SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8538 (MISSES' JACKET)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1109 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 5:09 PM
Last Updated:9/6/10 8:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
I love that style also. The only way I can cope with metal thread is to capture it in a net on the floor so it has a long way to straighten out before it curves around the machine. Thanks for the size warning. Marcy always runs enormous, doesn't she.
7/18/09 5:23 PM
marec said...
Ann, not only have you been sewing up a storm, but everything is lovely, especially this jacket. I admired the metallic free motion stitching and want to copy this technique in a fall jacket but will keep your caution in mind. The winter white is very pretty against your coloring.
7/18/09 6:21 PM
Grammy Gin said...
No wonder this seemed like "neon" fabric to me. That's what I get for looking at all the pics before I read the review! Do you use titanium needles to sew metallic thread? This is really a fabulous jacket with a wonderful fit!
7/18/09 7:07 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Anne, I'm so glad you made this pattern up. I had forgotten about it. About 3 months ago, I made it in a muslin, and it was unwearable because it was so large, but I loved the style and went out and re-bought the pattern in the smaller sizes. Then, as I said, promptly forgot about it. Thanks to you, it's going to be Numeral Uno on my Fall jacket list. Your white jacket is fabulous looking--no surprise coming from your talented hands!
7/18/09 8:28 PM
Annette1 said...
I feel your pain as far as the metallic thread goes, but the END RESULT really was WORTH it. It makes this jacket truly one of a kind. Nice to know, too, that it's THAT oversized, because yours looks perfect just the way it is.
7/18/09 9:44 PM
Aixoise said...
You are such a pretty woman, and so stylish. This jacket makes you glow. Beautiful construction and embellishment.
7/18/09 9:58 PM
Nancy K said...
This is you. I love the coated metallic fabrics, but topstitching, which I am anal about anyway, with metallic thread, thank you, no. Great jacket.
7/18/09 10:25 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautifully Done, Anne. This suits you perfectly. You have really been making some nice things lately - well, as always
7/19/09 0:19 AM
ITAdmin said...
Great detailing on this! I love the style in that fabric; outstanding.
7/19/09 6:54 AM
Fran G said...
I just added this pattern to my list of "must buys" and what pattern do I see just above it on my list ...another Vogue interpreted by Ann Smith! You are the Queen of "Match the Pattern to the Fabric to You!!" I have not always found MT patterns to be successful for me..much has to do with their sizing which really runs large. But I have a similar fabric to what you used and I am going to proudly imitate you. It will be my Ann Smith jacket. Thanks so much for the review!
7/19/09 7:40 AM
carolynw said...
Another winner Ann - you sure have been busy - and everything you have sewn is just lovely - what a wonderful closet you must have!!
7/19/09 8:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow! That's one sharp jacket. You look spectacular. I love all the details of the pattern, and the additional touch of the metallic thread. Isn't there something that would make it easier to use, like a special needle or something like that? I wouldn't have considered making that jacket before, but after seeing yours, I would. It looks much better on you than on the model.
7/19/09 10:15 AM
snaffles said...
Beautiful...a really terrific fabric choice. Thanks for the sizing info...I always have trouble picking the Marcy Tilton ones.
7/19/09 2:38 PM
Catbird said...
I really like this and do love those pockets! The topstitching looks beautiful and was a brilliant choice even though it was such a pain!
7/19/09 5:02 PM
Barbara V said...
What a smart looking jacket. Use of metallic coated linen with free-motion metallic thread topstitiching puts this jacket right up over the top!
8/5/09 10:13 AM
DorothyK said...
Leslie's jacket is spectacular. I don't know how you had the nerve to cut into that fabric, but the jacket obviously was a success. I see that I commented on your original jacket - then I forgot about it. I'm going to have to put it on my to do list again.
9/6/10 10:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what a lucky friend. thanks for the very helpful review. you guys are so stylish in your jackets.
9/7/10 1:26 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two very stylish and distinctive jackets - well done!
9/7/10 3:56 AM
annie11 said...
Love both of your jackets. I would also have been scared to cut such an expensive fabric. What a great friend you are!
9/7/10 10:11 AM
AuntieShel said...
Love both of these jackets, will have to take another look at this pattern.
9/7/10 11:42 AM
kkkkaty said...
Vogue should be using your versions to illustrate the pattern, so much more appealing looking than the one they did use. Beautiful!
9/7/10 12:44 PM
Barbara V said...
Did you have a glass of wine before proceeding? You are brave! Marvelous outcome...it looks great on Leslie. Lovely work!
9/7/10 7:11 PM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous jacket and you are such a wonderful friend to make this one. I have yet to try a MT pattern but you are inspiring me.
9/9/10 7:39 AM
sfshaza said...
Whenever a garment is added to an existing review, I tend to miss it, but I just specifically looked up this pattern. Wow, what a nice thing you did for Leslie! I would have been very scared to cut into that fabric, even at $175 per yard. It came out great, of course, and that button is stunning - perfection.
11/27/10 2:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Noodlehead

photo
by: DonnaH

Review