Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: sofa slipcover - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 2275 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:aperiolat
photo
About aperiolatstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/04 0:13 AM
Last Updated:1/15/04 0:13 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liane M said...
Wow! I read that article too. Your slipcover looks fantastic!
1/15/04 6:24 AM
SewingSusan said...
I have always wanted to try this...I read that article too. You have done an amazing job!! It looks like it's from Pottery Barn! (only better)
1/15/04 6:48 AM
Lou. said...
Wow great slip cover!!
1/15/04 6:57 AM
Deepika said...
This is a very nice slipcover. Way better than the store bought ones. A while ago Gorgeous Things(Ann) found herself making a slipcover. After a gruelling few days she swore that she'll never do it again ;-) I bet it must be a great feeling though to make something so useful and pretty for your home.
1/15/04 7:27 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job!!!!!
1/15/04 7:28 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Unable to access your pictures :-( Sounds like a very satisfying finished result.
1/15/04 8:21 AM
amyf said...
Love it! One day when we are ready to slipcover our sofa, I might just do this.
1/15/04 8:23 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Looks terrific!! Way to go!
1/15/04 8:32 AM
Cattgirl said...
Couldn't access the pics this morning. The project sounds like it was well worth the challenge. Can't wait to see the pics!
1/15/04 8:43 AM
aperiolat said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words! It was very satisfying. Doris & Cattgirl--thanks for the info @ not being able to access pictures. I post them on ofoto.com and I believe they have changed something and some people can't access pics. If you want, I can email you my whole sewing album and the pics are in there. Just let me know :)
1/15/04 9:31 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow, great job! I cut out fabric for new cushion covers a few years ago, but I have yet to summon up the energy to finish... Maybe you could put more batting on the cushions to make the covers tighter?
1/15/04 9:32 AM
aperiolat said...
Asa, I may very well just do that soon! Once I can get it in and flat, I'm sure it will make a world of difference :)
1/15/04 9:43 AM
Mollykat said...
Great job! I tried this on an arm chair and gave up! your's looks great and I can tell it was worth the effort.
1/15/04 9:43 AM
Ann C said...
Oh my, how impressive that you actually altered the form of the sofa - a sofa makeover.
1/15/04 10:30 AM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Nice Work............. I sew home interiors from my home based business and I DON'T DO SLIP COVERS!!!!! I figured if a cleaning lady can say she doesn’t do windows I can do the same!!! :) You are so correct about the Pillow project the denim has given you a great decorating canvas. I love doing pillows it opens up fabric choices we would not other wise use and the opportunity to use some fabulous trims beads etc. Check out the websites I linked for some wonderful ideas. Again great job and I am glad it was your project not mine J http://www.calicocorners.com/pillows.asp http://www.waverly.com/ http://www.sewinstuff.com (Mine) – BettyJo
1/15/04 12:06 PM
Linda E. said...
I would really love to see the pictures but I get the following error.. The page you're looking for is not available. Am I doing something wrong.
1/15/04 3:45 PM
aperiolat said...
Linda--you're not doing anything wrong. I use ofoto.com and they seem to be doing something different lately. If you would like, you can give me your email and I will send you the actual album of slipcover pictures. Just let me know! aperiolat@yahoo.com
1/15/04 3:47 PM
alex said...
I love the slipcover - great job. My next project is actually a slip-cover, so I was really glad to see this review, thanks.
1/15/04 5:44 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job!!!! You are very inspirational. I am a bit "chicken" to do this big of a project.
1/15/04 6:52 PM
mClones said...
Great job! Tho' my couch needs it too, I've been too intimidated to do a slipcover. My husband threw the dry clean only cover in the wash and it came out just fine - so I've been saved. However, the goosedown back bolsters are limp. Are you saying I can just slip some batting inside the cover to plump up the pillow? I don't need to attach it to the pillow cover or anything?
1/15/04 7:49 PM
aperiolat said...
mClones--that's what I did with the batting, but it can be difficult to "smooth" out b/c it wants to bunch up on you while you are sliding it in. In your situation, I personally wouldn't want to give up the down softness to 10oz batting. Maybe you can place the batting on the back side(or "inside the down) of the bolsters. That way, you can still have the softness of the down but bulk on the inside to create the volume you want. Just a suggestion :)
1/16/04 10:19 AM
hikeswiss said...
I tried to view your pictures but was unable to access them. I'm beginning a slipcover project on a chair and I would love to see your couch. By the way, I have a PB slipcovered sectional and I'm not happy with the way the slipcovers fit that came with it.
5/7/07 9:29 PM
hikeswiss said...
I tried to view your pictures but was unable to access them.
5/7/07 9:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 09-2004-404
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 2/1/08
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8046 Dress
photo
Review by Carolyn.S on 7/27/10
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us