SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3678 (Knit Dresses)

59 more reviews
Viewed 607 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:8/1/09 5:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
camaro1952 said...
Perfect dress on you! Really nice.
8/1/09 7:16 AM
persevering said...
Despite all the difficulties, I hope you enjoy wearing this dress because it looks great on you. Thanks for your review especially because you pointed out the challenges.
8/1/09 12:13 PM
puddypaws said...
This dress looks lovely on you. I was searching through my stash and found this pattern. I think I will try it even though you had some issues with it. It sounds like a challange. Nice review.
8/1/09 1:44 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Thank you for the time you took to explain what all you did and what was right or wrong about it. Well written reviews-- strong and powerful are probably what keeps us all addicted to this site. One suggestion? I am a pretty good "fixer" of sewing mistakes. I think some black elastic hand sewn in on your back neck facing may help it from terminal "gaposis". What do you think?
8/1/09 10:23 PM
JEF said...
The dress looks nice and comfy and looks good on you. NO ONE will see the wonky stitching on the midriff except you! Heck, you had to take a close up photo to show us! And thank you so much for the excellent review.
8/2/09 10:01 AM
becca a said...
Your dress came out well despite all your troubles. Your midriff looks very even. Did you make a muslin using a woven fabric? For a knit a muslin probably should be a cheaper knit with a similar stretch rather than a woven. I admire your perseverance on getting it right. Great review.
8/2/09 11:06 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow, what a challenge that was. However, the dress looks great on you. I think if you wear it, you will get nothing but compliments, and no one will notice any of the defects.
8/2/09 12:37 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the lovely comments and great tips! I will try the elastic this evening, and a stretch muslin next time!
8/2/09 3:05 PM
Annette1 said...
You know, when I saw this in the review gallery, just the thumbnail, I thought, now THAT'S cute! When I clicked on the picture, it only confirmed my suspicions! You may have had some challenges with this one, but I say you overcame them and it's VERY pretty and nicely fitted, to boot. I noticed NOTHING wrong on the midriff until you started point it out, and I'm still now sure I do. :o) I hope you wear this dress a LOT, because it looks so CUTE on you and drapes beautifully. And PLUM colored, who can resist? I predict lots of compliments. :o)
8/2/09 4:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now