SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-102 (knit dress, asymmetrical pleat)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1152 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/09 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laura C. said...
Very nice dress! I'd love to learn more about fake FBA as my daughter's bustline is challenging.
8/14/09 10:25 AM
mochimo said...
So lovely! I also made this dress recently and love wearing it.
8/5/09 3:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
Love it!!! Perfect print, style, and color on you!.
8/2/09 1:34 PM
Annette1 said...
You're pretty as a picture in your new dress, Deepika. Such a flattering style and PRETTY colors! (I've got a clear view foot on the way as we speak. I can't wait!)
8/1/09 0:07 AM
Deepika said...
redhotpepper I did not sew a zipper. I edited my review to add that. Sharon I do love my CS machine but I clearly need more practice. And a clear view foot. Sew4Fun I found those shoes on sale at DSW. They are a peculiar color but I love them! patsijean thanks, I will store it with my sweaters. Thanks for such nice comments everyone!
7/31/09 2:16 PM
becca a said...
Beautiful dress, perfect fit. Thank you for the "fake FBA" adjustment picture and explanation. Very helpful review.
7/31/09 11:35 AM
Vintage Joan said...
What a lovely dress! :)
7/31/09 11:12 AM
patsijean said...
If the neck stretches in spite of the binding, I would not store the dress on a hanger, even with hanger loops. Fold and store in a drawer as you would a nice sweater or special T-Shirt.
7/31/09 10:46 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look absolutely fabulous in this dress Deepika. The fabric is really pretty and fresh looking. Sorry I gave up my subscription to Burda this year.
7/31/09 10:31 AM
cindyann said...
So pretty! That print was made for you.
7/31/09 10:16 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely dress on you. That fabric is so pretty and yes, works well!
7/31/09 9:45 AM
grey ann said...
Deepika, the dress looks very nice on you. I want to thank you for developing Pattern Review into such a great resource. I check it everyday. Thank you, thank you.! Ann
7/31/09 9:36 AM
mending maven said...
You hit it out of the ballpark with this one! LOVELY! Great fit, wonderful colors and very flattering on you. LOVELY
7/31/09 9:33 AM
vivianna said...
It is lovely!
7/31/09 7:34 AM
Fran S said...
This is lovely on you Deepika. The fit looks perfect.
7/31/09 7:06 AM
Sigrid. said...
Lovely dress.
7/31/09 5:00 AM
meli88a said...
nice job on the Fake FBA! Thanks for sharing.
7/30/09 10:21 PM
sideseams said...
Love the dress on you. Really liked the tip about a fake fba. Clever.
7/30/09 9:55 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great dress and very helpful review. I love the fabric!
7/30/09 9:47 PM
PVA said...
Ditto to *All* of the above, I love the dress & how it looks on you. Thanks for the great review.
7/30/09 8:12 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous dress, it's super flattering ion you, both the style and the fabric.
7/30/09 7:53 PM
maedchen said...
Beautiful!
7/30/09 7:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a beautiful dress! It was obviously meant to be. The style and colour is so incredibly flattering on you. And if you come anywhere near me wearing those shoes I'm stealing them right off your feet! LOL!
7/30/09 7:12 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Very nice looking, and I love your "fake FBA" idea. I will be using that one!
7/30/09 7:05 PM
donna mel said...
love the dress deepika! its a perfect fit and the empire waist is super flattering. thanks for the tips...i'll need them when i get the burda magazine back and make this for myself!
7/30/09 7:03 PM
lmg said...
You look stunning in that dress. Thanks for the info on the fake FBA. I agree, every time I get rid of a Burda, I regret it. That's why I have them all the way back to 1999. Yikes.
7/30/09 6:56 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! Very pretty!
7/30/09 6:42 PM
FreyaStark said...
A really lovely dress. Well done.
7/30/09 5:57 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Your dress is beautiful and you look absolutely beautiful in it. The print of course I love it. Another BWOF winner for you.
7/30/09 5:53 PM
dbsewer said...
Love the fabric and the dress. It really suits you. Yes, sewing with rayon/lycra is a challenge but after the first few times you'll get the hang of it. You did your usually good job on this.
7/30/09 5:49 PM
nellc said...
Lovely dress, your fabric is really pretty.
7/30/09 5:44 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress - you are rocking with those shoes !!
7/30/09 5:31 PM
Amanda S. said...
Great dress! I originally liked this pattern but then started thinking it looked really young. But on you it's very pretty and classic so I think will go back on my to-do list. Beautiful fabric as well.
7/30/09 5:19 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely style and color. Gorgeous on you!
7/30/09 5:13 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Absolutely lovely! That color really suits you. Don't you just love those coverstitch machines?
7/30/09 5:08 PM
Erica B. said...
Very pretty dress! Great print!
7/30/09 4:55 PM
Twinset said...
You look lovely. Beautiful and well made!
7/30/09 4:45 PM
RLL said...
Perfect match of fabric to pattern. Perfect fit. Looks like a real winner!
7/30/09 4:41 PM
Knitters Delight said...
How pretty!
7/30/09 4:31 PM
redhotpepper said...
Very nice in that fabric. Did you end up putting a zipper in?
7/30/09 4:20 PM
Karen6790 said...
That's why I never get rid of BWOF - the minute it's gone, you want it back. This was definitely worth the search because it looks great on you. Interesting that I tend to think of you as looking great in vivid colors, but this is beautiful on you, and I love your "fake fba", I've done something similar myself!
7/30/09 4:19 PM
smoody said...
love the colors and the dress style!!!
7/30/09 4:17 PM
Leora said...
I hadn't noticed this pattern, I'll have to read the other reviews. Such a pretty dress!
7/30/09 4:08 PM
Nancy K said...
Flattering and pretty on you.
7/30/09 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 6044

photo
by: Lisa Gaska...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now