SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-133B (Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 296 times 
Reviewed by:busybee crafting
photo

 
 
About busybee crafting
OH USA
Member since: 12/9/08
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/09 10:59 PM
Last Updated:7/28/09 11:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nowak said... (8/10/09 6:20 AM) Reply
The 30 rows of shirring make a big difference, your dress looks nicer than the Burda version.
barbcl said... (7/29/09 12:07 PM) Reply
Really nice looking dress after a lot of work. Thanks for the sizing tips in the review. The added rows also give the dress a custom look.
busybee crafting said... (7/29/09 8:29 AM) Reply
Yeah 30 was a lot and you do not sew the side seams untill after you complete the shirring. But once you get going it goes fast. I choose to use my presser foot as a guide and not teh 3/8" lines the inst. wanted. That made it go fast and...i found a way to wind the bobbin with the elastic thread by machine and still get the tension...required a little engineering with a old toothbrush and tape but it worked. LOL :D
Auntie Allyn said... (7/29/09 8:21 AM) Reply
30 rows of shirring? Lady, you're a lot tougher than I am . . . I'd have thrown in the towel about halfway through! You've ended up with a lovely dress as a result . . . . congratulations!!!
arianamaniacs said... (7/29/09 3:45 AM) Reply
30 rows of shirring? Wow, didn't you go batty winding the bobbin by hand? =) Your dress turned out great!
msladyj said... (7/28/09 11:33 PM) Reply
I love your dress. Very clever to use a ciffon instead of a jersey knit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Simplicity 8735

photo
by: abbythomas

Review
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Pattern Details
New Look 6926

photo
by: tonitones

Review