Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2452 (sewing accessories) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1121 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:alex
photo
About alexstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 9/1/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/04 1:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Hey Alex, your bag looks great! I have this pattern as well and I made 3, one for my Mom, one for my knitting/crochet, and one for my sewing stuff. I love how big and roomy they are. I also omited the extra lining fabric, and used muslin instead. I made these bags about 3 ? years ago, all from stash fabrics, and all I had to buy was the webbing Ias I recall(which turned out nice and sturdy). I didn't use baby powder either, I agree-bad idea! I just used a regular foot and it worked out fine, no problems. Maybe because my plastic was a matte finish? I don't know but I didn't have any trouble w/it. I made one from pre-quilted fabric that already had a nice backing, so that might be a good choice if you wanted quilting but not the extra work!That one was easy. Anyway, good job on your bag! Do you like it so far?
1/13/04 12:06 PM
alex said...
Thanks for the comments, Hilary! Yes, I like the bag - I used it for a sewing course last night. That's a good idea about using pre-quilted fabric. My plastic was shiny and made the regulay foot stick. Where did you get matte plastic?
1/14/04 7:31 AM
Hilary said...
Alex, I'm sorry I just now saw your question! I got the matte plastic at Joann's, they had several different kinds and I just picked it because I liked it better. I didn't know the shiny stuff was sticky, but it would be wouldn't it?
3/4/04 1:04 PM
alex said...
Thanks Hilary, I've never seen it here, but now I know it exists, I'll keep my eye out.
3/5/04 9:19 AM
W said...
These patterns strongly remind me of Kumiko Sudo's "Omiyage." That book includes some sewing accessories. Is this mentioned anywhere? I see on the package that it refers to them as "Victorian" and having been designed by Pauline Richards.
7/25/05 10:17 AM
alex said...
Sorry, I don't remember any mention of this.
7/26/05 2:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-134 Pyjamas
photo
Review by lara900 on 11/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5525 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Michelle L on 10/3/10
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us