SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4712 (Robert L. Green)

7 more reviews
Viewed 1077 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/09 3:06 PM
Last Updated:8/12/09 9:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
73 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MasoumaRose said...
Great job! I managed to click through to your picasa folders. The shirts look great (I like the shirt with floral-accented collar!)
8/12/09 4:46 PM
sew obsessed said...
Great job! Sleeve plackets can be a challenge for seasoned sewers and yours are perfect! Thanks for all the pictures........M
8/12/09 6:48 PM
BettyMike said...
I LOVE your shirt! Great job. What great fabric.
8/12/09 7:07 PM
Gloria W said...
Terrific! This shirt would bring a smile to anyones face. I have the Islander shirt DVDs rented from Smartflix right now. She really brings some great ideas to home sewers. I plan on watching them several times before I have to return them.
8/12/09 7:16 PM
frame said...
You are correct, the older patterns have a better fit for a slender build. Your shirts look great.
8/12/09 7:36 PM
BrianSews said...
Great shirt! Vintage pattern, vintage sheet, vintage Islander DVD, what more could a guy ask for?
8/12/09 8:20 PM
kimmielovesparis said...
WOW! I love your shirt! I also love the review in photos. Very clever fabric choice as well. You look fab!
8/12/09 8:22 PM
birdmcfarland said...
I love it!! Very Rocketboy-esque! I can't believe you're a beginner. While I really like this shirt, I thought the little splash of flowers on the white collared shirt was inventive and looked fabulous. Excellent work! You're cute too!
8/12/09 8:55 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous shirt! Vintage but very modern all at the same time.
8/12/09 9:00 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Are you SURE you are a beginner? GREAT job : )
8/12/09 9:49 PM
Opals Passions said...
Good job! Your shirt looks great and its a good fit on you.....
8/12/09 9:49 PM
Rhoda K said...
Nice shirt! You learned quickly! I look forward to more reviews.
8/12/09 10:09 PM
Raye Ann said...
very good work! your shirt fits like a dream.
8/12/09 10:32 PM
Michelle L said...
Great work! I recently started using vintage patterns, too, and love to see how people update them. Your shirt turned out great!!
8/12/09 10:33 PM
puddypaws said...
When I first saw this shirt I thought Gee, I had sheets like that. LOL You did a great job.
8/12/09 11:16 PM
SueV said...
Nice job, great shirt! thanks for sharing
8/12/09 11:17 PM
Elona said...
As someone who lived through that era, I pronounce your fit and fabric choice perfect.
8/13/09 0:10 AM
kittykate said...
I think I had that pattern and love the 70's hairstyles on the illustrations. I also think I had those sheets too OMG! they were a giveaway in boxes of laundry detergent. As to construction it's a sharp shirt! The fit is great. (and I also like the Eames screen that you're hanging the shirt on )
8/13/09 0:56 AM
Vibekeinyork said...
"It's hard not to smile in gold and orange poppies." Aww, so cute. Great job!
8/13/09 6:18 AM
jent said...
Very sharp - I love the fit! I agree that seeing is better than reading in trying to figure out construction. The islander dvds are great. Check you tube too for sewing videos - there's some zipper installations that are helpful as well.
8/13/09 6:26 AM
wreninrome said...
looks great! you're providing some stiff competition here :) you could check out some past issues of Burda World on ebay as well...a few have mens patterns...and yes, i agree you look quite handsome
8/13/09 6:30 AM
beth5646 said...
Great shirt and fabric. Very nicely made.
8/13/09 6:42 AM
FreyaStark said...
You're right - you can't have too many shirts. That fabric would bring a smile to anyone's face. A fine effort. Well done.
8/13/09 7:10 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love this shirt. My girlfriends at work and I would be starting a furious email stream about how stylin' you are if you happened to walk by. Nice job.
8/13/09 7:11 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking shirt.
8/13/09 7:24 AM
Nancy K said...
Great shirt! Glad to see men posting here on PR. Shirts are not the easiest of projects and you nailed it. If you really want to make shirts that don't look homemade, not relying on the pattern instructions is definitely better, they just aren't very good.
8/13/09 7:40 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Great shirt! Much better on you than on a bed. Good find!
8/13/09 8:07 AM
Sheila457 said...
Great shirt and for your first one at that. I used sheets to make pants once.
8/13/09 8:21 AM
fourkid said...
Fabulous shirt!!! Great Job! I love that a friend takes the time to YouTube directions to you.
8/13/09 8:22 AM
Myspirit4 said...
Wow! Nice work! The pattern and fabric are perfect!
8/13/09 9:11 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Fantastic shirt- love the poppies.
8/13/09 9:16 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, your sleeve placket is freaking awesome. What tutorial did you use for that?? I can never get mine to look half that good.
