SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1114 (ISSEY MIYAKE)

1 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/09 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very cool!
8/16/09 3:56 PM
Beek said...
Wild and wonderful Issey Miyake! This looks fabulous AND comfortable. Enjoy wearing it and thanks for the great review.
8/16/09 4:37 PM
Raye Ann said...
too cool. great job on the fabric choices- it really is striking!
8/16/09 5:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Incredible design indeed and you found beautiful fabrics to coordinate and make it true to the Issey Miyake style. You look great in it.
8/16/09 5:49 PM
Athene said...
You really made it work - I love your results.
8/16/09 6:09 PM
Winifred said...
I love this on you Anne. And congrats for the courage to go for the "out of the norm" looks!! In the late 1950s,early 60.s when I was in my teens early 20s I used t o go for all the Vogue patterns with different challenging features! I dont seem to have the guts or the opportunities to do it nowadays! But you are so inspiring and I'm waiting to see what you make next!
8/16/09 6:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! You always make such interesting clothes. I'm totally in love with this garment!
8/16/09 7:05 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous Miyake and just wonderful on you. Great review.
8/16/09 9:59 PM
beth5646 said...
I just purchased this pattern--and was kind of wondering if it would be something I would wear. Thanks to your great review and wonderful pictures I can't wait to get out and find some fabric. I always love your reviews Ann--you are an inspiration.
8/17/09 7:20 AM
Sic said...
Awesomely crazy cool - nice work! I love the fabrics you chose!
8/17/09 9:07 AM
Banja said...
So, I out myself as a Miyake fan. I just finished my version of this top yesterday. It was fun to make, but I am not sure, if I am going to wear it, I think this top (like other Miyake's) looks good on a taller women, which I am not. I like your version very much, with the trousers. But I have to say,for a more bottom-heavy person, like me, it does not look good with pants. Thanks for your review.
8/17/09 9:39 AM
DorothyK said...
This piece is spectacular. Not only is it interesting, exciting, and unusual, but it looks great on. I have this pattern, and now it's at the top of my list of patterns to do.
8/17/09 12:05 PM
SueV said...
nice! What do you think... could this be made with a very thin, soft knit?
8/17/09 2:21 PM
Ann Smith said...
Sue, I think yes. That was my first fabric choice that I didn't have enough of. Just be sure it can support the contrast fabric and buttons.
8/17/09 3:54 PM
SueV said...
thanks! I have some really thin knit I "found" downtown this past weekend... got 5 yards for $1.... so it's good for this "experiment"!
8/17/09 5:33 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
love it!
8/18/09 1:22 AM
Grammy Gin said...
How glamorous! You look elegant!
8/19/09 12:40 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Ann - you have such wonderful vision for projects! This is really eye-catching - an unusual piece that looks great on you.
8/21/09 6:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-106

photo
by: vchan38

Review