SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8351 (MISSES' DRESS)

9 more reviews
Viewed 506 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 4:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
janella said...
Your gathering looks really great! Good job on the dress and I'll try your tip about interfacing the back facing - I agree, understitching is not enough.
8/9/10 5:03 AM
nglalala said...
Your dress is beautiful! Great job!
2/5/10 6:35 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the lovely comments, tips and ideas! I've never considered if my hips are uneven; my shoulders are, so this may be a cause / effect... I will look out for this when The Perfect Fit book arrives!
8/5/09 4:57 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is a great dress!! a TNT for me. I just throw it on all summer! the neckline on the scoopneck just sits so beautifully.
8/5/09 3:28 PM
AprilLynn said...
I am no fit expert, but i'm wondering if you have a high right hip? I recently got the book "Fit for real People" and in that you do a body map. You will discover all sorts of things about your body and how proportionate it is. In your review you said you have ordered the book, so I hope it will help you out. I really like it. The dress looks beautiful on you! love your backdrop!
8/5/09 2:47 PM
ggf2005 said...
great looking dress. here's a hint that i learned from one the sewing magazines when sewing knits, use tissue paper to cover the seam allowances and sew on the paper, no slipping and it really cuts down on the fabric stretching.
8/5/09 2:11 PM
vivianna said...
Lovely dress-I need to jump in and try knits now.
8/5/09 1:17 PM
becca a said...
Beautiful dress! As a petite, I need to take out some length between bust and shoulders to prevent necklines being too low; perhaps this alteration would help you.
8/5/09 10:17 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I never gave this dress a second look, even though I was searching for a cowl neck pattern yesterday. Yours turned out lovely, I'll have to go get this
8/5/09 4:35 AM
persevering said...
Glad you are happy with this dress - it is beautiful, well-fitted and it is really nice to see you smiling confidently in it. Just a suggestion: Couldn't you just use a couple of tiny safety pins and pin it to your bra appropriately?
8/4/09 7:54 PM
Gelbean said...
Lovely dress. I like the combo of the gathers at the empire waist and the cowl neck. It looks wonderful on you.
8/4/09 7:44 PM
Raye Ann said...
very nice! this looks great. congratulations on your first wearable knit!
8/4/09 7:26 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully made, and you look great in it!
8/4/09 5:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

New Look 6119

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
PR Member's Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

More Info
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

More Info