SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1004 (Misses' Fitting Shell)

5 more reviews
Viewed 982 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/09 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette Wright said...
I think you should wear it out to dinner tonight, it's fits wonderfully.....lol. Good job.
8/17/09 5:54 PM
mmr said...
Very nice review. Your shell fits very well.
8/17/09 7:24 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks like a great fit! Nice job.
8/17/09 7:33 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Very helpful and interesting review of this. I think that I should do this... sounds like you did learn a lot from it. As far as the sway back others might give a better answer but it is so hard to fit ones self. But if you take the waist apart and put 2 back darts in. You might have to move the lower section up a bit too...but not sure about that once you put the back darts in. I have a bit of a sway back also and this is usually what I end up doing. ..the dart anyway.
8/17/09 9:59 PM
Athene said...
I think you are off to a great start. I am not experienced enough to give you fitting advice, but I think you should start a new thread in the Fitting Woes section of the message board along with your photos, and you would probably get lots of good advice from PR members to tweek the fit of your shell to your liking.
8/17/09 11:43 PM
Michele19 said...
thank for this excellent review! What an excellent accomplishment? I have this pattern too and only got as far as doing the top part... And I did NOT learn much but no that I've been sewing for a while maybe I should try again. My question for YOU is how did you make all the required measurements on yourself??
8/18/09 5:42 AM
Beek said...
Your review is very inspirational. I have always hated the fitting process of sewing. Perhaps by owning a sloper, it may not seem like such a chore.
8/18/09 10:54 AM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you! Michele19, I roped in my husband to help with the measuring. He was very patient!
8/19/09 5:48 PM
RachelEsq said...
This is a really pretty dress! I'm impressed with your fitting skills.
8/25/09 1:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 8775

photo
by: lilikats

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now