SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Saf-T-Pockets> 2006 (Getting to the Point Jacket)

Viewed 597 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/09 5:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
Last night at our ASG sewing group a woman had made this out of a sheer fabric and it was gorgeous also. It fit her wonderfully and she was a pretty small lady. In fact she will be wearing it at our ASG fashion show. It really is a very nice patterns for all sizes as we were all trying it on. I am so glad I saw your review on here so I could read the details. I will be getting this pattern and can't wait to make it.
3/11/10 12:18 PM
Barbara V said...
I agree - this fabric and jacket is far more beautiful in person and does look like a perfect travel jacket.
8/5/09 10:19 AM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket and fabulous fabric.
7/20/09 8:06 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow . . . another winner! I've seen small photos of this fabric before but had no idea how gorgeous it was! Jacket pattern is just perfect for it!
7/20/09 7:53 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful jacket and beautiful fabric. I think you can see better in the side view how beautiful it is. I've wondered about the Saf-T-Pockets thing. I have one of their patterns and have thought about making one for travel, eliminating the purse thing. You've shown that you can make a jacket that's utilitarian and still beautiful. Great review.
7/19/09 8:13 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ann, You look ready to sell those wonderful fake Rolex's on the streets of NYC! Lovely jacket...
7/19/09 8:09 PM
Lou05 said...
This looks great on you and your comments were very helpful re shoulder fit, etc. Thanks.
7/19/09 12:12 PM
moushka said...
Ann, beautiful jacket. You look gorgeous in it. Many thanks for the great review, very timely for me as I'm planning to make it for a wedding next month. Sue
7/19/09 11:51 AM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful jacket. Only you can make safety pockets glamorous. Another wonderful match of fabric and pattern. I've got to make this.
7/19/09 10:22 AM
gaginny said...
Gorgeous jacket Miss Ann.......and you look absolutely stunning in it. I have this pattern and have been planning to sew it for a long time......I just have too many patterns in that category! As always you inspire me to try and get more sewing done......
7/19/09 9:09 AM
Athene said...
A very lovely look - I always admire your use of such interesting fabrics - takes the pattern to a whole new level.
7/19/09 1:03 AM
Nancywin said...
Beautiful jacket. I have only made one saf t pockets pattern (vest) and really loved the convenience of all of the pockets. Unfortunately, it was too big for me, so I ended up giving it away. I love the fabric you used in this!
7/19/09 0:28 AM
Terri K said...
What a great match of fabric and pattern Ann. Your creations are always inspiration. Thanks for the review and photos.
7/18/09 11:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Only YOU could make a "Saf-T-Pockets" jacket (which doesn't SOUND all that marvelous) into such a CHIC and UNIQUE jacket. (I made a rhyme!) This is a beautiful jacket to wear ANY time, travel or no travel, but it truly is great to have on a trip. I may have to check out these patterns. IN FACT, you've given me the PERFECT idea for my mom! She has to chew gum all the time now because one of her pills makes her mouth so dry, and she could carry her gum in one of those pockets and not have to worry about a purse. :o)
7/18/09 9:41 PM
FreyaStark said...
Stylish and distinctive - and no doubt very useful.
7/18/09 7:52 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful jacket. The pockets really do make it a useful travel piece.
7/18/09 7:19 PM
Grammy Gin said...
This jacket is really beautiful. The safety pockets are neat! They should prove really helpful on your next plane trip, for sure. Another winner, Ann.
7/18/09 6:54 PM
Winifred said...
I love this jacket - I have a Vogue which is very similar but I think I prefer this one! Beautifully executed Ann (as usual!!)
7/18/09 6:22 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Trust ANN to find "artsy" patterns even with Saf-T-Pockets!! Very nice!!
7/18/09 6:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Butterick 5820

photo
by: Kelowna

Review
Vogue Patterns V8430

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

More Info
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

More Info