SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-114 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 540 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 12:39 PM
Last Updated:8/4/09 12:40 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
donna mel said... (5/4/10 6:45 PM) Reply
thanks for your review and for all of the photos. i am going to give it a whirl, in a knit - to go with jeans.
Michelle L said... (8/21/09 12:55 PM) Reply
Great jacket, it looks like a very versatile piece, and super-comfy!
quathy said... (8/8/09 0:15 AM) Reply
This is great! I was wondering how it would look, thinking also that sweatshirt fleece would be rather dumpy. But you've proved otherwise! Very cute jacket!
Annette1 said... (8/6/09 0:46 AM) Reply
VERY nice jacket! I'd say you've taken fleece up a notch. :o)
becca a said... (8/5/09 10:34 AM) Reply
Thank you all for your kind feedback. I really appreciate your comments. Fuzzygalore, when I tried pinning the sleeve in without all the extra, I ended up shortening the cap and thus the length. It never occurred to me to narrow the cap. I think I will leave it for this jacket, but keep in mind for next time. Thanks for your advice.
fuzzygalore said... (8/5/09 5:11 AM) Reply
Taking out extra ease in the sleeve cap won't necessarily take out too much sleeve length. You can make the cap narrower as well as shorter, and that'll take length out of it. You don't have to undo anything but the top sleeve from notch to notch. No point in living with something that irks you :-). But personally I really like that jacket. I tend to make all my fleeces from easy Burdas, and while I may look a bit odd in the mountains sometimes I think it looks a whole lot better everywhere else, and so I use my fleeces more because they look better for daily life..
Gelbean said... (8/4/09 7:53 PM) Reply
Great jacket. I love that it is made of fleece.
Judy Wentz said... (8/4/09 6:57 PM) Reply
This is really cute! jw
RuthieSews said... (8/4/09 6:36 PM) Reply
I think its really nice. And whilst fleece is never going to be high fashion I think this is like wearing ballet flats instead of athletic shoes - comfortable but up a notch.
Jane S said... (8/4/09 5:49 PM) Reply
I think this is definitely a keeper. I too like some structure in casual, every day jackets and enjoy seeing your finished result as well as reading the boards. Thanks!
squirrellypoo said... (8/4/09 2:23 PM) Reply
thanks for the review! I was so excited to see this pattern included after seeing RTW sweatshirt and jersey tailored jackets all over the high street, so it's great to know the pattern is a good one.
AnneM said... (8/4/09 2:20 PM) Reply
Looks like it goes to me! Runway fashion? No. Wearable in the office, out shopping, or visiting a friend? Yes.
persevering said... (8/4/09 2:11 PM) Reply
Congratulations! Your jacket fits well and looks great!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: STARG

Review
Simplicity 1370

photo
by: chuichoy

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Pattern Details