Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2917 (Women's Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Plus    printable version
Viewed 542 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:PatCSM
photo
About PatCSMstar
MS USA
Member since: 5/8/07
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/09 5:21 PM
Last Updated:7/30/09 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Geez I hope I don't offend you but I think the problem is that you are making this bigger than you need to - If you take in some of the excess in the seams from the bust down I bet you'll be more happy with the fit - let's see what others have to say
7/30/09 9:58 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Pat, I agree with Clin. I am an apple too and have made similar patterns. In my opinion, the neck and high bust are too big. For example, from armpit to armpit. Ok there is a much better term for armpit, lol. I start with a smaller neck and armhole size and add extra to the side seam and FBA. And there is too much fabric around your stomach, which is contributing to the look you don't like. The raised neckline and FBA look great and that was the hard part. You have an awful lot of work in this pattern, but it is possible for it to still work for you. Princess seams are the apple's best friend! Good luck. Happy Sewing.
7/31/09 1:10 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I also think that you'd be happier with it with a smaller size. I don't know if you added width to the center front, but the princess lines will be more flattering if they fall directly over the center of the breast. A seam down the center front might be able to fix that and make the fit more tailored. Keep trying!
7/31/09 3:25 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
Oh, I so agree, this is way too big! Your front seams should be more towards the center, across the apex of the bust. Your shoulders and neck are too big, even the bustline under your arms. Look how it pulls under and in front of the arm and the shoulder seam is too long. You probably need to start with a size smaller and not take out so much of the shaping. You took all the shaping out of the top below the bust, look at how it flares out about where your hands are. When you did your FBA did you take back in the extra below the bust line? Honestly, I think this style would be very flattering on you, would give you some shape, but you just haven't gotten there yet on this one. I would put it on wrong side out and start pinning to see how you can improve it. I hope I didn't come across as mean, I really meant my comments to help. I think you could look really nice in this style, but I suspect you started too big and then over-altered the bust line.
7/31/09 8:38 AM
Annette1 said...
No, don't throw it out, or at least don't give up on this pattern! You just need to go down a size, in my NON-EXPERT opinion, or at least one. It really drapes so beautifully, and the neckline is so cute! I think if you just go down a notch, you'll have it made in the shade!
8/1/09 0:11 AM
PatCSM said...
Thanks for all your comments. I think I will put this away for a couple of weeks, then pull it out and try again.
8/1/09 5:53 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
PatCSM, that's a great idea. I'm glad to hear it, because you are almost there. I do the same thing.
8/1/09 11:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Neue Mode 23215 coat
photo
Review by Tini on 2/1/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stretch & Sew 375
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 1/31/11
Read Review

Fusible Interfacing DVD
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us