SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5321 (Pleat Front Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 598 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/09 10:27 AM
Last Updated:8/18/09 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mermie said...
Adorable dress and excellent review!
8/18/09 10:29 AM
Beek said...
Great looking dress! The details take it from ordinary to extraordinary!
8/18/09 10:51 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Fabulous dress!
8/18/09 11:25 AM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. I love everything about this dress, and find it especially flattering on you. Great review, too.
8/18/09 12:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
This dress is darling and looks great on you. I love those unusual back darts.
8/18/09 12:43 PM
Amanda S. said...
Very cute dress on you. I especially love your surprise lining.
8/18/09 1:01 PM
CharityAK said...
I adore the technical drawings on this dress and your full-on photos! I think this is the cutest pattern, but I share your concerns about the side view. I appreciate the review because if I decide to take a chance on it, I"ll definitely use a "muslin" level fabric first time round! Thanks!
8/18/09 1:25 PM
Mufffet said...
WOW...love the dress and the scenery.
8/18/09 2:10 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, the diagonal pleats and darts are a really nice detail.
8/18/09 4:11 PM
CynthiaSue said...
shut UP! I am too jealous of you in Malaysia. Perfect print and style for your vacation!
8/18/09 4:23 PM
carolynw said...
I like it but can see what you mean on your blog photos. Nice back ground!!
8/18/09 5:03 PM
Gelbean said...
This really is a great dress!
8/18/09 7:11 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice, and thanks for the great tip about cutting the lining slightly smaller. I wish I'd thought of that last time I made a shift. Would the front pleats sit flatter if the fabric were drapier (e.g. rayon or some silks)?
8/18/09 9:36 PM
Elke said...
This dress looks great on you!
8/19/09 0:46 AM
becca a said...
Your dress is so flattering from the front and back. I wonder if a drapier fabric and partially sewing down the pleats would solve your front pouffiness.
8/19/09 10:30 AM
barbcl said...
Terrific dress! Thanks for the review. The pattern photo looks so weird that I have hesitated on this one, but yours convinces me to give it a try!
8/19/09 8:25 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Looks gorgeous on you, and the lining is fab.
8/21/09 7:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Burda 7176

photo
by: CraftAddic...

Review

Pattern

Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now