SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> 104 (Shapely Shirt)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1723 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 194
Favored by: 392 people
patterns reviewed: 181
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/09 7:25 PM
Last Updated:7/26/09 7:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 56 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this helpful review. I've been on a mission to sew a shirt that works for my busty, plus-sized daughter and just purchased this pattern. I hope mine looks as great as yours. If it does it will have been worth the $22 (ouch!). She isn't petite but length adjustments shoud be a piece of cake. Again, kudos, will mark this review!
6/9/12 9:34 AM
Lookingpast said...
Great review and very helpful, too. I've been looking for something along these lines and will have to check this pattern out. I'm definitely a petite plus but have a hard time visualizing these patterns on me. Have you made this pattern again?
1/27/11 4:59 PM
RuthEH said...
My first comment ever! Cute fabric, great job, very flattering. Sleeveless blouses are hard to find. Great review!
11/2/09 10:46 AM
Hilary said...
This is an adorable top-and I love the cute buttons, that was a great idea!
10/5/09 10:11 AM
Peggy L said...
Debbie - this shirt looks great on you! Love your fabric choice. I have had this in my stash for years and recently made a muslin - what took me so long? I agree it is a great pattern.
8/15/09 2:25 PM
AlaskaBerninaGirl said...
I just bought this pattern from PR also and got it finished today, also love, love, love it! Thanks for the sleeveless idea! Making another very soon...
8/12/09 0:58 AM
Mufffet said...
O.K....I read this review again and went out and bought the pattern. SO now to try it out in muslin. :) Debbie, over the years I have been on PR, I have learned a TON of good stuff from you.
8/7/09 9:46 AM
fourkid said...
Love the blouse - I have a couple of patterns from this line - I am trying them very soon. I love all the helpful things you write. I NEVER thought of doing those darts last. Such a simple idea - and so useful for fitting. And the way you moved the darts - that is also so helpful. Thanks!!
8/4/09 8:18 AM
Winifred said...
Wonderful blouse Debbie - not really acquainted with this range. You look as if you've lost loads of weight ? If so, many congrats - if not, it just shows what a good design can do ! Very interested in your dart tip - what a good idea to do it late in construction , I tend to be so tied to the pattern. And the buttons of course , what an insight ! You are such an inspiration to us all - Thanks so much !!
8/1/09 7:18 AM
Annette1 said...
This may be my MOST FAVORITE TOP EVER that you've made, and you've made LOTS of favorites. EVERY little detail is PERFECT. Look at those cute BUTTONS. And your topstitching. The FIT is the best part, but then I would expect no less. There's a few of those Petite Plus Patterns that I've been so tempted to buy, but I'm NOT petite by a long shot, so I've managed to control myself SO FAR.
8/1/09 0:36 AM
Andreahg said...
That came out very nicely! I love the buttons.
7/27/09 7:42 PM
sewbehind said...
That's a winner, Debbie! Looks great on you.
7/27/09 11:03 AM
sewing for fun said...
GREAT review! and love your fabric choice. She does make really excellent patterns.
7/27/09 10:32 AM
PhyllisC said...
I've always liked this pattern and even though I'm not a plus I'd definitely make it up if it was in my size! It's a classic.
7/27/09 10:24 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a review of this pattern. i have been admiring it but hesitant. Your review makes it seem that I may be able to adjust this for myself. It looks very nice on you as well. It does look slimming. WOW - I love that in a top!
7/27/09 10:12 AM
Nancy K said...
A very flattering blouse, and as always, a great review. It just shows that those tents some of the big 4 sell in womens sizes are not the way to go for a larger size.
7/27/09 8:52 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I was so excited to see this review up. I think this is one of the best looking blouses on you that you have sewn and that is a big compliment since they are all wonderful looking. My pattern diet and resolution just went into wadder status for good- this pattern and a couple more Petite Plus are headed for my pattern collection that already has some of these and a book of Kathleen Cheatham that are pristine and uncut. Oh well we have to follow the direction and pattern picks of the great sewing goddess Debbie Cook. You are the cat's meow( or the golden paw Lol!) to lots of us. Now off to order these patterns before they are sold out.
7/27/09 8:38 AM
nonnasgift said...
Love this blouse! I have been eying this pattern, too, for years and have been concerned that it is way too complicated for me. Your review makes me think I can do it! Imagine having a blouse that doesn't gap in the front! Thanks, Debbie.
7/27/09 7:59 AM
Woolygal said...
This is perfect. A great review and you did a really nice job on the blouse.
7/27/09 6:53 AM
DaisyEsq said...
This blouse looks wonderful on you. Thanks for your great review.
7/27/09 6:39 AM
Rebecca D said...
Debbie, this blouse looks great on you. I was so thrilled this morning to see the favorite reviewer email in my inbox. I've been dying to see the top ever since you mentioned it on the Plus-Sized board. The fabric is great and your review is very helpful.
7/27/09 5:57 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Another wonderful review... such a cute top! Love the buttons!! It is very flattering! I've never heard of this pattern company before.
7/27/09 5:23 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for another great review! I really think you should have a special award for the greatest buttons! With those you hit a grand-slam home run!
7/27/09 1:17 AM
Auntchelle said...
I love your blouse! I always learn so much from reading your reviews and this one is no different. I am inspired by your 'extra' touches, like the buttons.
7/27/09 0:47 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute, very flattering blouse! I might try this one out when I'm finished with my summer sewing plan.
7/27/09 0:26 AM
Lorri said...
I love your blouse...especially the buttons. What a cute idea. I think I"ll recommend this pattern for my friend who has very narrow shoulders..Awesome job . Nice review. Thanks.
7/27/09 0:11 AM
Navymama said...
Your blouse looks terrific, and your review is excellent as usual. Your collar construction hints and the fitting back dart hint suggestions are great. I need to get this pattern out of the envelope and make a muslin. Loved the sleeveless look!
7/26/09 11:21 PM
Darla in PA said...
Cute top, Debbie.
7/26/09 11:15 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
What a cute top and great fabric too!
7/26/09 10:54 PM
msladyj said...
This is a great rewiew on a very flattering shirt.
7/26/09 10:23 PM
angie.a said...
Cute Cute!!! LOVE the fabric, and the fits is perfect, of course. Hey, is your hair wet? Does that mean you have water now?? :P
7/26/09 9:07 PM
Kbenco said...
What a fabulous, thorough review, thank you. Your top looks terrific.
7/26/09 9:07 PM
Maggie1 said...
Love the blouse,looks great on you. Do you think that there would be too many alterations if you were not petite
7/26/09 9:05 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Darling shirt and another fine sewing job along with a superb review.
7/26/09 8:48 PM
cindyintampa said...
Love the buttons! It is a great looking blouse, one of the most flattering I have seen on you.
7/26/09 8:30 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
This is really adorable and the fit is sooo nice!
7/26/09 8:24 PM
PegL said...
Very cute on you! Thanks for enabling me to order this pattern.
7/26/09 8:21 PM
Riesie said...
Very cute! I am sold.
7/26/09 8:21 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! This is such a flattering style on you! Love the fabric too. Great job. Now go sew another 33! :)
7/26/09 7:48 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This top is very flattering on you. I love it.
7/26/09 7:47 PM
kes said...
Really nice fabric, great idea to make your own buttons using the colored dots! Really nice touch! Thanks for all the details in your review. The top looks great on you!
7/26/09 7:45 PM
KathySews said...
wonderful review and top. It really is slimming on you. I have been thinking of working with this pattern line since I have learned more about sewing technique.
7/26/09 7:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Wiksten Tank Top + Dress

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Butterick 5584 (OOP)

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

More Info