Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2008-6 (Zippered Knit Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 274 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/09 7:09 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewme47 said...
ClaireEmily, I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with this pattern, but you managed to salvage the fit and make it wearable. Actually, I think the amended version looks really cute on you! When I've ended up with a disappointing garment (and I've had quite a few recently!) I set it aside for awhile and then come back to it with fresh eyes. Maybe after a week or two you'll like it better. :)
8/8/09 9:11 AM
Mary Nanna said...
I can see why you fell in love with the fabric - what a great idea for a hoodie! Looks very cute on you so good salvage job - I agree with the previous reviewer that you may come to enjoy it more when the pain of sewing it recedes into distant memory! About BWOF - I sew a 40 with a 2 inch FBA (which gives me final measurements of a size 18 or 44) and it works perfectly! Looking at you I can't believe you need to sew such a big size.
8/8/09 4:00 PM
Kayseri said...
Your fabric is fabulous, especially the contrast effect. I agree the neckline isn't great but I think this top looks good with the neck open. On BWoF sizing I wear 18 RTW (NZ/Aust sizes), and sew Burda 44, adding to the hips. I think that their cup size is 'C' rather than 'B' because I rarely have to do an FBA
8/8/09 9:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
Sorry you had such a frustrating experience with the pattern. I hope you get some wear out of the top anyway.
8/8/09 9:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Put it in the closet to rest for a week or two. Once you've made another pattern, some of the frustration from this one will fade and you'll feel better about it. If it helps, the end result does NOT look like it caused you that much grief. And I love your fabric choice.
8/8/09 11:54 PM
Woolygal said...
When I saw the picture, I thought" How Cute" and then read your review. Glad you were able to salvage the jacket, it's looks good now.
8/9/09 7:53 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for your lovely comments everyone. It has really lifted my spirits with this one. I do agree that I need to rest it for a week or two. Thanks also for the heads up with BWOF sizing. I am currently working on some Burda pants and the 48 with a large butt adjustment seems good, though maybe I should try a 44 with a FBA for tops. That would give me more options!
8/9/09 5:06 PM
Mufffet said...
Great looking I must say!
8/11/09 2:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us