SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4244 (Victorian Bridal Gown)

1 more reviews
Viewed 369 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/3/09 4:51 PM
Last Updated:8/3/09 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Beautiful gown. Thanks for the link with all the details. You did a wonderful job constructing this difficult but unusual and gorgeous dress.
8/3/09 4:56 PM
MHW said...
Absolutely fantastic review - thanks! I think I'd have nightmares if I had to work with that beautiful slippery fabric. Wonderful job!
8/3/09 5:49 PM
MCBurbage said...
Did you do all the decoration and elaborate hemming the first time you made this pattern up?
8/3/09 6:25 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely gown but what a huge effort.
8/3/09 6:33 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I truly enjoyed your photo/story of making this gown... I admire your patience with difficult fabric... Nifty dress too!
8/3/09 8:14 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Wow! I'm sure your client is thrilled- what a lot of work for you! I'd love to see the original pattern, for comparison.
8/4/09 0:44 AM
rosewood39 said...
I think that fabric would make me go crazy, slippery fabrics hate me :) Good job.
8/4/09 8:32 PM
timetravelcostumes said...
McBurbage - the first time, I did some of the elaborate trim, but not all of it. I don't have a pleating machine so I changed the hem trim. However, I plan to make this again in the next year and do it perfectly according to the original instructions (so I guess I have to buy a pleater before I do that).
8/6/09 11:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1087

photo
by: Kim12469

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-101

photo
by: tigergirl

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now