SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tahoe Pant (Tahoe Pant)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1913 times 
Reviewed by:Londa Rohlfing
photo

 
 
About Londa Rohlfingstar
Member since: 11/30/03
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/04 10:43 PM
Last Updated:1/13/04 10:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
Thanks for reviewing these. It is difficult to tell how they are made/fit from the picture online.
1/14/04 1:02 AM
MaryL said...
WOW! That's a stunning outfit that looks fabulous on you. Do you think that skirt would work up well in a lightweight denim or is it too stiff for those tucks? Thanks for this review.
1/14/04 1:07 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
What a lovely outfit. How can we find out how you made your "Sweater Again" sweater project? Do you have the instructions on your website or possibly in "Londa's 2 Cents"?. The skirt is really nice and the sweater is just the ideal topper to pull the outfit together.
1/14/04 1:53 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful outfit, Londa. Thanks for the review.
1/14/04 6:02 AM
SewingSusan said...
Great outfit. I am really interested in that amazing sweater!
1/14/04 7:07 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Mary: a lightweight denim would be fine. I do have a Londa's 2 Cents on this pattern with more details. For the sweater - this is just "Creative Sewing" that I love to do. Go to Goodwill (or your hubby's sweaters he doesn't wear). Pick out some coordinates. Pick out about 2-3 fabrics that coordinate with the sweaters. Throw all into washer and dryer. Let happens what will. ONe of these was a mohair that really felted up nicely. Take a basic pattern. If you will line it (I did), use a very lightweight batiste or muslin as the "pallette" - now just start cutting and piecing. I butted edges on this one, then couched down 3 rows of yarn along all the 'seams' with clear monofilament thread. Use parts of sweaters in unusual places. The back of this has the yoke using the bottom band of one of the sweaters, loose at the bottom of it. Use parts in unexpected places. Make the sleeves loose and sweatery. Make use of the cuffs of a sweater for your cuffs. Bind like a quilt. Use french bias if doing curves. I will be offering a class: Transforming Sweatshirts - or Sweatshirt Jackets - something like that - through Patternreview as an online class starting mid February. This could give you more techniques, and a chance to 'play' sewing with me. :)
1/14/04 9:10 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice outfit. Glad to see you reviewing patterns and teaching classes here. You bring so many skills to the community.
1/14/04 9:55 AM
bunz said...
Londa, Fantastic outfit. The sweater is reallly creative, I've always wanted to do this ever since I saw it in Threads, but wondered about all the "lint" generated" by the process. Thanks for the tip on the waistband.
1/14/04 9:56 AM
Lizzy said...
Welcome Londa. Interesting review of the Tahoe pant. I made these several years ago & thought the reason I couldn't get the folds to hang right was my shape. I removed some off the back waist and applied an elasticized waistband with velcro fastening in front. It worked fairly well but they are tight in the back crotch. I've worn them a lot & keep meaning to fix, but.........maybe I'll get it out and try again with my improved fitting knowledge. That sweater is really inspiring.
1/14/04 4:37 PM
Ann C said...
Hi Londa, thanks for reviewing this. Your outfit is on trend with all the pink! I like.
1/14/04 5:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2011-117

photo
by: jennybaxt

Review
Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: susandf

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now