Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-112 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 464 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo
Friend of PR
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 10:01 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Looks great!
8/4/09 10:21 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket, you did an amazing job.
8/4/09 10:22 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is BEAU-TI-FUL!!!! I really love the color , the buttons and the topstitiching is superb! Thanks for the review.
8/4/09 10:26 PM
sew2little said...
The pics on your blog show how beautiful your workwomanship is! Now the weather just needs to hurry up and get cool, so you can strut this great trench!
8/4/09 11:53 PM
arianamaniacs said...
This is mega-awesome! I bet you get a ton of compliments when you wear it
8/5/09 4:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, it's difficult to have the facing meet the bottom hem cleanly without some form of stabilizing.. Especially in sort of lightweight, stretchy fabric as this one. And I think what your back would have needed most would have been a little looseness, not really more petiting. Just because you can fit something within an inch of your skin doesn't mean you should :-). Yes some waist shaping is good, especially if you're not tall and anorexic, but too much waist shaping is imho what can slide into the hunchback impression. Not to mention that in LA you could reasonably expect to be wearing a bit of sweater underneath if you're in need of rain gear. Now do keep in mind that this looks utterly fabulous overall :-). The color is to die for, the fit much better than anything anyone could buy, your attention to topstitching pays off handsomely. I'm drooling with envy.
8/5/09 4:59 AM
ITAdmin said...
Neat jacket! I love the style and color; it looks good with the brown pants.
8/5/09 7:13 AM
Karine said...
Love the jacket! The color is beautiful, and I especially like the contrasting lining. Thanks for the tip on the papertowel buttonhole! You really did a professional job with this, and I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing the jacket at lot!
8/5/09 7:32 AM
becca a said...
I love your jacket! It has great details and is such a cheerful color. Thank you for the detailed review and the tip about paper towel buttonholes. I will have to try this.
8/5/09 10:51 AM
Elke said...
This is a great looking jacket. I really like the details too!
8/5/09 11:23 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Fabulous jacket! It looks great on you!
8/5/09 1:52 PM
Marlene J said...
OH!!! Very cute jacket!! And you did a great job, it looks very rtw. You have inspired me. I'll need to get my February issue out again. I hope mine turns out as cute as yours.
8/5/09 2:10 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is just fabulous. it looks so good on you. The time you spent topstitching definitely makes it look high end store bought for sure!! i so want to make this!!
8/5/09 3:23 PM
RLL said...
This is just gorgeous. I love yellow and unfortunately can't wear it myself....Probably why I love it. Anyway, you did a beautiful job with the topstitching. Wear it proudly!
8/5/09 5:07 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Now I'm just hating....this is an amazing job!!!! Color, style, everything. Love it.
8/5/09 6:38 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket--especially the color! I am actually planning to make a short trenchcoat jacket in a yellow fabric. Nice job!
8/5/09 8:27 PM
Anniinbc said...
You inspire me to try sewing a jacket - It looks great on you.
8/5/09 11:37 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this jacket and it looks great on you. Burda's pockets are always tiny, I've got in the habit of redrafting them as standard.
8/6/09 4:03 AM
HLT said...
This is so beautiful. Your details are outstanding!!
12/2/09 1:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 6292
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 2/2/11
Read Review

Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5985 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5985 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5032
photo
Review by lillibet on 4/16/14
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us