SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> sofa slipcover 

Viewed 2275 times 
Reviewed by:aperiolat
photo

 
 
About aperiolatstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/16/03
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/15/04 0:13 AM
Last Updated:1/15/04 0:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Liane M said...
Wow! I read that article too. Your slipcover looks fantastic!
1/15/04 6:24 AM
SewingSusan said...
I have always wanted to try this...I read that article too. You have done an amazing job!! It looks like it's from Pottery Barn! (only better)
1/15/04 6:48 AM
Lou. said...
Wow great slip cover!!
1/15/04 6:57 AM
Deepika said...
This is a very nice slipcover. Way better than the store bought ones. A while ago Gorgeous Things(Ann) found herself making a slipcover. After a gruelling few days she swore that she'll never do it again ;-) I bet it must be a great feeling though to make something so useful and pretty for your home.
1/15/04 7:27 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job!!!!!
1/15/04 7:28 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Unable to access your pictures :-( Sounds like a very satisfying finished result.
1/15/04 8:21 AM
amyf said...
Love it! One day when we are ready to slipcover our sofa, I might just do this.
1/15/04 8:23 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Looks terrific!! Way to go!
1/15/04 8:32 AM
Cattgirl said...
Couldn't access the pics this morning. The project sounds like it was well worth the challenge. Can't wait to see the pics!
1/15/04 8:43 AM
aperiolat said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words! It was very satisfying. Doris & Cattgirl--thanks for the info @ not being able to access pictures. I post them on ofoto.com and I believe they have changed something and some people can't access pics. If you want, I can email you my whole sewing album and the pics are in there. Just let me know :)
1/15/04 9:31 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow, great job! I cut out fabric for new cushion covers a few years ago, but I have yet to summon up the energy to finish... Maybe you could put more batting on the cushions to make the covers tighter?
1/15/04 9:32 AM
aperiolat said...
Asa, I may very well just do that soon! Once I can get it in and flat, I'm sure it will make a world of difference :)
1/15/04 9:43 AM
Mollykat said...
Great job! I tried this on an arm chair and gave up! your's looks great and I can tell it was worth the effort.
1/15/04 9:43 AM
Ann C said...
Oh my, how impressive that you actually altered the form of the sofa - a sofa makeover.
1/15/04 10:30 AM
xxx xxx xxx xxx said...
Nice Work............. I sew home interiors from my home based business and I DON'T DO SLIP COVERS!!!!! I figured if a cleaning lady can say she doesn’t do windows I can do the same!!! :) You are so correct about the Pillow project the denim has given you a great decorating canvas. I love doing pillows it opens up fabric choices we would not other wise use and the opportunity to use some fabulous trims beads etc. Check out the websites I linked for some wonderful ideas. Again great job and I am glad it was your project not mine J http://www.calicocorners.com/pillows.asp http://www.waverly.com/ http://www.sewinstuff.com (Mine) – BettyJo
1/15/04 12:06 PM
Linda E. said...
I would really love to see the pictures but I get the following error.. The page you're looking for is not available. Am I doing something wrong.
1/15/04 3:45 PM
aperiolat said...
Linda--you're not doing anything wrong. I use ofoto.com and they seem to be doing something different lately. If you would like, you can give me your email and I will send you the actual album of slipcover pictures. Just let me know! aperiolat@yahoo.com
1/15/04 3:47 PM
alex said...
I love the slipcover - great job. My next project is actually a slip-cover, so I was really glad to see this review, thanks.
1/15/04 5:44 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job!!!! You are very inspirational. I am a bit "chicken" to do this big of a project.
1/15/04 6:52 PM
mClones said...
Great job! Tho' my couch needs it too, I've been too intimidated to do a slipcover. My husband threw the dry clean only cover in the wash and it came out just fine - so I've been saved. However, the goosedown back bolsters are limp. Are you saying I can just slip some batting inside the cover to plump up the pillow? I don't need to attach it to the pillow cover or anything?
1/15/04 7:49 PM
aperiolat said...
mClones--that's what I did with the batting, but it can be difficult to "smooth" out b/c it wants to bunch up on you while you are sliding it in. In your situation, I personally wouldn't want to give up the down softness to 10oz batting. Maybe you can place the batting on the back side(or "inside the down) of the bolsters. That way, you can still have the softness of the down but bulk on the inside to create the volume you want. Just a suggestion :)
1/16/04 10:19 AM
hikeswiss said...
I tried to view your pictures but was unable to access them. I'm beginning a slipcover project on a chair and I would love to see your couch. By the way, I have a PB slipcovered sectional and I'm not happy with the way the slipcovers fit that came with it.
5/7/07 9:29 PM
hikeswiss said...
I tried to view your pictures but was unable to access them.
5/7/07 9:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8408

photo
by: rmusic1

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2012-139

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now