Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2618 (Misses or Plus Size Jacket, Ve) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 490 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Keiler
photo
About Keilerstar
IL USA
Member since: 10/1/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/09 9:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RachelEsq said...
Topstiching as a detail seems to be popular in RTW right now, so I don't think that it detracts from the finished shirt at all. I'm impressed with your creativity in figuring out a solution to the poor pattern instructions. I really like this shirt. The pleats look great.
8/13/09 10:18 AM
RLL said...
I like the look of the pleats being topstitched down. I think it adds to the style of the top. Very nice.
8/13/09 11:00 AM
sewbehind said...
Also like the pleats topstitched, particularly in the manner you chose to do it. Lovely T-shirt
8/13/09 11:22 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Both tops are nice. I like your "think outside the box" approach to making the pattern work for you.
8/13/09 11:32 AM
Re Becca said...
That is so stylish and so simple! I have a Vogue pattern kind of like this, but I think I like yours better.
8/13/09 12:21 PM
Gloria W said...
Thanks for the inside and out pictures of the neckline. When I saw the review photo I really liked the front and was wondering how the pleats were attached.
8/13/09 1:37 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think I bought this pattern at the last Hobby Lobby sale-will have to go check. Your tops are very nice. Thanks for the creative ideas on handling the facing issue as the shirts will wash and wear lots better with the stitch down.
8/13/09 2:53 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Add me to the list that likes how you topstitched. I think that I might have to get this pattern.
8/14/09 1:33 AM
Rebecca D said...
Another gal who likes the look of the stitched down pleats. That's one great looking top. Very now and RTW.
8/14/09 6:32 AM
pipet said...
I've seen RTW tops in a similar style with the pleats stitched. Great way to make this work; I can see from your pics the problem with the facing!
6/18/10 1:28 AM
JustineSewcountrychick said...
Thanks for the info on the facingsdoes the sizing run big?
1/6/11 3:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 200747-1000
photo
Review by CatSari on 5/25/10
Read Review

McCalls 6547 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6547 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 59811-1008
photo
Review by Blooms on 1/27/09
Read Review

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us