SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8538 (MISSES' JACKET)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1120 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 5:09 PM
Last Updated:9/6/10 8:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
I love that style also. The only way I can cope with metal thread is to capture it in a net on the floor so it has a long way to straighten out before it curves around the machine. Thanks for the size warning. Marcy always runs enormous, doesn't she.
7/18/09 5:23 PM
marec said...
Ann, not only have you been sewing up a storm, but everything is lovely, especially this jacket. I admired the metallic free motion stitching and want to copy this technique in a fall jacket but will keep your caution in mind. The winter white is very pretty against your coloring.
7/18/09 6:21 PM
Grammy Gin said...
No wonder this seemed like "neon" fabric to me. That's what I get for looking at all the pics before I read the review! Do you use titanium needles to sew metallic thread? This is really a fabulous jacket with a wonderful fit!
7/18/09 7:07 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Anne, I'm so glad you made this pattern up. I had forgotten about it. About 3 months ago, I made it in a muslin, and it was unwearable because it was so large, but I loved the style and went out and re-bought the pattern in the smaller sizes. Then, as I said, promptly forgot about it. Thanks to you, it's going to be Numeral Uno on my Fall jacket list. Your white jacket is fabulous looking--no surprise coming from your talented hands!
7/18/09 8:28 PM
Annette1 said...
I feel your pain as far as the metallic thread goes, but the END RESULT really was WORTH it. It makes this jacket truly one of a kind. Nice to know, too, that it's THAT oversized, because yours looks perfect just the way it is.
7/18/09 9:44 PM
Aixoise said...
You are such a pretty woman, and so stylish. This jacket makes you glow. Beautiful construction and embellishment.
7/18/09 9:58 PM
Nancy K said...
This is you. I love the coated metallic fabrics, but topstitching, which I am anal about anyway, with metallic thread, thank you, no. Great jacket.
7/18/09 10:25 PM
Nancywin said...
Beautifully Done, Anne. This suits you perfectly. You have really been making some nice things lately - well, as always
7/19/09 0:19 AM
ITAdmin said...
Great detailing on this! I love the style in that fabric; outstanding.
7/19/09 6:54 AM
Fran G said...
I just added this pattern to my list of "must buys" and what pattern do I see just above it on my list ...another Vogue interpreted by Ann Smith! You are the Queen of "Match the Pattern to the Fabric to You!!" I have not always found MT patterns to be successful for me..much has to do with their sizing which really runs large. But I have a similar fabric to what you used and I am going to proudly imitate you. It will be my Ann Smith jacket. Thanks so much for the review!
7/19/09 7:40 AM
carolynw said...
Another winner Ann - you sure have been busy - and everything you have sewn is just lovely - what a wonderful closet you must have!!
7/19/09 8:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow! That's one sharp jacket. You look spectacular. I love all the details of the pattern, and the additional touch of the metallic thread. Isn't there something that would make it easier to use, like a special needle or something like that? I wouldn't have considered making that jacket before, but after seeing yours, I would. It looks much better on you than on the model.
7/19/09 10:15 AM
snaffles said...
Beautiful...a really terrific fabric choice. Thanks for the sizing info...I always have trouble picking the Marcy Tilton ones.
7/19/09 2:38 PM
Catbird said...
I really like this and do love those pockets! The topstitching looks beautiful and was a brilliant choice even though it was such a pain!
7/19/09 5:02 PM
Barbara V said...
What a smart looking jacket. Use of metallic coated linen with free-motion metallic thread topstitiching puts this jacket right up over the top!
8/5/09 10:13 AM
DorothyK said...
Leslie's jacket is spectacular. I don't know how you had the nerve to cut into that fabric, but the jacket obviously was a success. I see that I commented on your original jacket - then I forgot about it. I'm going to have to put it on my to do list again.
9/6/10 10:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
what a lucky friend. thanks for the very helpful review. you guys are so stylish in your jackets.
9/7/10 1:26 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two very stylish and distinctive jackets - well done!
9/7/10 3:56 AM
annie11 said...
Love both of your jackets. I would also have been scared to cut such an expensive fabric. What a great friend you are!
9/7/10 10:11 AM
AuntieShel said...
Love both of these jackets, will have to take another look at this pattern.
9/7/10 11:42 AM
kkkkaty said...
Vogue should be using your versions to illustrate the pattern, so much more appealing looking than the one they did use. Beautiful!
9/7/10 12:44 PM
Barbara V said...
Did you have a glass of wine before proceeding? You are brave! Marvelous outcome...it looks great on Leslie. Lovely work!
9/7/10 7:11 PM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous jacket and you are such a wonderful friend to make this one. I have yet to try a MT pattern but you are inspiring me.
9/9/10 7:39 AM
sfshaza said...
Whenever a garment is added to an existing review, I tend to miss it, but I just specifically looked up this pattern. Wow, what a nice thing you did for Leslie! I would have been very scared to cut into that fabric, even at $175 per yard. It came out great, of course, and that button is stunning - perfection.
11/27/10 2:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 5252

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now