SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-114 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 532 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 12:39 PM
Last Updated:8/4/09 12:40 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Congratulations! Your jacket fits well and looks great!
8/4/09 2:11 PM
AnneM said...
Looks like it goes to me! Runway fashion? No. Wearable in the office, out shopping, or visiting a friend? Yes.
8/4/09 2:20 PM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review! I was so excited to see this pattern included after seeing RTW sweatshirt and jersey tailored jackets all over the high street, so it's great to know the pattern is a good one.
8/4/09 2:23 PM
Jane S said...
I think this is definitely a keeper. I too like some structure in casual, every day jackets and enjoy seeing your finished result as well as reading the boards. Thanks!
8/4/09 5:49 PM
RuthieSews said...
I think its really nice. And whilst fleece is never going to be high fashion I think this is like wearing ballet flats instead of athletic shoes - comfortable but up a notch.
8/4/09 6:36 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is really cute! jw
8/4/09 6:57 PM
Gelbean said...
Great jacket. I love that it is made of fleece.
8/4/09 7:53 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Taking out extra ease in the sleeve cap won't necessarily take out too much sleeve length. You can make the cap narrower as well as shorter, and that'll take length out of it. You don't have to undo anything but the top sleeve from notch to notch. No point in living with something that irks you :-). But personally I really like that jacket. I tend to make all my fleeces from easy Burdas, and while I may look a bit odd in the mountains sometimes I think it looks a whole lot better everywhere else, and so I use my fleeces more because they look better for daily life..
8/5/09 5:11 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind feedback. I really appreciate your comments. Fuzzygalore, when I tried pinning the sleeve in without all the extra, I ended up shortening the cap and thus the length. It never occurred to me to narrow the cap. I think I will leave it for this jacket, but keep in mind for next time. Thanks for your advice.
8/5/09 10:34 AM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice jacket! I'd say you've taken fleece up a notch. :o)
8/6/09 0:46 AM
quathy said...
This is great! I was wondering how it would look, thinking also that sweatshirt fleece would be rather dumpy. But you've proved otherwise! Very cute jacket!
8/8/09 0:15 AM
Michelle L said...
Great jacket, it looks like a very versatile piece, and super-comfy!
8/21/09 12:55 PM
donna mel said...
thanks for your review and for all of the photos. i am going to give it a whirl, in a knit - to go with jeans.
5/4/10 6:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick B4686

photo
by: rivergum

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1127

photo
by: Sewtox

Review