SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-112 

1 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo

 
 
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 10:01 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Looks great!
8/4/09 10:21 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket, you did an amazing job.
8/4/09 10:22 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is BEAU-TI-FUL!!!! I really love the color , the buttons and the topstitiching is superb! Thanks for the review.
8/4/09 10:26 PM
sew2little said...
The pics on your blog show how beautiful your workwomanship is! Now the weather just needs to hurry up and get cool, so you can strut this great trench!
8/4/09 11:53 PM
arianamaniacs said...
This is mega-awesome! I bet you get a ton of compliments when you wear it
8/5/09 4:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, it's difficult to have the facing meet the bottom hem cleanly without some form of stabilizing.. Especially in sort of lightweight, stretchy fabric as this one. And I think what your back would have needed most would have been a little looseness, not really more petiting. Just because you can fit something within an inch of your skin doesn't mean you should :-). Yes some waist shaping is good, especially if you're not tall and anorexic, but too much waist shaping is imho what can slide into the hunchback impression. Not to mention that in LA you could reasonably expect to be wearing a bit of sweater underneath if you're in need of rain gear. Now do keep in mind that this looks utterly fabulous overall :-). The color is to die for, the fit much better than anything anyone could buy, your attention to topstitching pays off handsomely. I'm drooling with envy.
8/5/09 4:59 AM
ITAdmin said...
Neat jacket! I love the style and color; it looks good with the brown pants.
8/5/09 7:13 AM
Karine said...
Love the jacket! The color is beautiful, and I especially like the contrasting lining. Thanks for the tip on the papertowel buttonhole! You really did a professional job with this, and I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing the jacket at lot!
8/5/09 7:32 AM
becca a said...
I love your jacket! It has great details and is such a cheerful color. Thank you for the detailed review and the tip about paper towel buttonholes. I will have to try this.
8/5/09 10:51 AM
Elke said...
This is a great looking jacket. I really like the details too!
8/5/09 11:23 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Fabulous jacket! It looks great on you!
8/5/09 1:52 PM
Marlene J said...
OH!!! Very cute jacket!! And you did a great job, it looks very rtw. You have inspired me. I'll need to get my February issue out again. I hope mine turns out as cute as yours.
8/5/09 2:10 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is just fabulous. it looks so good on you. The time you spent topstitching definitely makes it look high end store bought for sure!! i so want to make this!!
8/5/09 3:23 PM
RLL said...
This is just gorgeous. I love yellow and unfortunately can't wear it myself....Probably why I love it. Anyway, you did a beautiful job with the topstitching. Wear it proudly!
8/5/09 5:07 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Now I'm just hating....this is an amazing job!!!! Color, style, everything. Love it.
8/5/09 6:38 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket--especially the color! I am actually planning to make a short trenchcoat jacket in a yellow fabric. Nice job!
8/5/09 8:27 PM
Anniinbc said...
You inspire me to try sewing a jacket - It looks great on you.
8/5/09 11:37 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this jacket and it looks great on you. Burda's pockets are always tiny, I've got in the habit of redrafting them as standard.
8/6/09 4:03 AM
HLT said...
This is so beautiful. Your details are outstanding!!
12/2/09 1:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-103

photo
by: tiadia

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now