Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3678 (Knit Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 604 times 58 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:8/1/09 5:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
camaro1952 said...
Perfect dress on you! Really nice.
8/1/09 7:16 AM
persevering said...
Despite all the difficulties, I hope you enjoy wearing this dress because it looks great on you. Thanks for your review especially because you pointed out the challenges.
8/1/09 12:13 PM
puddypaws said...
This dress looks lovely on you. I was searching through my stash and found this pattern. I think I will try it even though you had some issues with it. It sounds like a challange. Nice review.
8/1/09 1:44 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Thank you for the time you took to explain what all you did and what was right or wrong about it. Well written reviews-- strong and powerful are probably what keeps us all addicted to this site. One suggestion? I am a pretty good "fixer" of sewing mistakes. I think some black elastic hand sewn in on your back neck facing may help it from terminal "gaposis". What do you think?
8/1/09 10:23 PM
JEF said...
The dress looks nice and comfy and looks good on you. NO ONE will see the wonky stitching on the midriff except you! Heck, you had to take a close up photo to show us! And thank you so much for the excellent review.
8/2/09 10:01 AM
becca a said...
Your dress came out well despite all your troubles. Your midriff looks very even. Did you make a muslin using a woven fabric? For a knit a muslin probably should be a cheaper knit with a similar stretch rather than a woven. I admire your perseverance on getting it right. Great review.
8/2/09 11:06 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow, what a challenge that was. However, the dress looks great on you. I think if you wear it, you will get nothing but compliments, and no one will notice any of the defects.
8/2/09 12:37 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the lovely comments and great tips! I will try the elastic this evening, and a stretch muslin next time!
8/2/09 3:05 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, when I saw this in the review gallery, just the thumbnail, I thought, now THAT'S cute! When I clicked on the picture, it only confirmed my suspicions! You may have had some challenges with this one, but I say you overcame them and it's VERY pretty and nicely fitted, to boot. I noticed NOTHING wrong on the midriff until you started point it out, and I'm still now sure I do. :o) I hope you wear this dress a LOT, because it looks so CUTE on you and drapes beautifully. And PLUM colored, who can resist? I predict lots of compliments. :o)
8/2/09 4:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us