Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3889 (Laptop Computer Bags) thumbsup - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 338 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:wsu 1 fan
photo
Friend of PR
About wsu 1 fanstar
ID USA
Member since: 1/2/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 9:54 PM
Last Updated:7/18/09 10:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhotpepper said...
Very thorough and honest review. And...Go Cougs!!!
7/19/09 2:33 AM
Mufffet said...
Great going Colleen. I would have tossed it long before finishing it, and you have a great loooking bag here! As a matter of fact, the very idea of making a bag like this would have stopped me! :) :) You are truly dedicated, and as I said - have a great product here. I like your colors. I know how good a seamstress you are, so believe me, this pattern has to be a real lemon!
7/19/09 10:26 AM
monkeylala said...
Thanks for the very thorough and honest review. I was thinking about making this for my sister-in-law for Christmas, but I am fairly new to sewing and am already frustrated so I think it is best that I hold off on this for awhile. Thanks for saving me a few tears ahead of time! :-)
10/24/09 9:42 PM
JDpenelope said...
Am just now seeing your review. These padded computer bags are so difficult, even under the best of circumstances -- which didn't arise here, it seems. I tried this same pattern, but made some stupid changes that didn't work, so I didn't review it. It's now a UFO in some wonderful linen. (Still hoping to fix it someday.) But I found a pattern that I think is much better, Simplicity 4391 -- it has a clever insert, which saves your machine -- fewer layers. Getting enough padding is an issue, but sewing too many layers is very difficult for home machines and the patterns don't seem to factor this in. In case you are interested, here is the link to my review: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=40577. I plan to make more as gifts. Thanks again for your honest review.
9/6/10 9:29 AM
In Grandmas footsteps said...
Oh my goodness!! I thought I was going crazy and/or had forgotten everything that I was taught. It has been a long time since I have sewn anything. I am making these for my wonderful boys--one wants a bag for violin music and the other a portable padded computer sleeve. I have been agonizing over this one. It took me 4 1/2 hours to get the elastic pocket in (if it could go wrong, it did go wrong). I had read the directions for the zippered pocket and they just didn't make any sense. I was picturing a zippered pocket on the SIDE not the middle. Your photo cleared up the mystery. Now on to getting that zipper in! Thank you!!
3/28/11 8:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by BluestRose on 11/5/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1984 Palazzo Pant
photo
Review by Tailypo on 8/22/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us