SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-112 

1 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo

 
 
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/09 10:01 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HLT said...
This is so beautiful. Your details are outstanding!!
12/2/09 1:17 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this jacket and it looks great on you. Burda's pockets are always tiny, I've got in the habit of redrafting them as standard.
8/6/09 4:03 AM
Anniinbc said...
You inspire me to try sewing a jacket - It looks great on you.
8/5/09 11:37 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket--especially the color! I am actually planning to make a short trenchcoat jacket in a yellow fabric. Nice job!
8/5/09 8:27 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Now I'm just hating....this is an amazing job!!!! Color, style, everything. Love it.
8/5/09 6:38 PM
RLL said...
This is just gorgeous. I love yellow and unfortunately can't wear it myself....Probably why I love it. Anyway, you did a beautiful job with the topstitching. Wear it proudly!
8/5/09 5:07 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is just fabulous. it looks so good on you. The time you spent topstitching definitely makes it look high end store bought for sure!! i so want to make this!!
8/5/09 3:23 PM
Marlene J said...
OH!!! Very cute jacket!! And you did a great job, it looks very rtw. You have inspired me. I'll need to get my February issue out again. I hope mine turns out as cute as yours.
8/5/09 2:10 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Fabulous jacket! It looks great on you!
8/5/09 1:52 PM
Elke said...
This is a great looking jacket. I really like the details too!
8/5/09 11:23 AM
becca a said...
I love your jacket! It has great details and is such a cheerful color. Thank you for the detailed review and the tip about paper towel buttonholes. I will have to try this.
8/5/09 10:51 AM
Karine said...
Love the jacket! The color is beautiful, and I especially like the contrasting lining. Thanks for the tip on the papertowel buttonhole! You really did a professional job with this, and I'm sure you'll enjoy wearing the jacket at lot!
8/5/09 7:32 AM
ITAdmin said...
Neat jacket! I love the style and color; it looks good with the brown pants.
8/5/09 7:13 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Yes, it's difficult to have the facing meet the bottom hem cleanly without some form of stabilizing.. Especially in sort of lightweight, stretchy fabric as this one. And I think what your back would have needed most would have been a little looseness, not really more petiting. Just because you can fit something within an inch of your skin doesn't mean you should :-). Yes some waist shaping is good, especially if you're not tall and anorexic, but too much waist shaping is imho what can slide into the hunchback impression. Not to mention that in LA you could reasonably expect to be wearing a bit of sweater underneath if you're in need of rain gear. Now do keep in mind that this looks utterly fabulous overall :-). The color is to die for, the fit much better than anything anyone could buy, your attention to topstitching pays off handsomely. I'm drooling with envy.
8/5/09 4:59 AM
arianamaniacs said...
This is mega-awesome! I bet you get a ton of compliments when you wear it
8/5/09 4:29 AM
sew2little said...
The pics on your blog show how beautiful your workwomanship is! Now the weather just needs to hurry up and get cool, so you can strut this great trench!
8/4/09 11:53 PM
imsewcrazy said...
This jacket is BEAU-TI-FUL!!!! I really love the color , the buttons and the topstitiching is superb! Thanks for the review.
8/4/09 10:26 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible jacket, you did an amazing job.
8/4/09 10:22 PM
crazygrad said...
Looks great!
8/4/09 10:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 2767

photo
by: Mel W.

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info