SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5329 (Fast & Easy)

7 more reviews
Viewed 540 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 4:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
What a dramatic dress!
7/18/09 5:21 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Oh, I think a caftan needs a pretty bustline to "be" ;)
7/18/09 6:24 PM
marec said...
Perfect caftan for a summer on the patio. Very pretty.
7/18/09 6:24 PM
Ann Smith said...
Rhonda, I agree. But for the tunic length the proportions didn't work on me.
7/18/09 6:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
This is a beautiful caftan! I have a nice pattern for one, but not as nice as this one. It looks very comfy...like something a movie star would wear. ;-)
7/18/09 7:13 PM
sewbehind said...
That is very pretty, Ann. You can lounge in style.
7/18/09 7:21 PM
DorothyK said...
Very glamorous. As a caftan, it's extremely flattering on you.
7/18/09 7:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely!
7/18/09 8:03 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Gorgeous, glamorous and it looks so comfortable.
7/18/09 8:18 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've been BUSY. I never dreamed a caftan could be so pretty and flattering. This has just enough shaping to be both. I read (I THINK on a PR comment recently) that they rate these patterns as "easy" depending on how many pattern pieces there are. I thought, aaaaah, NOW I get it, because I have seen some, such as you describe this one, that really aren't that "easy." REALLY pretty! If I thought I could look HALF as good as you do, I'd be making me one, too. :o)
7/18/09 9:48 PM
Riesie said...
Well, I think it's gorgeous on you - very Art Deco-ish and glamorous.
7/18/09 9:55 PM
carolynw said...
This is just so beautiful - looks fantastic on you
7/18/09 10:24 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Wow,wow,wow, I love it! "Gorgeous" and "comfy", these two should always go together, like your dress.
7/18/09 10:26 PM
Athene said...
Wow - this is fabulous and reminds me too of Art Deco.
7/19/09 1:21 AM
Sew tell me said...
I have this pattern on my list. Your caftan is inspiring.
7/19/09 1:49 AM
Catbird said...
This is so pretty! What a treat to be able to look beautiful and be comfortable all at the same time!
7/19/09 4:01 PM
Sharon M said...
I really love this!
7/19/09 10:24 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Oh my gosh . . . it shouldn't be legal to wear something that's so comfortable and looks so elegant!! Love your caftans, never considered 'em before but will have to do so now! Fortunately, Butterick patterns are on sale today . . .
7/20/09 7:56 AM
SueV said...
oooo, i like this, very cute
7/21/09 12:39 PM
Barbara V said...
What you intended as a trial garment turned into a perfectly beautiful caftan...how could this be topped? It does look super comfy.
8/5/09 9:36 AM
sewtime said...
I love your fabric choice, my pattern is cut out and I hope mine will be as pretty as yours is!!
9/25/09 6:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Simplicity 1938

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 9682

photo
by: amandolin

Review