Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2009-114 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 520 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 12:39 PM
Last Updated:8/4/09 12:40 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Congratulations! Your jacket fits well and looks great!
8/4/09 2:11 PM
AnneM said...
Looks like it goes to me! Runway fashion? No. Wearable in the office, out shopping, or visiting a friend? Yes.
8/4/09 2:20 PM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review! I was so excited to see this pattern included after seeing RTW sweatshirt and jersey tailored jackets all over the high street, so it's great to know the pattern is a good one.
8/4/09 2:23 PM
Jane S said...
I think this is definitely a keeper. I too like some structure in casual, every day jackets and enjoy seeing your finished result as well as reading the boards. Thanks!
8/4/09 5:49 PM
RuthieSews said...
I think its really nice. And whilst fleece is never going to be high fashion I think this is like wearing ballet flats instead of athletic shoes - comfortable but up a notch.
8/4/09 6:36 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really cute! jw
8/4/09 6:57 PM
Gelbean said...
Great jacket. I love that it is made of fleece.
8/4/09 7:53 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Taking out extra ease in the sleeve cap won't necessarily take out too much sleeve length. You can make the cap narrower as well as shorter, and that'll take length out of it. You don't have to undo anything but the top sleeve from notch to notch. No point in living with something that irks you :-). But personally I really like that jacket. I tend to make all my fleeces from easy Burdas, and while I may look a bit odd in the mountains sometimes I think it looks a whole lot better everywhere else, and so I use my fleeces more because they look better for daily life..
8/5/09 5:11 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind feedback. I really appreciate your comments. Fuzzygalore, when I tried pinning the sleeve in without all the extra, I ended up shortening the cap and thus the length. It never occurred to me to narrow the cap. I think I will leave it for this jacket, but keep in mind for next time. Thanks for your advice.
8/5/09 10:34 AM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice jacket! I'd say you've taken fleece up a notch. :o)
8/6/09 0:46 AM
quathy said...
This is great! I was wondering how it would look, thinking also that sweatshirt fleece would be rather dumpy. But you've proved otherwise! Very cute jacket!
8/8/09 0:15 AM
Michelle L said...
Great jacket, it looks like a very versatile piece, and super-comfy!
8/21/09 12:55 PM
donna mel said...
thanks for your review and for all of the photos. i am going to give it a whirl, in a knit - to go with jeans.
5/4/10 6:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Jalie 2682 Women's Tops
photo
Review by lynne1nor on 2/16/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Little Gentelman Suit Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8287
photo
Review by leanmeanse... on 10/17/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
McCalls 6812 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6504 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us