SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 500 (Pleated Top/ Tank top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2121 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 356
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 199 people
patterns reviewed: 355
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/20/02 2:47 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I just finished this tank and it fits great. I used the "C" cup and it was perfect. No gaposis at the neck or arms. I finished the edges by turning under and stitching with a double needle. This is a great pattern that I will use again for tanks to wear under jackets or shirts. I am 50+ so a tank without something over it is not a pretty site!!!
6/29/02 11:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I forgot to say that the edge must be stretched as you stich the letuce edge. Claire Shaeffer has a discussion of this in her Sewing SHortcuts book. She recommends knits with 50% stretch or more.
4/23/02 1:40 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, the lettuce effect does not work for all knits. It is best on a thin jersey type. This is the sort of knit that has a lot of curl at the edge. Doubleknits and interlocks are often too stable for this treatment. Also, textured and synthetic blend knit may not work . I have had the best results with a zigzag stitch rather than satin stitch.
4/23/02 12:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
oops, the second link was one to Elizabeth Lee site - I pasted the same one twice
4/22/02 1:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika try this http://www.nancysnotions.com/nancys/assets/html/edges.asp or http://www.nancysnotions.com/nancys/assets/html/edges.asp I went to google and did a search - there are several more
4/22/02 1:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I talked to Peggy Sagers in the expo yesterday and she said that you can use any knit to make it and since I dont have a serger, she said I could use a satin stich to get the lettuce hem effect. I picked up a knit scrap and tried the satin stich (width 6.5 length .5 tension 2) it still did not work. Can anyone help me with it?
4/21/02 9:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
There is a place in NYC that will pleat fabric - very reasonably I'm told.
4/21/02 6:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, I have not made the pleated top. It has to be made in that specific pleated fabric. I saw garments made up in it, very nice. That fabric is just hard to find around my part of the country
4/21/02 0:55 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I just bought this pattern today at the expo. Did you make the pleated top yet? can it be made in any knit?
4/20/02 10:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Cassandra - very easy instructions and not much to making this top. Most time consuming would be the binding
4/20/02 4:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lori, this tank looks very nice. I could see having a whole closet full of these for summer!
4/20/02 1:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
How were the written instructions? Clear and easy to understand?
4/20/02 12:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for reviewing this - very cute top!
4/20/02 10:21 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 2656

photo
by: thecurious...

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
McCall's 6400

photo
by: mesewlot

Review