Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5417 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 450 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:CharityAK
photo
About CharityAKstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 11/4/07
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/7/09 11:49 PM
Last Updated:8/7/09 11:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
That color looks great on you...I agree that the "muslin" is a keeper
8/8/09 1:46 AM
Woolygal said...
The dress is great and looks wonderful on you.
8/8/09 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Looks terrific on you - no muslin here!! $1 per yard makes this a true bargain!!
8/8/09 9:04 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful, simplistic dress that looks great on you.
8/8/09 11:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look very elegant! Really $1/yd at WM? Amazing...
8/8/09 3:23 PM
mssewcrazy said...
That dress looks incredible on you- you look elegant and skinny -doesn't get any better than this.
8/8/09 6:33 PM
Athene said...
A lovely color and style on you. I guess the pattern must be out of print - I tried to find it on the Butterick site and it wasnt there.
8/9/09 2:30 PM
CharityAK said...
Athene - I wondered about that. It's not that old of a pattern. I think I've had it 4 or 5 years? But I don't know how fast they rotate them out of catalogs. It's not an unusual pattern. Would be easy enough to find a simple sheath.
8/9/09 8:16 PM
Sing said...
Your picture is lovely, However, the Butterick 5417 pattern I have is NOT this dress. My pattern with this number is a high waist with the A-line skirt coming up into an upward pointing vee to the bust. There are pleats under the bust on the bodice. It has a jewel neckline and two short sleeve variations. Could you please recheck your pattern number. I made alterations to this pattern from the size 14 and the armholes are TOO SMALL on the master pattern. I compared it to another Butterick blouse pattern I have, #4457 size 14 placing the patterns together and measuring up from the waist to the amrscye and there is a difference in the depth of the front armhole of 1" !!!!!!!!!!!!!. The Back armscyes match at the underarm point and there is a difference in the back width of about 1/4" which is probably due to the the sleeve styles. Has any one out there found this true for them on Butteirck 5417? If so Butterick needs to make a recall of this pattern.
6/13/10 9:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 5983
photo
Review by Trephas200... on 1/16/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2012-134 Dolman Dress
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/18/14
Read Review

Simplicity 1468 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1468 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3911 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3911 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us