SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7767 (Mens shirt top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 577 times 
Reviewed by:tinaSA
photo

 
 
About tinaSAstar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 8/29/08
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 3:31 PM
Last Updated:8/21/09 9:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Very helpful review, thanks.
12/30/11 4:55 PM
Andys Mom said...
One comment I have on Burda Patterns is that the pocket always seems high. What was your opinion on pocket placement?
10/13/09 10:02 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks sofietje, he loves the shirt! The feel of the linen is very different from ordinary cotton shirts. I'm planning to make more - I'm sure they'll be cool in our hot humid summer weather.
8/25/09 3:24 PM
sofietje said...
I think the photo (even with the wrinkles) is a big compliment. It looks like your husband enjoys wearing the shirt.
8/23/09 4:09 PM
tinaSA said...
Thanks for all the positive feedback! Peter, I used Mettler 100% cotton embroidery thread instead of my usual Mettler 100% Silk Finish sewing thread (wouldn't have tried this if I hadn't read about it in David Page Coffin's book). I found it made the topstitching look much better. I chose a medium grey - best match for the khaki.
8/23/09 3:34 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Excellent review -- thanks! Beautiful shirt.
8/22/09 7:34 PM
rachel5000 said...
I love this shirt. Through the years shirts have become my absolute favorite garment to sew. You did an EXCELLENT JOB!!! Rachel
8/22/09 4:04 AM
FreyaStark said...
Well done. I love it!
8/21/09 5:42 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Whoops -- didn't mean to re-post. Sorry!
8/21/09 11:44 AM
Peter in NYC said...

8/21/09 11:44 AM
Peter in NYC said...
I love your photo album -- thanks for posting it! As someone who makes mens shirts, this is SO helpful. I really appreciate all the details about creating seams in particular. The collar looks fantastic and your stitches are beautiful. What kind of thread did you use for this shirt, by the way. Great job!
8/21/09 11:43 AM
Terri A said...
Great fit on him. Nice job. My husband also needs an athletic tapering at the waist... Thanks for the review.
8/21/09 11:37 AM
Elona said...
You fixed it! I can click the photo, and it's a beautiful, classic-looking shirt! Nice job, and I bet your dh is just delighted with it.
8/21/09 10:49 AM
tinaSA said...
Hi, I'm still a newbie at posting reviews, am trying to make the photo clickable...
8/21/09 9:47 AM
CynthiaSue said...
love it, can you make it so we can click on the picture?? It looks amazing and I want to make one for my husband!
8/17/09 11:04 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Ditto Elona's comments... I would love to see the details. We are all voyeurs here it would seem... Shirt looks great, even in miniature. Thanks for sharing.
8/17/09 9:40 AM
Elona said...
The shirt sounds as though it's beautiful; certainly your choice of fabric and construction techniques are terrific--and I'd really love to see them. But the "project photo" is not clickable, and the details simply cannot be seen without that or a link to a photo somewhere else on the web. Could you supply us with a clickable pic, pretty please?
8/17/09 4:07 AM
becca a said...
Very helpful review!
8/5/09 10:40 AM
KathyBKnits said...
Thanks! Very helpful information!
8/4/09 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Colette Patterns Taffy

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns V8633

photo
by: wizechyld

Review