SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8351 (MISSES' DRESS)

9 more reviews
Viewed 506 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Beautifully made, and you look great in it!
8/4/09 5:12 PM
Raye Ann said...
very nice! this looks great. congratulations on your first wearable knit!
8/4/09 7:26 PM
Gelbean said...
Lovely dress. I like the combo of the gathers at the empire waist and the cowl neck. It looks wonderful on you.
8/4/09 7:44 PM
persevering said...
Glad you are happy with this dress - it is beautiful, well-fitted and it is really nice to see you smiling confidently in it. Just a suggestion: Couldn't you just use a couple of tiny safety pins and pin it to your bra appropriately?
8/4/09 7:54 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I never gave this dress a second look, even though I was searching for a cowl neck pattern yesterday. Yours turned out lovely, I'll have to go get this
8/5/09 4:35 AM
becca a said...
Beautiful dress! As a petite, I need to take out some length between bust and shoulders to prevent necklines being too low; perhaps this alteration would help you.
8/5/09 10:17 AM
vivianna said...
Lovely dress-I need to jump in and try knits now.
8/5/09 1:17 PM
ggf2005 said...
great looking dress. here's a hint that i learned from one the sewing magazines when sewing knits, use tissue paper to cover the seam allowances and sew on the paper, no slipping and it really cuts down on the fabric stretching.
8/5/09 2:11 PM
AprilLynn said...
I am no fit expert, but i'm wondering if you have a high right hip? I recently got the book "Fit for real People" and in that you do a body map. You will discover all sorts of things about your body and how proportionate it is. In your review you said you have ordered the book, so I hope it will help you out. I really like it. The dress looks beautiful on you! love your backdrop!
8/5/09 2:47 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is a great dress!! a TNT for me. I just throw it on all summer! the neckline on the scoopneck just sits so beautifully.
8/5/09 3:28 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the lovely comments, tips and ideas! I've never considered if my hips are uneven; my shoulders are, so this may be a cause / effect... I will look out for this when The Perfect Fit book arrives!
8/5/09 4:57 PM
nglalala said...
Your dress is beautiful! Great job!
2/5/10 6:35 PM
janella said...
Your gathering looks really great! Good job on the dress and I'll try your tip about interfacing the back facing - I agree, understitching is not enough.
8/9/10 5:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1170

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review
New Look 6030

photo
by: twilltape

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now