Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Tahoe Pant (Tahoe Pant) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1899 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/04 10:43 PM
Last Updated:1/13/04 10:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
Thanks for reviewing these. It is difficult to tell how they are made/fit from the picture online.
1/14/04 1:02 AM
MaryL said...
WOW! That's a stunning outfit that looks fabulous on you. Do you think that skirt would work up well in a lightweight denim or is it too stiff for those tucks? Thanks for this review.
1/14/04 1:07 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
What a lovely outfit. How can we find out how you made your "Sweater Again" sweater project? Do you have the instructions on your website or possibly in "Londa's 2 Cents"?. The skirt is really nice and the sweater is just the ideal topper to pull the outfit together.
1/14/04 1:53 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful outfit, Londa. Thanks for the review.
1/14/04 6:02 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great outfit. I am really interested in that amazing sweater!
1/14/04 7:07 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Mary: a lightweight denim would be fine. I do have a Londa's 2 Cents on this pattern with more details. For the sweater - this is just "Creative Sewing" that I love to do. Go to Goodwill (or your hubby's sweaters he doesn't wear). Pick out some coordinates. Pick out about 2-3 fabrics that coordinate with the sweaters. Throw all into washer and dryer. Let happens what will. ONe of these was a mohair that really felted up nicely. Take a basic pattern. If you will line it (I did), use a very lightweight batiste or muslin as the "pallette" - now just start cutting and piecing. I butted edges on this one, then couched down 3 rows of yarn along all the 'seams' with clear monofilament thread. Use parts of sweaters in unusual places. The back of this has the yoke using the bottom band of one of the sweaters, loose at the bottom of it. Use parts in unexpected places. Make the sleeves loose and sweatery. Make use of the cuffs of a sweater for your cuffs. Bind like a quilt. Use french bias if doing curves. I will be offering a class: Transforming Sweatshirts - or Sweatshirt Jackets - something like that - through Patternreview as an online class starting mid February. This could give you more techniques, and a chance to 'play' sewing with me. :)
1/14/04 9:10 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice outfit. Glad to see you reviewing patterns and teaching classes here. You bring so many skills to the community.
1/14/04 9:55 AM
bunz said...
Londa, Fantastic outfit. The sweater is reallly creative, I've always wanted to do this ever since I saw it in Threads, but wondered about all the "lint" generated" by the process. Thanks for the tip on the waistband.
1/14/04 9:56 AM
Lizzy said...
Welcome Londa. Interesting review of the Tahoe pant. I made these several years ago & thought the reason I couldn't get the folds to hang right was my shape. I removed some off the back waist and applied an elasticized waistband with velcro fastening in front. It worked fairly well but they are tight in the back crotch. I've worn them a lot & keep meaning to fix, but.........maybe I'll get it out and try again with my improved fitting knowledge. That sweater is really inspiring.
1/14/04 4:37 PM
Ann C said...
Hi Londa, thanks for reviewing this. Your outfit is on trend with all the pink! I like.
1/14/04 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8379
photo
Review by Dei on 10/5/08
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8380 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Wendy VanC on 7/15/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 401 Pattern
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 20 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1773 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us