SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3889 (Laptop Computer Bags)

10 more reviews
Viewed 339 times 
Reviewed by:wsu 1 fan
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wsu 1 fanstar
ID USA
Member since: 1/2/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 9:54 PM
Last Updated:7/18/09 10:17 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhotpepper said...
Very thorough and honest review. And...Go Cougs!!!
7/19/09 2:33 AM
Mufffet said...
Great going Colleen. I would have tossed it long before finishing it, and you have a great loooking bag here! As a matter of fact, the very idea of making a bag like this would have stopped me! :) :) You are truly dedicated, and as I said - have a great product here. I like your colors. I know how good a seamstress you are, so believe me, this pattern has to be a real lemon!
7/19/09 10:26 AM
monkeylala said...
Thanks for the very thorough and honest review. I was thinking about making this for my sister-in-law for Christmas, but I am fairly new to sewing and am already frustrated so I think it is best that I hold off on this for awhile. Thanks for saving me a few tears ahead of time! :-)
10/24/09 9:42 PM
JDpenelope said...
Am just now seeing your review. These padded computer bags are so difficult, even under the best of circumstances -- which didn't arise here, it seems. I tried this same pattern, but made some stupid changes that didn't work, so I didn't review it. It's now a UFO in some wonderful linen. (Still hoping to fix it someday.) But I found a pattern that I think is much better, Simplicity 4391 -- it has a clever insert, which saves your machine -- fewer layers. Getting enough padding is an issue, but sewing too many layers is very difficult for home machines and the patterns don't seem to factor this in. In case you are interested, here is the link to my review: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=40577. I plan to make more as gifts. Thanks again for your honest review.
9/6/10 9:29 AM
In Grandmas footsteps said...
Oh my goodness!! I thought I was going crazy and/or had forgotten everything that I was taught. It has been a long time since I have sewn anything. I am making these for my wonderful boys--one wants a bag for violin music and the other a portable padded computer sleeve. I have been agonizing over this one. It took me 4 1/2 hours to get the elastic pocket in (if it could go wrong, it did go wrong). I had read the directions for the zippered pocket and they just didn't make any sense. I was picturing a zippered pocket on the SIDE not the middle. Your photo cleared up the mystery. Now on to getting that zipper in! Thank you!!
3/28/11 8:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 1034

photo
by: lamstu

Review
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now