SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> sofa slipcover 

Viewed 2275 times 
Reviewed by:aperiolat
photo

 
 
About aperiolatstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/04 0:13 AM
Last Updated:1/15/04 0:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
hikeswiss said...
I tried to view your pictures but was unable to access them.
5/7/07 9:31 PM
hikeswiss said...
I tried to view your pictures but was unable to access them. I'm beginning a slipcover project on a chair and I would love to see your couch. By the way, I have a PB slipcovered sectional and I'm not happy with the way the slipcovers fit that came with it.
5/7/07 9:29 PM
aperiolat said...
mClones--that's what I did with the batting, but it can be difficult to "smooth" out b/c it wants to bunch up on you while you are sliding it in. In your situation, I personally wouldn't want to give up the down softness to 10oz batting. Maybe you can place the batting on the back side(or "inside the down) of the bolsters. That way, you can still have the softness of the down but bulk on the inside to create the volume you want. Just a suggestion :)
1/16/04 10:19 AM
mClones said...
Great job! Tho' my couch needs it too, I've been too intimidated to do a slipcover. My husband threw the dry clean only cover in the wash and it came out just fine - so I've been saved. However, the goosedown back bolsters are limp. Are you saying I can just slip some batting inside the cover to plump up the pillow? I don't need to attach it to the pillow cover or anything?
1/15/04 7:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job!!!! You are very inspirational. I am a bit "chicken" to do this big of a project.
1/15/04 6:52 PM
alex said...
I love the slipcover - great job. My next project is actually a slip-cover, so I was really glad to see this review, thanks.
1/15/04 5:44 PM
aperiolat said...
Linda--you're not doing anything wrong. I use ofoto.com and they seem to be doing something different lately. If you would like, you can give me your email and I will send you the actual album of slipcover pictures. Just let me know! aperiolat@yahoo.com
1/15/04 3:47 PM
Linda E. said...
I would really love to see the pictures but I get the following error.. The page you're looking for is not available. Am I doing something wrong.
1/15/04 3:45 PM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Nice Work............. I sew home interiors from my home based business and I DON'T DO SLIP COVERS!!!!! I figured if a cleaning lady can say she doesn’t do windows I can do the same!!! :) You are so correct about the Pillow project the denim has given you a great decorating canvas. I love doing pillows it opens up fabric choices we would not other wise use and the opportunity to use some fabulous trims beads etc. Check out the websites I linked for some wonderful ideas. Again great job and I am glad it was your project not mine J http://www.calicocorners.com/pillows.asp http://www.waverly.com/ http://www.sewinstuff.com (Mine) – BettyJo
1/15/04 12:06 PM
Ann C said...
Oh my, how impressive that you actually altered the form of the sofa - a sofa makeover.
1/15/04 10:30 AM
Mollykat said...
Great job! I tried this on an arm chair and gave up! your's looks great and I can tell it was worth the effort.
1/15/04 9:43 AM
aperiolat said...
Asa, I may very well just do that soon! Once I can get it in and flat, I'm sure it will make a world of difference :)
1/15/04 9:43 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow, great job! I cut out fabric for new cushion covers a few years ago, but I have yet to summon up the energy to finish... Maybe you could put more batting on the cushions to make the covers tighter?
1/15/04 9:32 AM
aperiolat said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words! It was very satisfying. Doris & Cattgirl--thanks for the info @ not being able to access pictures. I post them on ofoto.com and I believe they have changed something and some people can't access pics. If you want, I can email you my whole sewing album and the pics are in there. Just let me know :)
1/15/04 9:31 AM
Cattgirl said...
Couldn't access the pics this morning. The project sounds like it was well worth the challenge. Can't wait to see the pics!
1/15/04 8:43 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Looks terrific!! Way to go!
1/15/04 8:32 AM
amyf said...
Love it! One day when we are ready to slipcover our sofa, I might just do this.
1/15/04 8:23 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Unable to access your pictures :-( Sounds like a very satisfying finished result.
1/15/04 8:21 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job!!!!!
1/15/04 7:28 AM
Deepika said...
This is a very nice slipcover. Way better than the store bought ones. A while ago Gorgeous Things(Ann) found herself making a slipcover. After a gruelling few days she swore that she'll never do it again ;-) I bet it must be a great feeling though to make something so useful and pretty for your home.
1/15/04 7:27 AM
Lou. said...
Wow great slip cover!!
1/15/04 6:57 AM
SewingSusan said...
I have always wanted to try this...I read that article too. You have done an amazing job!! It looks like it's from Pottery Barn! (only better)
1/15/04 6:48 AM
Liane M said...
Wow! I read that article too. Your slipcover looks fantastic!
1/15/04 6:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5558

photo
by: nicegirl

Review