8/13/09 9:51 AM
meli88a said...
This looks fabulous. I especially love your fabric - what a find!
8/13/09 10:27 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Welcome. See I could never get something like a 70's bedsheet to look any good on me. Sigh......
8/13/09 10:47 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Wow. Thanks for all your generous comments, everybody! One of the first things I figured out immediately is that sewing is more about ironing, measuring, cutting, assembling, pinning, and eyeballing than it is about stitching at the machine. So even though I've only been sewing two months or so, I've been cutting and measuring things most of my life, even if it was only a construction-paper-and-paper-fastener articulated scarecrow door decoration in elementary school! And speaking of pinning, I love the Islander Method because it is virtually pin-free. I have two small dogs (chihuahuas) and the idea of losing pins on the floor makes me extremely anxious. Islander's methods are so practical and much less labor intensive I think. I only used a pin here and there, when I was matching up the collar and collar band, for example. I also use sewing weights (well, improvised weights, mainly cans and bric-a-brac) and an Olfa fabric cutter, which also eliminates the need for pins. The plackets were hard. My puppy, Willy, chewed the original pattern piece into shreds (Lesson 1: do NOT leave pattern pieces lying around the living room floor) so I substituted the placket piece from another vintage shirt pattern I picked up). It's one of those chores that's not difficult so much as extremely painstaking: folding those little corners to make what looks like a little house (in my mind's eye), and making sure the needle is down when you turn a corner. It's best done early in the morning, I've figured out! (I have also learned that I must NOT sew after 6 pm or so, which will only result in a date with the seam ripper.) Finding that sheet really was a stroke of luck; the Salvation Army near me is extremely picked over and has very few sheets for sale. (I DID see a very pilled British Airways blanket though.) So thanks again for the positive feedback, folks -- they really inspire me to try harder and raise the bar. Hope to meet some of you at the Expo in September!
8/13/09 10:57 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I hope you get lots of compliments on your fabulous shirt - they will be well deserved! Fabuolus job.
8/13/09 11:01 AM
Delia Wilson said...
Your shirt is awesome, congrats keep up the good work
8/13/09 11:26 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Wow! That's quite the shirt! You did a very nice job, especially if you are considering yourself a beginner (I think placketed shirts are one of the hardest things to make). I can't help but wonder, though..... Does it feel like you're wearing a sheet? ;-)
8/13/09 11:30 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Only at bedtime, Nancy Anne!
8/13/09 11:38 AM
RLL said...
Welcome to the world of sewing and welcome to PR. We are always glad to have another man on board as there are so few that sew and we really appreciate your input. Your shirt is fabulous and I know you will wear it with pride. And you are one lucky guy to live so close to the fabric district of NYC. Keep up the good work and when in doubt.....ask. There is always someone here on PR than can help.
8/13/09 12:09 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding, Peter.
8/13/09 12:26 PM
Nikoo said...
Wow...the quality is awesome. I look forward to seeing more...
8/13/09 1:42 PM
Morisot said...
Wow, you did a great job on the shirt. Great use of the fabric. (One reason I sew is to have something to wear that is different than anyone else!) Pattern weights? -- try slate tiles -- I got a box of nine 4x4 slates for under $5 at home depot. They are smooth, dust-free, and they don't get in the way as I cut (the way the little tomato sauce cans did!) -- and I can use the tiles as coasters in a pinch.
8/13/09 2:58 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I made summer pjs a couple of years ago from vintage sheets and got hooked as they are cotton rich if not all cotton (cool in our climate) and the fabric holds up so well with lots of wear. Your shirt is nice and will probably last forever- nice work.
8/13/09 3:08 PM
mary in FL said...
Good job! Just wear that shirt to the expo, and you will be found!!
8/13/09 8:02 PM
vivianna said...
Fabulous shirt!
8/14/09 6:24 AM
divaknitting said...
Love it...especially the print :)
8/14/09 6:13 PM
eugenia123 said...
Peter, you review was so great to see - you have done such a fantastic job on this shirt (and shirts aren't easy!). I just love everything about it - the style, the fabric, your sewing skills. Wear it with pride.
8/15/09 6:16 AM
nancy2001 said...
Peter, your shirt looks fantastic. It's hard to believe you've been sewing for only two months. I think you should promote yourself to advanced beginner.
8/15/09 8:11 AM
SandraB said...
I love your shirt. It turned out great. Plackets and collars are challenging even for seasoned sew-ers, and you nailed them both. Great job.
8/15/09 11:03 PM
bananaoil said...
You did a really fine job with this shirt. The colors and pattern are perfect especially here in New York.
8/17/09 8:16 AM
Annette1 said...
