Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-133B (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 350 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:busybee crafting
photo
About busybee crafting
OH USA
Member since: 12/9/08
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/11/09 3:16 PM
Last Updated:8/11/09 6:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
I've been wanting to make this pattern for a while!
8/11/09 4:34 PM
tr1c14 said...
I love it! Was the shirring hard to do? It's an effect I like but I've never dared to tackle it.
8/11/09 7:01 PM
busybee crafting said...
tr1c14 The shirring is easy. I decided to not do what the instructions stated which was to take elastic and zig zag sew it. Instead i used elastic thread wound the bobin and used the longest stitch on my sewing machine. This made the task very quick and i think easier to control. I purchased elastic thread at joann fabrics. I think it was $2.49 a spool.
8/11/09 8:03 PM
brissie71 said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the fabric but I would NEVER have thought to use a chiffon. How did you line it? Do you have the shirring elastic against your skin?
8/12/09 1:16 AM
busybee crafting said...
Brissie71 - I sewed the lining and chiffon as one piece. I machine basted the lining to the chiffon using a scant 1/4" Next i shirred the top, the shirring is against my skin but you do not feel it. For the rest of the dress i sewed the chiffon and the lining seperatly. This allowed the dress to flow. The dress has a beautiful flow form the upperwaist down. Also the lining only goes to my knees i elected to keep the bottom tier free flowing. I will try to update my blog with better photos. http://busybeecrafts.blogspot.com/
8/12/09 10:52 PM
tr1c14 said...
Wow, your way of shirring sounds so much easier than the instructions in the magazine!
8/13/09 12:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Oliver + S LC002WS
photo
Review by wenznz on 7/20/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern
Blank Slate TeeX3 Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5464
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 2/20/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3500 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3500 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9471 Pattern
Burda 9471 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us