SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8511 (MISSES' DRESS)

21 more reviews
Viewed 1123 times 
Reviewed by:jorth
photo

 
 
About jorthstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/09 1:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewMeLove said...
the dress is beautiful!!!!! i am getting this pattern!!
11/8/11 7:35 AM
AuntieShel said...
OMG don't know how I missed this last summer. So inspirational. You know I will be trying that myself with some black and white fabric. Fabulous result!!!
7/14/10 12:10 PM
HLT said...
Awesome custom fabric. You have a unique, beautiful dress.
7/13/10 0:07 AM
barbcl said...
Gorgeous dress on you, in a great fabric. I've looked at this pattern and thought that, with a waistband added, it 's a great skirt, too.
7/30/09 12:57 PM
becca a said...
You look very glamorous in this dress. I like the urban graffiti backdrop--like a fancy fashion shoot. What fun to paint the fabric with your daughter.
7/30/09 11:25 AM
Catbird said...
I love every single detail. This is a super-charged dress!! That pink fabric paint was a brilliant idea and you've pulled it all together perfectly with the wide belt and shoes. Congratulations on your first review -- it's a knockout -- and I look forward to many more!
7/30/09 9:24 AM
beth5646 said...
Beautiful dress, looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the great review. I think I "need" this pattern now!
7/30/09 6:55 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What a totally fabulous dress ! ! !
7/30/09 5:07 AM
arianamaniacs said...
i never gave this pattern a second look. I'm totally impressed with your version. I will have to pick it up
7/30/09 3:21 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I am in complete awe over how fabulous this has turned out. Simply stunning.
7/29/09 8:44 PM
jorth said...
Awww, thanks everybody! Many cheesy grins and blushes over here at chez Jorth! xo xo
7/29/09 5:28 PM
Laurie Lou said...
This is a total work of ArtWear! Love it Love it!!! So was this fabric black and white and you only added the pink??? Thanks and look forward to many more reviews form you!!!
7/29/09 4:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
Stunning dress and fantastic photo styling with the graffiti background. Congratulations!!
7/29/09 3:54 PM
CrescentaLuna said...
inspirational review! -- and thanks for alerting me to this dress. I agree, it's a great pattern.
7/29/09 3:39 PM
Raye Ann said...
ok- your version is sooooo much better than the pattern envelope! inspired choices + excellent sewing skills= smokin' hot graffiti dress! thanks for sharing
7/29/09 1:20 PM
DorothyK said...
What a great idea - and executed perfectly. The fabric and dress are wonderful. You've given me food for thought.
7/29/09 1:06 PM
JudiBee2 said...
How Clever. The dress is gorgeous on you!
7/29/09 11:46 AM
RLL said...
Brilliant idea, fabulous dress! I tried painting fabric once, years ago, but it was poly and the paint washed out almost completely the first washing. I know not to paint poly now.........only natural fibers, but I havn't tried it again.
7/29/09 10:50 AM
cmarie12 said...
What a great idea painting the fabric! It is a lovely dress!
7/29/09 10:49 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Get out. i am adding this pattern to stash!! you, the print and dress are absolutely amazing. so stinking cute. it's kind of vintage too!
7/29/09 10:47 AM
Byrdie said...
Wow, you look like a supermodel! Love the dress!
7/29/09 10:20 AM
Deb Thompson said...
I would have NEVER thought to paint my fabric in a million years! What a clever idea!!! This dress is absolutely fabulous and your photos are brilliant!! I am going to add your blog to my favorite links on my website! Thanks for sucha great review
7/29/09 10:10 AM
nicolars said...
I love the fabric! You did an excellent job.
7/29/09 9:59 AM
carolynw said...
I love your dress too - your painting makes your fabric a true one of a kind and the fit is perfect - what's not to love!!
7/29/09 8:31 AM
mrsbewley said...
Really fabulous! The pink paint was truly inspired!
7/29/09 8:27 AM
birdmcfarland said...
This is amazing. I am totally in love with the dress and paint job. Bravo!!
7/29/09 8:20 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous and sheer brilliance on the fabric painting!
7/29/09 8:16 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Wow, that's a smokin' hot outfit you've got on there! I love the fact that you added the wild pink color to the fabric . . . totally changes the vibe of the dress (in a fabulous way)!!!
7/29/09 8:16 AM
Lori V said...
Great dress.
7/29/09 7:48 AM
Lili123 said...
your dress is absolutly splendid, wow!!!and the fabric is amazing!!!!
7/29/09 7:42 AM
valerie sews said...
I've been looking at this pattern and didn't get it. I'll have to rethink that now I see how well it makes up. Great job on the fabric too.
7/29/09 5:42 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Congrats on your first review. It's great to see you reviewing your wonderful dress here. (I saw it on the Tessuti blog). Great dress and I love how you painted the fabric.
7/29/09 5:39 AM
EleanorSews said...
Simply stunning!
7/29/09 4:41 AM
Twinset said...
Great dress - great fit and very artistic pictures!
7/29/09 3:03 AM
Gelbean said...
Fabulous dress!
7/29/09 2:40 AM
poplin said...
Totally awesome!
7/29/09 2:24 AM
carnelian said...
Pretty darn glam and firing on all cylinders, I'd say.
7/29/09 2:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6498

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now