WONDERFUL job on your shirt, Peter, REALLY! :o) I LOVE the fabric you've chosen, and I really appreciate all the pictures, which will also be so helpful to the contest judges. (You can never have too many pictures!) Also, as the contest manager of the beginners' and advanced beginners' contests, I'm just going through all of our wonderful entries and reminding everyone to be sure and include all of the required information in your review, if you have not already done so, that being: (1) Write a review of your project, complete with a picture of the finished item. (2) In addition to the standard information on the review template, the review should include: (a) A very brief description of your previous sewing experience. (b) Information regarding what outside help you may have received, other than online help here on PR. (c) If you are entering a garment into the Advanced Beginner Contest, please describe which technique(s) was new to you. (d) If your item was made as a part of a class, please note this in the review. Additionally, if the item was made as part of a class, the instructor must not have had any part in stitching or construction. Good luck in the contest!
8/24/09 0:31 AM
rebija said...
So awesome! You are really good, and you have a great eye! Love the choice of fabric! I use sheets sometimes too (Ha! Ha!)
8/31/09 12:24 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks so much for the feedback, folks! I am determined to turn this sheet-shirt thing into a new trend.
8/31/09 10:14 PM
MBPaz said...
Great looking shirts - all the tricky details (collar and sleeve plackets) look terrific. Great idea to pull shirts off an old worn out shirt. BUT you live in NYC - go buy some buttons!! If I need invisible zippers for dresses I need to drive over an hour, beg my son to bring some when he comes to visit from 3 hours away, or order them. (Nothin' could be finer than to live in.....)
9/1/09 8:14 AM
no7262 said...
Great Job! Nora :)
9/4/09 1:02 PM
Kellie R. said...
First let me say welcome to PR! I love your shirt and the vintage pattern! I have lots of vintage men's patterns and you've inspired me to sew more shirts for my husband! Great job!
9/4/09 1:33 PM
AdaF said...
Nice construction, great pictures! Congrats on you first of many well fitted shirts!
9/4/09 2:14 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous shirt!
9/4/09 7:04 PM
FullertonRegan said...
I want a dress made out of thie fabric!!! This looks amazing.I just dove into the world of making shirts again earlier this year, and finding the right pattern is so hard. Good job finding on ehtat looks this well fitting!!
9/5/09 3:17 PM
sherri2sew said...
great fitting shirt
9/5/09 10:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
A tailored shirt is a very challenging project for a beginner. You did a great job and are well on your way to becoming a shirt making wizard.
9/6/09 7:56 AM
shannie said...
Peter, you did an amazing job! A tailored shirt is not easy for sewists at any level, and you rocked it! I love to sew with thriftstore bed sheets too! Welcome to the world of sewing, you're a natural!
9/6/09 4:08 PM
Boo97 said...
I've sewn for years and never attempted a tailored shirt! Awesome!
9/11/09 10:22 PM
VeryPrairie said...
Hi Peter, it was great meeting you this weekend at the ASE. I am amazed at the skill set you have acquired in such a short amount of time and really look forward to seeing your future projects. -Kristin
9/27/09 12:10 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Hi Peter, Congrats on your win! Although we weren't officially introduced, it was great to meet you at the ASE show. Good save on the mismatched notecard - sorry I couldn't come up with a more complete description of my dress off the top of my head, but you ad libbed nicely! I can't believe you've only been sewing since June, and I look forward to seeing what you come up with next! Robin
9/28/09 8:35 PM
cgHipp said...
Great job - it looks well made and fantastic on you!
9/30/09 9:35 AM
rose4524 said...
There's nothing better on a man than a well-made shirt. I love your retro shirt - especially recycling the bedsheet - it looks great on you. Beautiful work!
9/30/09 11:11 AM
Heatherrique said...
Great looking shirt on a great looking young man....You took shirt making to a higher level. Many vintage patterns are cool and I adore your take on a classic. You definitely are beyond a beginner! Congratulations on your win!
9/30/09 11:59 AM
shannonmk said...
Your shirt matches my jammies. Check out this link - http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=43391 Love the shirt. You did a great job! Shannon
10/1/09 4:15 PM
ctirish said...
Great job, I have been sewing for 35 years and never done a button front shirt. I like tip of the extra stitches on the short collar too.
10/3/09 2:06 PM
centineo said...
Very cool! Congrats on the shirt, and on being self-taught. I am getting back into sewing after a VERY long hiatus. I want to design some of my own pieces. I'm going to practice on a few simple pieces like you did - a sewing machine cover, perhaps, once I figure out which one to buy. :) Ciao!
11/1/09 8:21 PM
ShelaghL said...
Peter, all of your stuff is so terrific - the styles, the fabrics, the photos. First class. I love your artistic sensibilities.
12/19/09 7:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 5927

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now