SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1114 (ISSEY MIYAKE)

1 more reviews
Viewed 825 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/09 3:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very cool!
8/16/09 3:56 PM
Beek said...
Wild and wonderful Issey Miyake! This looks fabulous AND comfortable. Enjoy wearing it and thanks for the great review.
8/16/09 4:37 PM
Raye Ann said...
too cool. great job on the fabric choices- it really is striking!
8/16/09 5:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Incredible design indeed and you found beautiful fabrics to coordinate and make it true to the Issey Miyake style. You look great in it.
8/16/09 5:49 PM
Athene said...
You really made it work - I love your results.
8/16/09 6:09 PM
Winifred said...
I love this on you Anne. And congrats for the courage to go for the "out of the norm" looks!! In the late 1950s,early 60.s when I was in my teens early 20s I used t o go for all the Vogue patterns with different challenging features! I dont seem to have the guts or the opportunities to do it nowadays! But you are so inspiring and I'm waiting to see what you make next!
8/16/09 6:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! You always make such interesting clothes. I'm totally in love with this garment!
8/16/09 7:05 PM
solosmocker said...
Fabulous Miyake and just wonderful on you. Great review.
8/16/09 9:59 PM
beth5646 said...
I just purchased this pattern--and was kind of wondering if it would be something I would wear. Thanks to your great review and wonderful pictures I can't wait to get out and find some fabric. I always love your reviews Ann--you are an inspiration.
8/17/09 7:20 AM
Sic said...
Awesomely crazy cool - nice work! I love the fabrics you chose!
8/17/09 9:07 AM
Banja said...
So, I out myself as a Miyake fan. I just finished my version of this top yesterday. It was fun to make, but I am not sure, if I am going to wear it, I think this top (like other Miyake's) looks good on a taller women, which I am not. I like your version very much, with the trousers. But I have to say,for a more bottom-heavy person, like me, it does not look good with pants. Thanks for your review.
8/17/09 9:39 AM
DorothyK said...
This piece is spectacular. Not only is it interesting, exciting, and unusual, but it looks great on. I have this pattern, and now it's at the top of my list of patterns to do.
8/17/09 12:05 PM
SueV said...
nice! What do you think... could this be made with a very thin, soft knit?
8/17/09 2:21 PM
Ann Smith said...
Sue, I think yes. That was my first fabric choice that I didn't have enough of. Just be sure it can support the contrast fabric and buttons.
8/17/09 3:54 PM
SueV said...
thanks! I have some really thin knit I "found" downtown this past weekend... got 5 yards for $1.... so it's good for this "experiment"!
8/17/09 5:33 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
love it!
8/18/09 1:22 AM
Grammy Gin said...
How glamorous! You look elegant!
8/19/09 12:40 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Ann - you have such wonderful vision for projects! This is really eye-catching - an unusual piece that looks great on you.
8/21/09 6:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 259307-1000

photo
by: oldfashion...

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now