Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Plus Patterns: 104 (Shapely Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1647 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 56 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/09 7:25 PM
Last Updated:7/26/09 7:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $21.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $21.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
42 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathySews said...
wonderful review and top. It really is slimming on you. I have been thinking of working with this pattern line since I have learned more about sewing technique.
7/26/09 7:44 PM
kes said...
Really nice fabric, great idea to make your own buttons using the colored dots! Really nice touch! Thanks for all the details in your review. The top looks great on you!
7/26/09 7:45 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This top is very flattering on you. I love it.
7/26/09 7:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! This is such a flattering style on you! Love the fabric too. Great job. Now go sew another 33! :)
7/26/09 7:48 PM
Riesie said...
Very cute! I am sold.
7/26/09 8:21 PM
PegL said...
Very cute on you! Thanks for enabling me to order this pattern.
7/26/09 8:21 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
This is really adorable and the fit is sooo nice!
7/26/09 8:24 PM
cindyintampa said...
Love the buttons! It is a great looking blouse, one of the most flattering I have seen on you.
7/26/09 8:30 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Darling shirt and another fine sewing job along with a superb review.
7/26/09 8:48 PM
Maggie1 said...
Love the blouse,looks great on you. Do you think that there would be too many alterations if you were not petite
7/26/09 9:05 PM
Kbenco said...
What a fabulous, thorough review, thank you. Your top looks terrific.
7/26/09 9:07 PM
angie.a said...
Cute Cute!!! LOVE the fabric, and the fits is perfect, of course. Hey, is your hair wet? Does that mean you have water now?? :P
7/26/09 9:07 PM
msladyj said...
This is a great rewiew on a very flattering shirt.
7/26/09 10:23 PM
Sickofitcindy said...
What a cute top and great fabric too!
7/26/09 10:54 PM
Darla in PA said...
Cute top, Debbie.
7/26/09 11:15 PM
Navymama said...
Your blouse looks terrific, and your review is excellent as usual. Your collar construction hints and the fitting back dart hint suggestions are great. I need to get this pattern out of the envelope and make a muslin. Loved the sleeveless look!
7/26/09 11:21 PM
Lorri said...
I love your blouse...especially the buttons. What a cute idea. I think I"ll recommend this pattern for my friend who has very narrow shoulders..Awesome job . Nice review. Thanks.
7/27/09 0:11 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute, very flattering blouse! I might try this one out when I'm finished with my summer sewing plan.
7/27/09 0:26 AM
Auntchelle said...
I love your blouse! I always learn so much from reading your reviews and this one is no different. I am inspired by your 'extra' touches, like the buttons.
7/27/09 0:47 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for another great review! I really think you should have a special award for the greatest buttons! With those you hit a grand-slam home run!
7/27/09 1:17 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Another wonderful review... such a cute top! Love the buttons!! It is very flattering! I've never heard of this pattern company before.
7/27/09 5:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
Debbie, this blouse looks great on you. I was so thrilled this morning to see the favorite reviewer email in my inbox. I've been dying to see the top ever since you mentioned it on the Plus-Sized board. The fabric is great and your review is very helpful.
7/27/09 5:57 AM
DaisyEsq said...
This blouse looks wonderful on you. Thanks for your great review.
7/27/09 6:39 AM
Woolygal said...
This is perfect. A great review and you did a really nice job on the blouse.
7/27/09 6:53 AM
nonnasgift said...
Love this blouse! I have been eying this pattern, too, for years and have been concerned that it is way too complicated for me. Your review makes me think I can do it! Imagine having a blouse that doesn't gap in the front! Thanks, Debbie.
7/27/09 7:59 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I was so excited to see this review up. I think this is one of the best looking blouses on you that you have sewn and that is a big compliment since they are all wonderful looking. My pattern diet and resolution just went into wadder status for good- this pattern and a couple more Petite Plus are headed for my pattern collection that already has some of these and a book of Kathleen Cheatham that are pristine and uncut. Oh well we have to follow the direction and pattern picks of the great sewing goddess Debbie Cook. You are the cat's meow( or the golden paw Lol!) to lots of us. Now off to order these patterns before they are sold out.
7/27/09 8:38 AM
Nancy K said...
A very flattering blouse, and as always, a great review. It just shows that those tents some of the big 4 sell in womens sizes are not the way to go for a larger size.
7/27/09 8:52 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a review of this pattern. i have been admiring it but hesitant. Your review makes it seem that I may be able to adjust this for myself. It looks very nice on you as well. It does look slimming. WOW - I love that in a top!
7/27/09 10:12 AM
PhyllisC said...
I've always liked this pattern and even though I'm not a plus I'd definitely make it up if it was in my size! It's a classic.
7/27/09 10:24 AM
sewing for fun said...
GREAT review! and love your fabric choice. She does make really excellent patterns.
7/27/09 10:32 AM
sewbehind said...
That's a winner, Debbie! Looks great on you.
7/27/09 11:03 AM
Andreahg said...
That came out very nicely! I love the buttons.
7/27/09 7:42 PM
Annette1 said...
This may be my MOST FAVORITE TOP EVER that you've made, and you've made LOTS of favorites. EVERY little detail is PERFECT. Look at those cute BUTTONS. And your topstitching. The FIT is the best part, but then I would expect no less. There's a few of those Petite Plus Patterns that I've been so tempted to buy, but I'm NOT petite by a long shot, so I've managed to control myself SO FAR.
8/1/09 0:36 AM
Winifred said...
Wonderful blouse Debbie - not really acquainted with this range. You look as if you've lost loads of weight ? If so, many congrats - if not, it just shows what a good design can do ! Very interested in your dart tip - what a good idea to do it late in construction , I tend to be so tied to the pattern. And the buttons of course , what an insight ! You are such an inspiration to us all - Thanks so much !!
8/1/09 7:18 AM
fourkid said...
Love the blouse - I have a couple of patterns from this line - I am trying them very soon. I love all the helpful things you write. I NEVER thought of doing those darts last. Such a simple idea - and so useful for fitting. And the way you moved the darts - that is also so helpful. Thanks!!
8/4/09 8:18 AM
Mufffet said...
O.K....I read this review again and went out and bought the pattern. SO now to try it out in muslin. :) Debbie, over the years I have been on PR, I have learned a TON of good stuff from you.
8/7/09 9:46 AM
AlaskaBerninaGirl said...
I just bought this pattern from PR also and got it finished today, also love, love, love it! Thanks for the sleeveless idea! Making another very soon...
8/12/09 0:58 AM
Peggy L said...
Debbie - this shirt looks great on you! Love your fabric choice. I have had this in my stash for years and recently made a muslin - what took me so long? I agree it is a great pattern.
8/15/09 2:25 PM
Hilary said...
This is an adorable top-and I love the cute buttons, that was a great idea!
10/5/09 10:11 AM
RuthEH said...
My first comment ever! Cute fabric, great job, very flattering. Sleeveless blouses are hard to find. Great review!
11/2/09 10:46 AM
Lookingpast said...
Great review and very helpful, too. I've been looking for something along these lines and will have to check this pattern out. I'm definitely a petite plus but have a hard time visualizing these patterns on me. Have you made this pattern again?
1/27/11 4:59 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for this helpful review. I've been on a mission to sew a shirt that works for my busty, plus-sized daughter and just purchased this pattern. I hope mine looks as great as yours. If it does it will have been worth the $22 (ouch!). She isn't petite but length adjustments shoud be a piece of cake. Again, kudos, will mark this review!
6/9/12 9:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 6/29/10
Read Review

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759
photo
Review by drsue on 2/4/05
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us