Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Zona Jacket - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 993 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR
About DorothyKstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/09 11:44 PM
Last Updated:1/30/10 0:08 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Raye Ann said...
this is really, really, beautiful. congratulations on your new jacket!
8/7/09 0:56 AM
Fran S said...
Dorothy, Looks great! This pattern is on my wish list and I will definitely refer back to your comments when I make it. Interesting on the underlining -- I've not done that before either.
8/7/09 6:57 AM
Fran G said...
What a great job and your review highlights the value of sewing friends/mentors! The color you chose is lovely and the collar shape is a favorite of mine. Such a great pattern...thanks for the review!
8/7/09 8:39 AM
grey ann said...
Looks great! What is a "DF?" and I'm still confused about how you did the HK finish? If you matched raw edges, how did you have extra organza to wrap? Thanks.
8/7/09 8:49 AM
Karine said...
What a lovely jacket. Your finishing with the organza is brilliant! Thanks for the helpful review.
8/7/09 9:00 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jacket - love the color of the silk - aren't good sewing buddies just worth their weight in gold?!
8/7/09 9:01 AM
Pam Padilla said...
This review was extremely helpful to me. I am glad she stayed with the project because I learned a lot from her experience.
8/7/09 10:09 AM
marthamyers said...
Yours is lovely. The color is great on you and your workmanship is flawless. Thanks for the suggestion on the collar and shoulder seam. Although I've made this twice now, both times I struggled a bit with this. Maybe I'll make it again and use the pivoting technique. Thanks for the review.
8/7/09 10:35 AM
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, your jacket turned out beautifully. The fake Hong Kong seam finish looks fantastic..so glad to be able to spend some time together working on the technique with you. Now I want to use this technique sometime soon as well. The color, fit and style look so perfect for you and is set off nicely with black on the bottom.
8/7/09 10:43 AM
stitchwitch said...
Thankyou for such a good review Dorothy. You look lovely in your jacket and so worth the effort!
8/7/09 11:47 AM
DorothyK said...
grey ann, a DF is "dear friend," just as DH is "dear husband," etc. For the fake Hong Kong finish, I made the organza 5/8" larger on each side. When I matched the raw edges of the organza with the dupioni and stitched a 1/4" seam on each side, the organza became bunched in the middle. But when I turned it right side out, the organza wrapped itself around the quarter inch seam to the other side. The extra 1/8" was taken up in the turn. Try it with some scrap fabric and you will see it works.
8/7/09 12:39 PM
persevering said...
Stunning! Glad this worked out so well for you.
8/7/09 2:58 PM
Michelle L said...
What a wonderful jacket! So chic!
8/7/09 4:32 PM
Karendee said...
This jacket is especially lovely on you. The collar and color and some of my favorites, and I love working with dupioni as well. I have saved your technique on Hong Kong seam finishes; you described it perfectly so that I can understand the process.
8/7/09 7:31 PM
Ann Smith said...
I'm so happy you persevered with this project and Barbara came along just at the right moment to help with the organza finish. This looks fantastic on you. Elvira seems to like it also.
8/7/09 9:56 PM
moushka said...
Your jacket is stunning. I've heard of the fake HK finish before but never seen it in action. Makes a great finish. Thanks for persevering as we all benefited from your experience. Great review.
10/19/09 8:24 PM
Rebecca D said...
This new version is too die for - it's no surprise that folks are stopping you on the street. The fabric is gorgeous and it's a perfect marriage with that pattern.
1/30/10 8:47 AM
carolynw said...
Dorothy this is beyond eye catching - I would certainly stop you on the street but with a view to theft of garment - good thing a continent divides us but I travel a lot so ---It's just so beautiful - thanks for sharing
1/30/10 10:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Fabulous jacket....one of a kind beauty. The stretch cotton worked out well and sews into a jacket that is so nice to wear now towards spring.
1/30/10 11:28 AM
bonnie said...
Incredible workmanship and choice of fabric.. I fell in love with this fabric at MT website, but was too late to order some. Has anyone else seen this elsewhere??
1/30/10 11:38 AM
j222b said...
I like this version of the jacket even better than the last!
1/30/10 2:52 PM
Renren said...
Very nice! TO BONNIE: This fabric is at fabricmartfabrics.com under Vera Wang, but their offering is a silk cotton blend, and I do believe it was a sheer. However, you might find it suits your needs.
1/30/10 3:24 PM
sew2little said...
OMG--you beat me in posting a new jacket in this fabric! Love yours too!
1/30/10 5:23 PM
sfshaza said...
Wow, Dorothy, this is so smart looking. I love it!!
2/3/10 3:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1653
photo
Review by stonecutte... on 7/7/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Copyshop)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Emma Top
photo
Review by Danvillegi... on 4/15/12
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1355 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse
Sewaholic Patterns Belcarra Blouse

Details
Price: $15.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us