SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-113 (Knit Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 717 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 160 people
patterns reviewed: 184
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/09 7:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sici said...
Thanks for your review. I bought non-strech velvet for this. My first time dealing with this fabric - Such a pain starting from tracing the pattern on it. It's so slippery that the pattern lines just kept on 'moving' around. I just finished cutting after 3 days hard work. When I place the paper pattern on the fabric pieces, the lines never match! Gave up on this - so i'll just continue to sew it. Looking at your tips and hopefully I can finish it.
8/22/09 3:45 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
oops, duplicated post.
8/11/09 8:26 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
Okay, I kind of like the "muffin top" on this style, it adds to the casual-ness of the dress. Did you do the zipper? Was it necessary and the whole 16" of it? Or would a 7-9" do ok?
8/11/09 8:06 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, thank you for pointing me to the crush velvet video. I love this dress on you. Actually you have made the dress pattern more appealing than it was just looking at it on the model and the drawing.
8/8/09 8:02 AM
eugenia123 said...
I loved this style when I saw it in the magazine and your version is really inspiring - it looks fabulous. Thanks for great review.
8/5/09 6:18 AM
Barbara V said...
Your stretch velvet dress is gorgeous. Looks like a wonderful pattern as well even though the directions are confusing.
8/4/09 9:55 PM
wzrdreams said...
OOOOOh! I just bought some gorgeous silk crushed velvet for another dress pattern, but now I might have to trace this one also. Thanks for making my decision so hard! :)
8/4/09 2:12 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous, I can't wait to make it after seeing your photo, so effortlessly chic.
8/4/09 7:36 AM
nellc said...
Love this dress, please don't alter the blousing on the bodice, it's a great look on your slender figure.
8/3/09 3:45 PM
Eme said...
I love the blouson style of the bodice! I think you're probably just not used to this silhouette, but as you're fit and thin, it's very flattering on you (and clearly NOT muffin top! LOL)
8/3/09 11:08 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute dress! I overlooked this one but think it is very cute after seeing yours.
8/3/09 10:55 AM
crisford said...
Lovely, and rich! I love the creases in the velvet; they add lots of detail. This looks awesome one you!
8/3/09 10:45 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous dress that looks wonderful on you.
8/3/09 7:37 AM
Elke said...
I like the style of this dress and it looks lovely on you!
8/3/09 7:25 AM
trinicity said...
its a classic piece and it looks stunning, thanks for sharing the review
8/3/09 6:49 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute dress, can't wait for August BWOF to arrive.
8/3/09 2:44 AM
Athene said...
A very pretty dress and you look fabulous in it. I really like the style of the dress on you - I hope you don't modify it - a very hot look in a sophisticated way.
8/3/09 0:58 AM
Raye Ann said...
this is VERY pretty. i am sure, given the fabric, that is it very comfy as well. love the distressing tips! i have some dark green stretch velvet that looked so beautiful in the store, but now looks so plain... I will definately crush it:)
8/2/09 9:37 PM
persevering said...
What a sophisticated lovely dress! And it suits you so well. Thanks for your detailed information on this review.
8/2/09 9:35 PM
Jali said...
This is really, really lovely! The fabric you used is just perfect for the dress. You look great!
8/2/09 7:31 PM
Karen6790 said...
What do you do, hypnotize the kids so you can sew? Great dress, and I love your DIY velvet-distressing.
8/2/09 7:25 PM
crazygrad said...
Ooh la la! Very pretty!
8/2/09 7:10 PM
dbsewer said...
love, love, love this dress and the fabric. This is on my list of projects from this issue, which is a real winner IMHO. Burda instructions often don't make much sense so thank you for the construction details.
8/2/09 7:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's 5927

photo
by: valerie se...

Review
Simplicity 2181

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

More Info