SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8511 (MISSES' DRESS)

21 more reviews
Viewed 1120 times 
Reviewed by:jorth
photo

 
 
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/09 1:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carnelian said...
Pretty darn glam and firing on all cylinders, I'd say.
7/29/09 2:12 AM
poplin said...
Totally awesome!
7/29/09 2:24 AM
Gelbean said...
Fabulous dress!
7/29/09 2:40 AM
Twinset said...
Great dress - great fit and very artistic pictures!
7/29/09 3:03 AM
EleanorSews said...
Simply stunning!
7/29/09 4:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Congrats on your first review. It's great to see you reviewing your wonderful dress here. (I saw it on the Tessuti blog). Great dress and I love how you painted the fabric.
7/29/09 5:39 AM
valerie sews said...
I've been looking at this pattern and didn't get it. I'll have to rethink that now I see how well it makes up. Great job on the fabric too.
7/29/09 5:42 AM
Lili123 said...
your dress is absolutly splendid, wow!!!and the fabric is amazing!!!!
7/29/09 7:42 AM
Lori V said...
Great dress.
7/29/09 7:48 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow, that's a smokin' hot outfit you've got on there! I love the fact that you added the wild pink color to the fabric . . . totally changes the vibe of the dress (in a fabulous way)!!!
7/29/09 8:16 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous and sheer brilliance on the fabric painting!
7/29/09 8:16 AM
birdmcfarland said...
This is amazing. I am totally in love with the dress and paint job. Bravo!!
7/29/09 8:20 AM
mrsbewley said...
Really fabulous! The pink paint was truly inspired!
7/29/09 8:27 AM
carolynw said...
I love your dress too - your painting makes your fabric a true one of a kind and the fit is perfect - what's not to love!!
7/29/09 8:31 AM
nicolars said...
I love the fabric! You did an excellent job.
7/29/09 9:59 AM
Deb Thompson said...
I would have NEVER thought to paint my fabric in a million years! What a clever idea!!! This dress is absolutely fabulous and your photos are brilliant!! I am going to add your blog to my favorite links on my website! Thanks for sucha great review
7/29/09 10:10 AM
Byrdie said...
Wow, you look like a supermodel! Love the dress!
7/29/09 10:20 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Get out. i am adding this pattern to stash!! you, the print and dress are absolutely amazing. so stinking cute. it's kind of vintage too!
7/29/09 10:47 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a great idea painting the fabric! It is a lovely dress!
7/29/09 10:49 AM
RLL said...
Brilliant idea, fabulous dress! I tried painting fabric once, years ago, but it was poly and the paint washed out almost completely the first washing. I know not to paint poly now.........only natural fibers, but I havn't tried it again.
7/29/09 10:50 AM
JudiBee2 said...
How Clever. The dress is gorgeous on you!
7/29/09 11:46 AM
DorothyK said...
What a great idea - and executed perfectly. The fabric and dress are wonderful. You've given me food for thought.
7/29/09 1:06 PM
Raye Ann said...
ok- your version is sooooo much better than the pattern envelope! inspired choices + excellent sewing skills= smokin' hot graffiti dress! thanks for sharing
7/29/09 1:20 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
inspirational review! -- and thanks for alerting me to this dress. I agree, it's a great pattern.
7/29/09 3:39 PM
Ann Smith said...
Stunning dress and fantastic photo styling with the graffiti background. Congratulations!!
7/29/09 3:54 PM
Laurie Lou said...
This is a total work of ArtWear! Love it Love it!!! So was this fabric black and white and you only added the pink??? Thanks and look forward to many more reviews form you!!!
7/29/09 4:23 PM
jorth said...
Awww, thanks everybody! Many cheesy grins and blushes over here at chez Jorth! xo xo
7/29/09 5:28 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I am in complete awe over how fabulous this has turned out. Simply stunning.
7/29/09 8:44 PM
arianamaniacs said...
i never gave this pattern a second look. I'm totally impressed with your version. I will have to pick it up
7/30/09 3:21 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What a totally fabulous dress ! ! !
7/30/09 5:07 AM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful dress, looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the great review. I think I "need" this pattern now!
7/30/09 6:55 AM
Catbird said...
I love every single detail. This is a super-charged dress!! That pink fabric paint was a brilliant idea and you've pulled it all together perfectly with the wide belt and shoes. Congratulations on your first review -- it's a knockout -- and I look forward to many more!
7/30/09 9:24 AM
becca a said...
You look very glamorous in this dress. I like the urban graffiti backdrop--like a fancy fashion shoot. What fun to paint the fabric with your daughter.
7/30/09 11:25 AM
barbcl said...
Gorgeous dress on you, in a great fabric. I've looked at this pattern and thought that, with a waistband added, it 's a great skirt, too.
7/30/09 12:57 PM
HLT said...
Awesome custom fabric. You have a unique, beautiful dress.
7/13/10 0:07 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG don't know how I missed this last summer. So inspirational. You know I will be trying that myself with some black and white fabric. Fabulous result!!!
7/14/10 12:10 PM
SewMeLove said...
the dress is beautiful!!!!! i am getting this pattern!!
11/8/11 7:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now