Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3136 (Purses and Bags)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1332 times 
Reviewed by:Melissa S.
photo

 
 
About Melissa S.star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/04 9:50 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said... (1/19/04 5:05 PM) Reply
Love this bag! I too have purchased several purse patterns but yet to make them. Made purchases several years ago but stopped to try other things. Looks like it is time to go back and try some again. Lovely fabric for this purse.
Sew it seams said... (1/15/04 8:49 AM) Reply
I love your bag Melissa. I have bought several bag patterns in the last few months, but have yet to make one. I really love them. My questions have been asked and answered here. Thanks for the great review.
Melissa S. said... (1/15/04 8:24 AM) Reply
Karen, one of the reasons I use a heavy interfacing is to give the purse a nice, substantial "feel." The purse would probably hold up fine but would be much more flexible. Good luck.
karenk said... (1/14/04 9:39 PM) Reply
Thanks for sharing. How would your purse hold up if you didn't use the heavy weight interfacing? I was thinking of using a cotton print and a medium weight interfacing. KK
Melissa S. said... (1/13/04 8:16 PM) Reply
Debbie, I have collected tapestry fabrics for years and this is the first time I have ever cut into them. I have lived in four states in the last six years and I have a stash of tapestry fabrics from all of them!
Debbie Spriggs said... (1/13/04 4:52 PM) Reply
Lovely bag! Where do you get your fabric? This fabric is really gorgeous!
Melissa S. said... (1/13/04 2:44 PM) Reply
Sewin stuff (sorry I don't know your name)--if you like collecting bags my guess is that you will love sewing them! I've had a great time. Thanks for the compliments everyone.
CatherineN said... (1/13/04 2:07 PM) Reply
Interesting collection of fabrics. They all look so professionally made.
GorgeousFabrics said... (1/13/04 12:24 PM) Reply
Melissa, you always choose such pretty fabric combinations! -Ann
xxx xxx xxx xxx said... (1/13/04 11:13 AM) Reply
I went to your web site and your bags are so beautiful. I am a handbag collector and I want to make a few I really loved the style of the piano (vouge pattern ) bag. Ah heck I loved them all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Such professional workmanship. Your family was ver lucky to receive such a fab gift. :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Pattern Details