Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2009-113 (Knit Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 711 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/09 7:00 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
love, love, love this dress and the fabric. This is on my list of projects from this issue, which is a real winner IMHO. Burda instructions often don't make much sense so thank you for the construction details.
8/2/09 7:07 PM
crazygrad said...
Ooh la la! Very pretty!
8/2/09 7:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
What do you do, hypnotize the kids so you can sew? Great dress, and I love your DIY velvet-distressing.
8/2/09 7:25 PM
Jali said...
This is really, really lovely! The fabric you used is just perfect for the dress. You look great!
8/2/09 7:31 PM
persevering said...
What a sophisticated lovely dress! And it suits you so well. Thanks for your detailed information on this review.
8/2/09 9:35 PM
Raye Ann said...
this is VERY pretty. i am sure, given the fabric, that is it very comfy as well. love the distressing tips! i have some dark green stretch velvet that looked so beautiful in the store, but now looks so plain... I will definately crush it:)
8/2/09 9:37 PM
Athene said...
A very pretty dress and you look fabulous in it. I really like the style of the dress on you - I hope you don't modify it - a very hot look in a sophisticated way.
8/3/09 0:58 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute dress, can't wait for August BWOF to arrive.
8/3/09 2:44 AM
trinicity said...
its a classic piece and it looks stunning, thanks for sharing the review
8/3/09 6:49 AM
Elke said...
I like the style of this dress and it looks lovely on you!
8/3/09 7:25 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous dress that looks wonderful on you.
8/3/09 7:37 AM
crisford said...
Lovely, and rich! I love the creases in the velvet; they add lots of detail. This looks awesome one you!
8/3/09 10:45 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Cute dress! I overlooked this one but think it is very cute after seeing yours.
8/3/09 10:55 AM
Eme said...
I love the blouson style of the bodice! I think you're probably just not used to this silhouette, but as you're fit and thin, it's very flattering on you (and clearly NOT muffin top! LOL)
8/3/09 11:08 AM
nellc said...
Love this dress, please don't alter the blousing on the bodice, it's a great look on your slender figure.
8/3/09 3:45 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous, I can't wait to make it after seeing your photo, so effortlessly chic.
8/4/09 7:36 AM
wzrdreams said...
OOOOOh! I just bought some gorgeous silk crushed velvet for another dress pattern, but now I might have to trace this one also. Thanks for making my decision so hard! :)
8/4/09 2:12 PM
Barbara V said...
Your stretch velvet dress is gorgeous. Looks like a wonderful pattern as well even though the directions are confusing.
8/4/09 9:55 PM
eugenia123 said...
I loved this style when I saw it in the magazine and your version is really inspiring - it looks fabulous. Thanks for great review.
8/5/09 6:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, thank you for pointing me to the crush velvet video. I love this dress on you. Actually you have made the dress pattern more appealing than it was just looking at it on the model and the drawing.
8/8/09 8:02 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
Okay, I kind of like the "muffin top" on this style, it adds to the casual-ness of the dress. Did you do the zipper? Was it necessary and the whole 16" of it? Or would a 7-9" do ok?
8/11/09 8:06 PM
BeeBeeSew said...
oops, duplicated post.
8/11/09 8:26 PM
Sici said...
Thanks for your review. I bought non-strech velvet for this. My first time dealing with this fabric - Such a pain starting from tracing the pattern on it. It's so slippery that the pattern lines just kept on 'moving' around. I just finished cutting after 3 days hard work. When I place the paper pattern on the fabric pieces, the lines never match! Gave up on this - so i'll just continue to sew it. Looking at your tips and hopefully I can finish it.
8/22/09 3:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Pin-up Girls PB-3200
photo
Review by Ros B. on 8/9/13
Read Review

Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8630 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1916 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6026 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by LizzieInBr... on 10/14/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us