Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5101 (Wrap top & pants) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 792 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/09 11:49 AM
Last Updated:8/23/09 2:07 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetiebop said...
Thanks for the heads up on the ties. I think this top is really cute. I'll start on this when I start on my fall/winter wardrobe.
7/25/09 12:07 PM
AquariJenn said...
This pattern is on my late summer to-do list (ok...left over from last summer's to-do list). Thanks for the review. I hope mine turns out as well as yours. :)
7/25/09 3:11 PM
Sigrid. said...
Cute top.
7/25/09 4:31 PM
kathleencramer said...
The top really turned out cute. I purchased this pattern so that I could make the top also. It looks so good on the cover, and now seeing yours, I am more motivated to pull it out of my pile. Nice job eliminating the back seam. I'm not sure why they would put that in there... It turned out really sophisticated and love that knit fabric. Thanks for the tip on the ties.
7/25/09 10:22 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Well done . . . a great, classic top! Amazing how many unneccessary back seams are drawn into patterns these days . . . it's good to know that this pattern doesn't need one!
7/26/09 11:57 AM
katie lynne said...
Cute, cute, cute! I'm with you, I didn't think I liked this pattern, there's so many wrap tops out now. Your point about the tie is right on, I would like the 'non-bow' tie too. Thanks for a very great review. Also, I peeked at your blogsite--are you making your wedding outfit?
7/26/09 4:39 PM
Kim12469 said...
Great top! This is one of my favorite wrap patterns. I love the print too.
8/23/09 2:24 PM
LollyVee said...
Love that knit fabric..the print is stunning on you. It would look great with a pair of dark denium jeans! PS: not made for ties either. Thanks for a great review as always.
8/23/09 2:46 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a great looking outfit! You make the blouse look quite chic. I need to put that pattern on my list. Nice review.
8/23/09 3:08 PM
frame said...
Your outfit looks terrific. I love the fabric for your top.
8/23/09 3:14 PM
Markie1 said...
I love the combination of the fabric and pattern--you chose it beautifully. I agree about wrap tops, they are usually cleavage showcases-but this one looks feminine and cozy on you. I love it.
8/23/09 3:56 PM
Sharon Smith said...
You look terrific in this, it really shows off your long legs! What a great style, and bears repeating with the 2 piece outfit. Thanks for the tie alert.
8/23/09 5:23 PM
carolynw said...
Geez I have this pattern and never thought it could look so nice - thanks for the review - will move it up the line of "to do" now
8/23/09 10:13 PM
halleyscomet said...
I love wrap tops and this looks great on you! I've had this pattern for awhile but haven't used it yet. Your review is inspiring me to make something from this pattern.
8/24/09 9:01 AM
marec said...
This is so pretty. I missed this review in the summer while traveling and came upon it this evening while planning to sew up the pants on this pattern. Your top is absolutely elegant.
11/26/09 11:47 PM
Mazzygirl said...
I bought this pattern for the skirt, which I love & have made several of, but never really warmed to the top. Now that I've seen your version though, this has been elevated to a must sew. It looks absolutely gorgeous - thanks for the inspiration!
4/29/10 6:04 AM
Ruth Designs said...
I had this pattern in my collection for awhile and after seeing how lovely your top looks, it has made me want to put it on my to do list.
5/4/11 9:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 2562
photo
Review by DreinPA on 2/29/12
Read Review

Vogue 8969 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8969 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9015 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 9015 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by sayhelloja... on 5/2/10
Read Review

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us