SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5321 (Pleat Front Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 598 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/09 10:27 AM
Last Updated:8/18/09 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mermie said...
Adorable dress and excellent review!
8/18/09 10:29 AM
Beek said...
Great looking dress! The details take it from ordinary to extraordinary!
8/18/09 10:51 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress!
8/18/09 11:25 AM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. I love everything about this dress, and find it especially flattering on you. Great review, too.
8/18/09 12:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
This dress is darling and looks great on you. I love those unusual back darts.
8/18/09 12:43 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute dress on you. I especially love your surprise lining.
8/18/09 1:01 PM
CharityAK said...
I adore the technical drawings on this dress and your full-on photos! I think this is the cutest pattern, but I share your concerns about the side view. I appreciate the review because if I decide to take a chance on it, I"ll definitely use a "muslin" level fabric first time round! Thanks!
8/18/09 1:25 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...love the dress and the scenery.
8/18/09 2:10 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, the diagonal pleats and darts are a really nice detail.
8/18/09 4:11 PM
CynthiaSue said...
shut UP! I am too jealous of you in Malaysia. Perfect print and style for your vacation!
8/18/09 4:23 PM
carolynw said...
I like it but can see what you mean on your blog photos. Nice back ground!!
8/18/09 5:03 PM
Gelbean said...
This really is a great dress!
8/18/09 7:11 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice, and thanks for the great tip about cutting the lining slightly smaller. I wish I'd thought of that last time I made a shift. Would the front pleats sit flatter if the fabric were drapier (e.g. rayon or some silks)?
8/18/09 9:36 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks great on you!
8/19/09 0:46 AM
becca a said...
Your dress is so flattering from the front and back. I wonder if a drapier fabric and partially sewing down the pleats would solve your front pouffiness.
8/19/09 10:30 AM
barbcl said...
Terrific dress! Thanks for the review. The pattern photo looks so weird that I have hesitated on this one, but yours convinces me to give it a try!
8/19/09 8:25 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Looks gorgeous on you, and the lining is fab.
8/21/09 7:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
McCall's 3136

photo
by: Renren

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now