SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1089 (Drape neckline Top)

35 more reviews
Viewed 1324 times 
Reviewed by:RuthieSews
photo

 
 
About RuthieSewsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/06
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/09 6:00 PM
Last Updated:2/26/10 6:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Hmm. Maybe your issues may be the fabric. It seems like it may just not be drapy enough? It doesn't seem like the draped effect should be something *you* have to work at - it should be "built in" to the pattern, regardless of any fitting issues. Thanks so much for your review. Who knows..maybe this variation is just a dud!
8/17/09 6:30 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"I want that drapey gorgeousness..." Me, too, Ruthie!! Me, too!! You'll "get it"!!
8/17/09 6:33 PM
michellep74 said...
I made this view and used a very drapey rayon knit and am happy with the drape. (Still haven't photographed it yet.) From my experience, Trudy is correct that this view has the most ease out of the three--particularly in the bust area...which works great for me (and my ginormiboobs), but I could see where someone with a more normal size bust might want to go down a size or two.
8/17/09 6:34 PM
Elona said...
It looks to me also as though it might be a fabric problem. You want a knit so clingy that it would be obscene in a close-fitting garment--but that you could get away with if there were basically a lot of extra fabric draping, swooping, and slopping around here and there.
8/17/09 7:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
sorry you didn't get the sexy, drapey, gorgeousness on this one, but definately go down a size and try a different fabric. this pattern in on its way to me, so thank you so much for posting even though you are unhappy with this one.... keep trying, I bet it will be great!
8/17/09 10:54 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Ruthie...it seems that your shoulder seams are too long. You will see the drape of the cowl improve quite a lot when this is corrected... because with a cowl neckline the garment needs proper shoulder support to drape nicely. As it is now...the shoulder seam is actually pulling the cowl drape "Horizontally", rather than encouraging the cowl to drape "vertically". And...in a more "fluid" fabric, the cowl will have a pleasing drape. So..I think that once you fit the pattern (especially the shoulders), you'll be happier with it :) As with any other pattern...the fit is rarely spot-on right out of the envelope..that's why we all make muslins (fitting garments/ trial garments)..then adjust the pattern accordingly :)
8/18/09 6:28 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Sorry it didn't work out. It looks as though it has potential though if you keep at it.
8/18/09 3:55 PM
RLL said...
What a difference! Get those sleeves back on and wear it proudly. Nice save.
8/19/09 6:20 PM
jannw said...
Quite a difference in the two..thanx for all the info and your steps in fitting this pattern.
8/19/09 8:09 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow. Congratulations on saving this pattern. It looks lovely on you and I look forward to seeing the final version with sleeves in. Well done, I bet morphing the pieces was not all that straightforward.
8/20/09 3:10 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wow, this was a great save! You really look fabulous in the latest revision. I applaud your determination with this pattern. I was going to pass on it but since you have had a huge success with the latest one I'm off to buy it:-) Thank you for a most thorough review. M
8/31/09 10:04 AM
Elona said...
Ruthie, you nailed the fit! The new tops look spectacular on you, just terrific.
8/31/09 10:58 AM
sewbehind said...
That is gorgeous on you, Ruthie and I must say that you are looking fabulous these days.
8/31/09 11:40 AM
davin said...
I, too, have had problems with their patterns! And their reaction to my questions, after the first one, was snippy and dismissive. Donn't forget, they show you drawings, not photos. The look too often is deceptive, though seductive.
8/31/09 12:01 PM
Kisha said...
It looks wonderful. I truly like your version better. Especially the fit from below the bust down. I'm going to take your suggestions and morph the cowl portion on to a TNT fitted t-shirt. Thanks so much!
8/31/09 12:52 PM
Nancy K said...
I agree with Pam that if you get the shoulders in the right place the fit will be much improved. I also see that the fit across the front seems quite wide, so check when you've narrowed the shoulders and see if the front seam line doesn't need to be cut in a bit.
8/31/09 1:31 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice tops!! I love all your variations.
8/31/09 9:58 PM
Annette1 said...
Hmmmmm, no wonder your tops look so much better than the illustrations: You've got some morphing going on. I LOVE the drape on these tops, and you REALLY look good in them!
9/1/09 1:58 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Off the top of my head the PR member coined term Frankenpattern comes to mind.. somebody with a better memory than mine please chime in with the proper credit.. 'cause I love that term... what a journey.. Great Review!
2/27/10 8:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Megan Nielsen MN2102

photo
by: KatiMade

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Buy Now