SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5321 (Pleat Front Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 602 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/09 10:27 AM
Last Updated:8/18/09 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SpinningJenny said...
Looks gorgeous on you, and the lining is fab.
8/21/09 7:01 PM
barbcl said...
Terrific dress! Thanks for the review. The pattern photo looks so weird that I have hesitated on this one, but yours convinces me to give it a try!
8/19/09 8:25 PM
becca a said...
Your dress is so flattering from the front and back. I wonder if a drapier fabric and partially sewing down the pleats would solve your front pouffiness.
8/19/09 10:30 AM
Elke said...
This dress looks great on you!
8/19/09 0:46 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice, and thanks for the great tip about cutting the lining slightly smaller. I wish I'd thought of that last time I made a shift. Would the front pleats sit flatter if the fabric were drapier (e.g. rayon or some silks)?
8/18/09 9:36 PM
Gelbean said...
This really is a great dress!
8/18/09 7:11 PM
carolynw said...
I like it but can see what you mean on your blog photos. Nice back ground!!
8/18/09 5:03 PM
CynthiaSue said...
shut UP! I am too jealous of you in Malaysia. Perfect print and style for your vacation!
8/18/09 4:23 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, the diagonal pleats and darts are a really nice detail.
8/18/09 4:11 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...love the dress and the scenery.
8/18/09 2:10 PM
CharityAK said...
I adore the technical drawings on this dress and your full-on photos! I think this is the cutest pattern, but I share your concerns about the side view. I appreciate the review because if I decide to take a chance on it, I"ll definitely use a "muslin" level fabric first time round! Thanks!
8/18/09 1:25 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute dress on you. I especially love your surprise lining.
8/18/09 1:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
This dress is darling and looks great on you. I love those unusual back darts.
8/18/09 12:43 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. I love everything about this dress, and find it especially flattering on you. Great review, too.
8/18/09 12:18 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress!
8/18/09 11:25 AM
Beek said...
Great looking dress! The details take it from ordinary to extraordinary!
8/18/09 10:51 AM
Mermie said...
Adorable dress and excellent review!
8/18/09 10:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

More Info
Kwik Sew 3300

photo
by: myraminx

Review