SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7767 (Mens shirt top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 576 times 
Reviewed by:tinaSA
photo

 
 
About tinaSAstar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 8/29/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 3:31 PM
Last Updated:8/21/09 9:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathyBKnits said...
Thanks! Very helpful information!
8/4/09 5:32 PM
becca a said...
Very helpful review!
8/5/09 10:40 AM
Elona said...
The shirt sounds as though it's beautiful; certainly your choice of fabric and construction techniques are terrific--and I'd really love to see them. But the "project photo" is not clickable, and the details simply cannot be seen without that or a link to a photo somewhere else on the web. Could you supply us with a clickable pic, pretty please?
8/17/09 4:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ditto Elona's comments... I would love to see the details. We are all voyeurs here it would seem... Shirt looks great, even in miniature. Thanks for sharing.
8/17/09 9:40 AM
CynthiaSue said...
love it, can you make it so we can click on the picture?? It looks amazing and I want to make one for my husband!
8/17/09 11:04 AM
tinaSA said...
Hi, I'm still a newbie at posting reviews, am trying to make the photo clickable...
8/21/09 9:47 AM
Elona said...
You fixed it! I can click the photo, and it's a beautiful, classic-looking shirt! Nice job, and I bet your dh is just delighted with it.
8/21/09 10:49 AM
Terri A said...
Great fit on him. Nice job. My husband also needs an athletic tapering at the waist... Thanks for the review.
8/21/09 11:37 AM
Peter in NYC said...
I love your photo album -- thanks for posting it! As someone who makes mens shirts, this is SO helpful. I really appreciate all the details about creating seams in particular. The collar looks fantastic and your stitches are beautiful. What kind of thread did you use for this shirt, by the way. Great job!
8/21/09 11:43 AM
Peter in NYC said...

8/21/09 11:44 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Whoops -- didn't mean to re-post. Sorry!
8/21/09 11:44 AM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. I love it!
8/21/09 5:42 PM
rachel5000 said...
I love this shirt. Through the years shirts have become my absolute favorite garment to sew. You did an EXCELLENT JOB!!! Rachel
8/22/09 4:04 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent review -- thanks! Beautiful shirt.
8/22/09 7:34 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks for all the positive feedback! Peter, I used Mettler 100% cotton embroidery thread instead of my usual Mettler 100% Silk Finish sewing thread (wouldn't have tried this if I hadn't read about it in David Page Coffin's book). I found it made the topstitching look much better. I chose a medium grey - best match for the khaki.
8/23/09 3:34 PM
sofietje said...
I think the photo (even with the wrinkles) is a big compliment. It looks like your husband enjoys wearing the shirt.
8/23/09 4:09 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks sofietje, he loves the shirt! The feel of the linen is very different from ordinary cotton shirts. I'm planning to make more - I'm sure they'll be cool in our hot humid summer weather.
8/25/09 3:24 PM
Andys Mom said...
One comment I have on Burda Patterns is that the pocket always seems high. What was your opinion on pocket placement?
10/13/09 10:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Very helpful review, thanks.
12/30/11 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Kwik Sew 1812

photo
by: dove29

Review
Butterick 4986

photo
by: wildberrym...

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now