SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2008-6 (Zippered Knit Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 287 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily

About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews: 83 (patterns: 77)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/09 7:09 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Mufffet said... (8/11/09 2:35 PM) Reply
Great looking I must say!
ClaireEmily said... (8/9/09 5:06 PM) Reply
Thanks for your lovely comments everyone. It has really lifted my spirits with this one. I do agree that I need to rest it for a week or two. Thanks also for the heads up with BWOF sizing. I am currently working on some Burda pants and the 48 with a large butt adjustment seems good, though maybe I should try a 44 with a FBA for tops. That would give me more options!
Woolygal said... (8/9/09 7:53 AM) Reply
When I saw the picture, I thought" How Cute" and then read your review. Glad you were able to salvage the jacket, it's looks good now.
Karen6790 said... (8/8/09 11:54 PM) Reply
Put it in the closet to rest for a week or two. Once you've made another pattern, some of the frustration from this one will fade and you'll feel better about it. If it helps, the end result does NOT look like it caused you that much grief. And I love your fabric choice.
FreyaStark said... (8/8/09 9:27 PM) Reply
Sorry you had such a frustrating experience with the pattern. I hope you get some wear out of the top anyway.
Kayseri said... (8/8/09 9:03 PM) Reply
Your fabric is fabulous, especially the contrast effect. I agree the neckline isn't great but I think this top looks good with the neck open. On BWoF sizing I wear 18 RTW (NZ/Aust sizes), and sew Burda 44, adding to the hips. I think that their cup size is 'C' rather than 'B' because I rarely have to do an FBA
Mary Nanna said... (8/8/09 4:00 PM) Reply
I can see why you fell in love with the fabric - what a great idea for a hoodie! Looks very cute on you so good salvage job - I agree with the previous reviewer that you may come to enjoy it more when the pain of sewing it recedes into distant memory! About BWOF - I sew a 40 with a 2 inch FBA (which gives me final measurements of a size 18 or 44) and it works perfectly! Looking at you I can't believe you need to sew such a big size.
sewme47 said... (8/8/09 9:11 AM) Reply
ClaireEmily, I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with this pattern, but you managed to salvage the fit and make it wearable. Actually, I think the amended version looks really cute on you! When I've ended up with a disappointing garment (and I've had quite a few recently!) I set it aside for awhile and then come back to it with fresh eyes. Maybe after a week or two you'll like it better. :)
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8854

by: SewWil

Islander Sewing Systems Apron Chic Express

Islander Sewing Systems Apron Chic Express

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details