maneuvering room which this pleat (view C) would provide.
1/11/04 1:01 PM
kathi s said...
Lisa, I think your skirt looks terrific! I don't think that it's unflattering at all. I like the straight lines and the ease of the pleat. For that reason I am going to buy that pattern for myself. We are the same height, but I am heavier than you and I may leave the pockets off. Great review.
1/11/04 9:44 AM
SewingSusan said...
ditto....great looking skirt. I'm going to have to get this pattern. The inverted pleat looks so polished and stylish.
1/10/04 5:51 PM
Danvillegirl said...
The entire outfit looks good!
1/10/04 4:41 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
This skirt is the perfect complement to your new turtleneck. Both look lovely on you!
1/10/04 3:53 PM
jlg said...
Your skirt looks great.
1/10/04 3:22 PM
Diane E said...
Lisa, I think you look very very nice in this skirt. What an elegant winter ensemble! I think the pockets look terrific and the fabric you chose is perfect. I hadn't seen this pattern before you reviewed it and I really appreciate you thorough review. Thanks so much!
1/10/04 2:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Kwik Sew 3343

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Other 07072008

photo
by: julliams

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now