SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1124 (Misses' Cardigan and Vest)

3 more reviews
Viewed 793 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpegstar
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/09 9:00 PM
Last Updated:8/16/09 5:00 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
love it!
8/13/09 0:45 AM
Fran S said...
Very nice. Thanks for sharing. I've been wanting a top in this style for a bit and just added this one to my wish list. Lucky neighbor!
8/13/09 7:55 AM
donna mel said...
i like yours better than the picture on the pattern envelope. the raw selvage is really fitting for the loose style.
8/14/09 6:52 AM
magoe6217 said...
I love the look you achieved. Using the selvedges made it so much more interesting than the original pattern. It has a very Issey Miyake/Japonseque feel to it. I immediately added it to my must have pattern list based on your results. Also love the use of your shower curtain as a backdrop for your photos. Brilliant! I hope you won't mind if I copy your idea. I have so few unadulterated backgrounds in my house. Thanks for your review!
8/14/09 5:15 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks all. I'm probably not the only one who uses their shower curtain as a back-drop. It's easy for picture-taking. My laundry room is next to my bathroom, and I actually stand in the laundry room when taking the photos. Like, I stand in the bathroom on a stepping stool when taking photos of the fabric, etc., on top of my washer & dreyer, too, that I use for a cutting table.....LOL. Also used to use the top of the washer & dreyer way back when developing and printing up my film, before changing over to digital photography. My neighbor just loved the cardigan, too, when I surprisingly presented it to her. She couldn't wait to put it on and to show it to her hubby when he walked in the door while we were having a cup of tea at her house.
8/15/09 3:26 AM
GrannyT said...
I have been wondering whether this pattern would work for me - also a plus size - and after reading your review, I can see that it will work very nicely. I really like the look of the jacket and vest and can see that I would make both. I appreciated especially the advice for sizing. So many times in an oversized pattern you learn to go for the smaller size, even if you are a plus - maybe especially if you are a plus- so your clothes don't look so baggy. I would almost certainly have made this mistake without your "pioneering."
8/15/09 11:48 PM
carolynw said...
Nicd looking - thought the fringe was an extra you added - smart move!!
8/16/09 9:31 AM
moushka said...
I love your version. Wasn't too sure about this pattern before but now it's on my "must sew" list. Great review.
8/17/09 7:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

StyleArc Kate Top

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now