Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-112 (Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 508 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:willozza
photo
About willozzastar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/09 3:23 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kim12469 said...
Very cute shirt. It does not look like a beginner made it and looks very RTW. I love the bottom waistband. Great job!
8/23/09 5:58 AM
Rosesred said...
Like the way you placed the stripes, looks neat!
8/23/09 8:45 AM
Renren said...
Really a nice top, and I LOVE stripes, too. You've done a great job with the top!
8/23/09 10:02 AM
kathyw said...
Congratulations on a great top. I can tell from your willingness to try things and to learn that you will soon become skillful at sewing! And sewing slowly is a good idea for now; you will pick up speed later.
8/23/09 10:22 AM
marec said...
ohhh, nice striped shirt. I love the band at the bottom-good work.
8/23/09 11:07 AM
ALFALFA said...
very nice looking top -- not beginner -looking at all. happy sewing. lynne
8/23/09 11:41 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great job. I had been sewing for years before I attempted knits, so bravo to you for jumping right in.
8/23/09 11:57 AM
LollyVee said...
I love sewing with knits and your knit top is a winner. A good fit on you and the placement of the stripes makes it a little more intresting. Nice one!
8/23/09 1:18 PM
Patzee said...
I think that adding the waistband made the top much nicer!
8/23/09 1:35 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice job! This top looks great.
8/23/09 3:30 PM
willozza said...
Thanks for the encouragement everyone. I'm happy that you noticed the bottom waistband at the bottom.
8/23/09 6:56 PM
donna mel said...
congrat's on tackling a burda world of fashion pattern as such a new sewer! great job!!
8/23/09 9:02 PM
Lori V said...
Great job, very pretty top
8/23/09 9:08 PM
amy in mpls said...
This is such a cute shirt! Its simple, but it has such a nice fit and I love the stripes! Great job!
8/23/09 10:50 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice job!! Congratulations on making such a stylish top and tackling Burda patterns...that is something to be proud of as a beginner!
8/23/09 10:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Very nice top and a nicely detailed review! Good luck in the contest, and in the meantime, have fun mulling over your next project. :o)
8/24/09 0:08 AM
Sharonspils said...
A beginner and sewing Burda, that's fantastic as well as producing a great striped top. Congratulations. I also love the Fabric Store.
8/24/09 0:11 AM
Annette1 said...
Also, should you have any questions or just want to chat about the contest, feel free to give us a holler on the contest thread at this link: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/sewingclasses/board.pl :o)
8/24/09 1:06 AM
kerrynw said...
You have done a great job. Your top fits really well and looks very smart.
8/24/09 2:54 AM
Woolygal said...
You're doing great. Keep it up.
8/24/09 6:30 AM
becca a said...
This is a great tee shirt. You can wear it with pride. I like the waistband you added.
8/25/09 0:48 AM
rebija said...
Oh... if only I had the courage to do knits (smile)!!! You've done a fantastic job! Keep up the great work!
8/31/09 12:29 PM
AdaF said...
A shirt for every day. I need something like this in my stash. Great fit! I'm still to try to saw a BWOF pattern (except for a simple Cardi Wrap made out of rectangles and triangles). I'm a little scared about what people say about their instructions... so I definitely think you are very brave, and talented. Keep at it!!! Good luck on you "sewing self education".
9/4/09 2:06 PM
AnneM said...
Great top. Burda instructions aren't always the most informative, so congrats on figuring out the sleeves. The waistband is a great touch.
9/7/09 7:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Hey nice tee! Looking at yout top I find it hard to believe you are a complete beginner. You did a great job.
9/20/09 3:03 AM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
You have talent, girl, if you made this as a complete beginner! Very nice look, love the use of stripes. Great job!
9/30/09 1:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us