SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1081 (Refashioned and Textured Vest)

1 more reviews
Viewed 448 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/09 11:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ITAdmin said...
martha, I'm going to experiment with shortening and, probably, narrowing the armhole. Gapping isn't really the problem, but it may need darting or something once it's not so extended.
8/20/09 4:46 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
How creative. I love both of them.
8/20/09 3:03 PM
marthamyers said...
Absolutely fabulous! I too am interested in fabric manipulation and re-purposing garments. Your review provides great inspiration. How will you adjust the armholes in future vests? I look forward to seeing those too.
8/20/09 9:15 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting vests. Like the idea of using thrift garments to refashion. I like this pattern more and more.
8/20/09 5:33 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! IT, as always another work of heart! Too cool! BTW: your sewing level stated in your profiel is lower than what it really is.
8/19/09 10:20 PM
ITAdmin said...
j222b, my book is Exploring Textile Arts, published by Creative Publishing International. I haven't reviewed it, but I did see one review here on PR. It has instructions for ca. 25 techniques and some beautiful artists' gallery photos.
8/19/09 7:11 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely smashing - I have done some texturizing and find it such an interesting way to achieve a different one of a kind look - you have certainly done this with your vest - great review
8/19/09 5:53 PM
TrixieD said...
Great results. I love the fabric combination and the fact you made me notice a pattern that I hadn't considered before.
8/19/09 5:11 PM
j222b said...
I love your project. Very arty. Never discard these-they might look great on a wall, too! I am so inspired-and thanks for descriptions of texturizing. Did you review the book? What was it?
8/19/09 2:32 PM
LollyVee said...
Gee you are so talented. I'm sure your vest will be a talking point. I really like the pattern you chose...nice combo!
8/19/09 2:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 81-2000-ASandE

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Candice

Candice

More Info
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

More Info