Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5329 (Fast & Easy) thumbsup - Type:Loungewear    printable version
Viewed 538 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 4:52 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
What a dramatic dress!
7/18/09 5:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, I think a caftan needs a pretty bustline to "be" ;)
7/18/09 6:24 PM
marec said...
Perfect caftan for a summer on the patio. Very pretty.
7/18/09 6:24 PM
Ann Smith said...
Rhonda, I agree. But for the tunic length the proportions didn't work on me.
7/18/09 6:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
This is a beautiful caftan! I have a nice pattern for one, but not as nice as this one. It looks very comfy...like something a movie star would wear. ;-)
7/18/09 7:13 PM
sewbehind said...
That is very pretty, Ann. You can lounge in style.
7/18/09 7:21 PM
DorothyK said...
Very glamorous. As a caftan, it's extremely flattering on you.
7/18/09 7:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely!
7/18/09 8:03 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Gorgeous, glamorous and it looks so comfortable.
7/18/09 8:18 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've been BUSY. I never dreamed a caftan could be so pretty and flattering. This has just enough shaping to be both. I read (I THINK on a PR comment recently) that they rate these patterns as "easy" depending on how many pattern pieces there are. I thought, aaaaah, NOW I get it, because I have seen some, such as you describe this one, that really aren't that "easy." REALLY pretty! If I thought I could look HALF as good as you do, I'd be making me one, too. :o)
7/18/09 9:48 PM
Riesie said...
Well, I think it's gorgeous on you - very Art Deco-ish and glamorous.
7/18/09 9:55 PM
carolynw said...
This is just so beautiful - looks fantastic on you
7/18/09 10:24 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow,wow,wow, I love it! "Gorgeous" and "comfy", these two should always go together, like your dress.
7/18/09 10:26 PM
Athene said...
Wow - this is fabulous and reminds me too of Art Deco.
7/19/09 1:21 AM
Sew tell me said...
I have this pattern on my list. Your caftan is inspiring.
7/19/09 1:49 AM
Catbird said...
This is so pretty! What a treat to be able to look beautiful and be comfortable all at the same time!
7/19/09 4:01 PM
Sharon M said...
I really love this!
7/19/09 10:24 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Oh my gosh . . . it shouldn't be legal to wear something that's so comfortable and looks so elegant!! Love your caftans, never considered 'em before but will have to do so now! Fortunately, Butterick patterns are on sale today . . .
7/20/09 7:56 AM
SueV said...
oooo, i like this, very cute
7/21/09 12:39 PM
Barbara V said...
What you intended as a trial garment turned into a perfectly beautiful caftan...how could this be topped? It does look super comfy.
8/5/09 9:36 AM
sewtime said...
I love your fabric choice, my pattern is cut out and I hope mine will be as pretty as yours is!!
9/25/09 6:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 2683
photo
Review by sacmabell on 7/6/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)
photo
Review by gabc on 12/30/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Gore Skirt
Loes Hinse Gore Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8974 Pattern
Burda 8974 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us