SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2618 (Misses or Plus Size Jacket, Ve)

6 more reviews
Viewed 494 times 
Reviewed by:Keiler
photo

 
 
About Keilerstar
IL USA
Member since: 10/1/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/09 9:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RachelEsq said...
Topstiching as a detail seems to be popular in RTW right now, so I don't think that it detracts from the finished shirt at all. I'm impressed with your creativity in figuring out a solution to the poor pattern instructions. I really like this shirt. The pleats look great.
8/13/09 10:18 AM
RLL said...
I like the look of the pleats being topstitched down. I think it adds to the style of the top. Very nice.
8/13/09 11:00 AM
sewbehind said...
Also like the pleats topstitched, particularly in the manner you chose to do it. Lovely T-shirt
8/13/09 11:22 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Both tops are nice. I like your "think outside the box" approach to making the pattern work for you.
8/13/09 11:32 AM
Re Becca said...
That is so stylish and so simple! I have a Vogue pattern kind of like this, but I think I like yours better.
8/13/09 12:21 PM
Gloria W said...
Thanks for the inside and out pictures of the neckline. When I saw the review photo I really liked the front and was wondering how the pleats were attached.
8/13/09 1:37 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think I bought this pattern at the last Hobby Lobby sale-will have to go check. Your tops are very nice. Thanks for the creative ideas on handling the facing issue as the shirts will wash and wear lots better with the stitch down.
8/13/09 2:53 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Add me to the list that likes how you topstitched. I think that I might have to get this pattern.
8/14/09 1:33 AM
Rebecca D said...
Another gal who likes the look of the stitched down pleats. That's one great looking top. Very now and RTW.
8/14/09 6:32 AM
pipet said...
I've seen RTW tops in a similar style with the pleats stitched. Great way to make this work; I can see from your pics the problem with the facing!
6/18/10 1:28 AM
JustineSewcountrychick said...
Thanks for the info on the facingsdoes the sizing run big?
1/6/11 3:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Other Gertie's NBBS

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now