Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1081 (Refashioned and Textured Vest) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 441 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 107
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/09 11:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LollyVee said...
Gee you are so talented. I'm sure your vest will be a talking point. I really like the pattern you chose...nice combo!
8/19/09 2:31 PM
j222b said...
I love your project. Very arty. Never discard these-they might look great on a wall, too! I am so inspired-and thanks for descriptions of texturizing. Did you review the book? What was it?
8/19/09 2:32 PM
TrixieD said...
Great results. I love the fabric combination and the fact you made me notice a pattern that I hadn't considered before.
8/19/09 5:11 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely smashing - I have done some texturizing and find it such an interesting way to achieve a different one of a kind look - you have certainly done this with your vest - great review
8/19/09 5:53 PM
ITAdmin said...
j222b, my book is Exploring Textile Arts, published by Creative Publishing International. I haven't reviewed it, but I did see one review here on PR. It has instructions for ca. 25 techniques and some beautiful artists' gallery photos.
8/19/09 7:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! IT, as always another work of heart! Too cool! BTW: your sewing level stated in your profiel is lower than what it really is.
8/19/09 10:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Interesting vests. Like the idea of using thrift garments to refashion. I like this pattern more and more.
8/20/09 5:33 AM
marthamyers said...
Absolutely fabulous! I too am interested in fabric manipulation and re-purposing garments. Your review provides great inspiration. How will you adjust the armholes in future vests? I look forward to seeing those too.
8/20/09 9:15 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
How creative. I love both of them.
8/20/09 3:03 PM
ITAdmin said...
martha, I'm going to experiment with shortening and, probably, narrowing the armhole. Gapping isn't really the problem, but it may need darting or something once it's not so extended.
8/20/09 4:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us