SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-113 (Knit Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 713 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/09 7:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
love, love, love this dress and the fabric. This is on my list of projects from this issue, which is a real winner IMHO. Burda instructions often don't make much sense so thank you for the construction details.
8/2/09 7:07 PM
crazygrad said...
Ooh la la! Very pretty!
8/2/09 7:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
What do you do, hypnotize the kids so you can sew? Great dress, and I love your DIY velvet-distressing.
8/2/09 7:25 PM
Jali said...
This is really, really lovely! The fabric you used is just perfect for the dress. You look great!
8/2/09 7:31 PM
persevering said...
What a sophisticated lovely dress! And it suits you so well. Thanks for your detailed information on this review.
8/2/09 9:35 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is VERY pretty. i am sure, given the fabric, that is it very comfy as well. love the distressing tips! i have some dark green stretch velvet that looked so beautiful in the store, but now looks so plain... I will definately crush it:)
8/2/09 9:37 PM
Athene said...
A very pretty dress and you look fabulous in it. I really like the style of the dress on you - I hope you don't modify it - a very hot look in a sophisticated way.
8/3/09 0:58 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute dress, can't wait for August BWOF to arrive.
8/3/09 2:44 AM
trinicity said...
its a classic piece and it looks stunning, thanks for sharing the review
8/3/09 6:49 AM
Elke said...
I like the style of this dress and it looks lovely on you!
8/3/09 7:25 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous dress that looks wonderful on you.
8/3/09 7:37 AM
crisford said...
Lovely, and rich! I love the creases in the velvet; they add lots of detail. This looks awesome one you!
8/3/09 10:45 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute dress! I overlooked this one but think it is very cute after seeing yours.
8/3/09 10:55 AM
Eme said...
I love the blouson style of the bodice! I think you're probably just not used to this silhouette, but as you're fit and thin, it's very flattering on you (and clearly NOT muffin top! LOL)
8/3/09 11:08 AM
nellc said...
Love this dress, please don't alter the blousing on the bodice, it's a great look on your slender figure.
8/3/09 3:45 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous, I can't wait to make it after seeing your photo, so effortlessly chic.
8/4/09 7:36 AM
wzrdreams said...
OOOOOh! I just bought some gorgeous silk crushed velvet for another dress pattern, but now I might have to trace this one also. Thanks for making my decision so hard! :)
8/4/09 2:12 PM
Barbara V said...
Your stretch velvet dress is gorgeous. Looks like a wonderful pattern as well even though the directions are confusing.
8/4/09 9:55 PM
eugenia123 said...
I loved this style when I saw it in the magazine and your version is really inspiring - it looks fabulous. Thanks for great review.
8/5/09 6:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, thank you for pointing me to the crush velvet video. I love this dress on you. Actually you have made the dress pattern more appealing than it was just looking at it on the model and the drawing.
8/8/09 8:02 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
Okay, I kind of like the "muffin top" on this style, it adds to the casual-ness of the dress. Did you do the zipper? Was it necessary and the whole 16" of it? Or would a 7-9" do ok?
8/11/09 8:06 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
oops, duplicated post.
8/11/09 8:26 PM
Sici said...
Thanks for your review. I bought non-strech velvet for this. My first time dealing with this fabric - Such a pain starting from tracing the pattern on it. It's so slippery that the pattern lines just kept on 'moving' around. I just finished cutting after 3 days hard work. When I place the paper pattern on the fabric pieces, the lines never match! Gave up on this - so i'll just continue to sew it. Looking at your tips and hopefully I can finish it.
8/22/09 3:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 5720

photo
by: katlew03

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: clothingen...

Review