Online Sewing Class: Bust Adjustments
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-133B (Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 299 times 
Reviewed by:busybee crafting
photo

 
 
About busybee crafting
OH USA
Member since: 12/9/08
Reviews: 27 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/09 10:59 PM
Last Updated:7/28/09 11:03 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nowak said... (8/10/09 6:20 AM) Reply
The 30 rows of shirring make a big difference, your dress looks nicer than the Burda version.
barbcl said... (7/29/09 12:07 PM) Reply
Really nice looking dress after a lot of work. Thanks for the sizing tips in the review. The added rows also give the dress a custom look.
busybee crafting said... (7/29/09 8:29 AM) Reply
Yeah 30 was a lot and you do not sew the side seams untill after you complete the shirring. But once you get going it goes fast. I choose to use my presser foot as a guide and not teh 3/8" lines the inst. wanted. That made it go fast and...i found a way to wind the bobbin with the elastic thread by machine and still get the tension...required a little engineering with a old toothbrush and tape but it worked. LOL :D
Auntie Allyn said... (7/29/09 8:21 AM) Reply
30 rows of shirring? Lady, you're a lot tougher than I am . . . I'd have thrown in the towel about halfway through! You've ended up with a lovely dress as a result . . . . congratulations!!!
arianamaniacs said... (7/29/09 3:45 AM) Reply
30 rows of shirring? Wow, didn't you go batty winding the bobbin by hand? =) Your dress turned out great!
msladyj said... (7/28/09 11:33 PM) Reply
I love your dress. Very clever to use a ciffon instead of a jersey knit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

New Look 6230

photo
by: mchinadoll

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1661

photo
by: mchinadoll

Review