SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2008-6 (Zippered Knit Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 276 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/09 7:09 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewme47 said...
ClaireEmily, I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with this pattern, but you managed to salvage the fit and make it wearable. Actually, I think the amended version looks really cute on you! When I've ended up with a disappointing garment (and I've had quite a few recently!) I set it aside for awhile and then come back to it with fresh eyes. Maybe after a week or two you'll like it better. :)
8/8/09 9:11 AM
Mary Nanna said...
I can see why you fell in love with the fabric - what a great idea for a hoodie! Looks very cute on you so good salvage job - I agree with the previous reviewer that you may come to enjoy it more when the pain of sewing it recedes into distant memory! About BWOF - I sew a 40 with a 2 inch FBA (which gives me final measurements of a size 18 or 44) and it works perfectly! Looking at you I can't believe you need to sew such a big size.
8/8/09 4:00 PM
Kayseri said...
Your fabric is fabulous, especially the contrast effect. I agree the neckline isn't great but I think this top looks good with the neck open. On BWoF sizing I wear 18 RTW (NZ/Aust sizes), and sew Burda 44, adding to the hips. I think that their cup size is 'C' rather than 'B' because I rarely have to do an FBA
8/8/09 9:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
Sorry you had such a frustrating experience with the pattern. I hope you get some wear out of the top anyway.
8/8/09 9:27 PM
Karen6790 said...
Put it in the closet to rest for a week or two. Once you've made another pattern, some of the frustration from this one will fade and you'll feel better about it. If it helps, the end result does NOT look like it caused you that much grief. And I love your fabric choice.
8/8/09 11:54 PM
Woolygal said...
When I saw the picture, I thought" How Cute" and then read your review. Glad you were able to salvage the jacket, it's looks good now.
8/9/09 7:53 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for your lovely comments everyone. It has really lifted my spirits with this one. I do agree that I need to rest it for a week or two. Thanks also for the heads up with BWOF sizing. I am currently working on some Burda pants and the 48 with a large butt adjustment seems good, though maybe I should try a 44 with a FBA for tops. That would give me more options!
8/9/09 5:06 PM
Mufffet said...
Great looking I must say!
8/11/09 2:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 1051

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Vogue Patterns 2252

photo
by: miausiau

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now