Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8351 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 504 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 4:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Beautifully made, and you look great in it!
8/4/09 5:12 PM
Raye Ann said...
very nice! this looks great. congratulations on your first wearable knit!
8/4/09 7:26 PM
Gelbean said...
Lovely dress. I like the combo of the gathers at the empire waist and the cowl neck. It looks wonderful on you.
8/4/09 7:44 PM
persevering said...
Glad you are happy with this dress - it is beautiful, well-fitted and it is really nice to see you smiling confidently in it. Just a suggestion: Couldn't you just use a couple of tiny safety pins and pin it to your bra appropriately?
8/4/09 7:54 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I never gave this dress a second look, even though I was searching for a cowl neck pattern yesterday. Yours turned out lovely, I'll have to go get this
8/5/09 4:35 AM
becca a said...
Beautiful dress! As a petite, I need to take out some length between bust and shoulders to prevent necklines being too low; perhaps this alteration would help you.
8/5/09 10:17 AM
vivianna said...
Lovely dress-I need to jump in and try knits now.
8/5/09 1:17 PM
ggf2005 said...
great looking dress. here's a hint that i learned from one the sewing magazines when sewing knits, use tissue paper to cover the seam allowances and sew on the paper, no slipping and it really cuts down on the fabric stretching.
8/5/09 2:11 PM
AprilLynn said...
I am no fit expert, but i'm wondering if you have a high right hip? I recently got the book "Fit for real People" and in that you do a body map. You will discover all sorts of things about your body and how proportionate it is. In your review you said you have ordered the book, so I hope it will help you out. I really like it. The dress looks beautiful on you! love your backdrop!
8/5/09 2:47 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is a great dress!! a TNT for me. I just throw it on all summer! the neckline on the scoopneck just sits so beautifully.
8/5/09 3:28 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the lovely comments, tips and ideas! I've never considered if my hips are uneven; my shoulders are, so this may be a cause / effect... I will look out for this when The Perfect Fit book arrives!
8/5/09 4:57 PM
nglalala said...
Your dress is beautiful! Great job!
2/5/10 6:35 PM
janella said...
Your gathering looks really great! Good job on the dress and I'll try your tip about interfacing the back facing - I agree, understitching is not enough.
8/9/10 5:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B
photo
Review by dillyo on 1/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2559
photo
Review by cegehin on 10/31/12
Read Review

New Look 6932 Pattern
New Look 6932 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us