SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-127 (Exclusive Design Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:creative1
photo

 
 
About creative1star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/09 7:01 AM
Last Updated:8/9/09 7:49 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JoanneM said...
Love this jacket. Thanks for the review!
7/17/09 7:15 AM
sewing addict said...
This is a great review. Your jacket looks perfect. I love the fabric and you have made it look unique. Buttons are amazing.
7/17/09 8:51 AM
wendlesue said...
your jacket is absolutely beautiful! And your review is so helpful. Thanks for the tip about the teflon foot. I will have to try one of those!
7/17/09 8:55 AM
Renren said...
Oh, this is a fabulous jacket which looks impossible to sew and yet you have done such a fine job! The buttons, belt buckle and rivets(?) to tighten the belt add a very upscale touch.
7/17/09 8:56 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Outstanding. You look great!
7/17/09 11:01 AM
Mary Nanna said...
I looked at that jacket and thought, bet that was a lot of work .. and it was! Well done, it's very smart and a bargain to boot. Love it.
7/17/09 7:33 PM
creative1 said...
Thanks for your nice comments! Mary Nanna, yes, it was a lot of work. I don't want anyone to be scared off this pattern though. it is not hard to make, once you know obstacles. I would go with one, even two sizes smaller next time, leaving wider than normal seam allowances.
7/17/09 8:06 PM
Margie T said...
Your jacket is lovely. It looks lovely & warm.
7/18/09 3:53 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Clearly you worked your butt off on this little number. It totally paid off. Love the double breasted detail. Congratulations.
7/18/09 11:23 PM
ttn said...
Your jacket is fantastic! You should rate your skills 'advanced'.
7/20/09 5:20 AM
innanb said...
What a beautiful jacket! And so skillfully made! Thanks for the nice review.
7/20/09 6:32 AM
sweetipie said...
exquisite jacket, you should be in the professional category. Love it,could you make me one as well,i will email you...
7/22/09 3:48 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!! What a great looking jacket. You have really have a spectacular piece.
8/9/09 8:10 AM
persevering said...
Your jacket is beautiful and your review is very helpful. Having read it, I might, in the future, attempt to make this wonderful classic design if I get more confident in my sewing skills, since I actually possess the magazine/pattern. Congratulations on your hardwork and successful outcome!
8/9/09 8:47 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jacket - impeccable work - no wonder you get loads of compliments.
8/9/09 9:04 AM
jilly cooper said...
Gee - you are dedicated. You put in a lot of effort and the jacket looks wonderful.
8/9/09 9:09 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Your jacket looks marvelous. Well done.
8/9/09 9:17 AM
Nancy Anne said...
FABULOUS jacket!
8/9/09 9:42 AM
Berniev said...
Great jacket and great review.
8/9/09 10:41 AM
crisford said...
Your jacket looks gorgeous, unique and rich. Great job making it work for you!
8/9/09 11:01 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I hope you're feeling like it was worth all the pain, because it looks smashing. Good call on the waist button. However beware 2 layers of whisperweft don't make an armoweft - there is a significant difference in crispness between them, they're not just half or double of the same thing.
8/10/09 10:21 AM
creative1 said...
Thanks again for your kind comments! I hope the review will help some of you who is considering this pattern to make it quicker. Fuzzygalore- your comment on interfacing is very much appreciated, I will be more cautious when I choose interfacing for my next project.
8/11/09 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Jalie 2792

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now