SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1081 (Refashioned and Textured Vest)

1 more reviews
Viewed 453 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews: 103 (patterns: 102)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/09 11:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ITAdmin said... (8/20/09 4:46 PM) Reply
martha, I'm going to experiment with shortening and, probably, narrowing the armhole. Gapping isn't really the problem, but it may need darting or something once it's not so extended.
Mahogany Stylist said... (8/20/09 3:03 PM) Reply
How creative. I love both of them.
marthamyers said... (8/20/09 9:15 AM) Reply
Absolutely fabulous! I too am interested in fabric manipulation and re-purposing garments. Your review provides great inspiration. How will you adjust the armholes in future vests? I look forward to seeing those too.
Danvillegirl said... (8/20/09 5:33 AM) Reply
Interesting vests. Like the idea of using thrift garments to refashion. I like this pattern more and more.
Heatherrique said... (8/19/09 10:20 PM) Reply
Wow! IT, as always another work of heart! Too cool! BTW: your sewing level stated in your profiel is lower than what it really is.
ITAdmin said... (8/19/09 7:11 PM) Reply
j222b, my book is Exploring Textile Arts, published by Creative Publishing International. I haven't reviewed it, but I did see one review here on PR. It has instructions for ca. 25 techniques and some beautiful artists' gallery photos.
carolynw said... (8/19/09 5:53 PM) Reply
Absolutely smashing - I have done some texturizing and find it such an interesting way to achieve a different one of a kind look - you have certainly done this with your vest - great review
TrixieD said... (8/19/09 5:11 PM) Reply
Great results. I love the fabric combination and the fact you made me notice a pattern that I hadn't considered before.
j222b said... (8/19/09 2:32 PM) Reply
I love your project. Very arty. Never discard these-they might look great on a wall, too! I am so inspired-and thanks for descriptions of texturizing. Did you review the book? What was it?
LollyVee said... (8/19/09 2:31 PM) Reply
Gee you are so talented. I'm sure your vest will be a talking point. I really like the pattern you chose...nice combo!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 9784

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Pattern Details