Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1089 (Drape neckline Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1321 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:RuthieSews
photo
About RuthieSewsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/06
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/17/09 6:00 PM
Last Updated:2/26/10 6:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kaitlinnegan said...
Hmm. Maybe your issues may be the fabric. It seems like it may just not be drapy enough? It doesn't seem like the draped effect should be something *you* have to work at - it should be "built in" to the pattern, regardless of any fitting issues. Thanks so much for your review. Who knows..maybe this variation is just a dud!
8/17/09 6:30 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"I want that drapey gorgeousness..." Me, too, Ruthie!! Me, too!! You'll "get it"!!
8/17/09 6:33 PM
michellep74 said...
I made this view and used a very drapey rayon knit and am happy with the drape. (Still haven't photographed it yet.) From my experience, Trudy is correct that this view has the most ease out of the three--particularly in the bust area...which works great for me (and my ginormiboobs), but I could see where someone with a more normal size bust might want to go down a size or two.
8/17/09 6:34 PM
Elona said...
It looks to me also as though it might be a fabric problem. You want a knit so clingy that it would be obscene in a close-fitting garment--but that you could get away with if there were basically a lot of extra fabric draping, swooping, and slopping around here and there.
8/17/09 7:36 PM
Raye Ann said...
sorry you didn't get the sexy, drapey, gorgeousness on this one, but definately go down a size and try a different fabric. this pattern in on its way to me, so thank you so much for posting even though you are unhappy with this one.... keep trying, I bet it will be great!
8/17/09 10:54 PM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Ruthie...it seems that your shoulder seams are too long. You will see the drape of the cowl improve quite a lot when this is corrected... because with a cowl neckline the garment needs proper shoulder support to drape nicely. As it is now...the shoulder seam is actually pulling the cowl drape "Horizontally", rather than encouraging the cowl to drape "vertically". And...in a more "fluid" fabric, the cowl will have a pleasing drape. So..I think that once you fit the pattern (especially the shoulders), you'll be happier with it :) As with any other pattern...the fit is rarely spot-on right out of the envelope..that's why we all make muslins (fitting garments/ trial garments)..then adjust the pattern accordingly :)
8/18/09 6:28 AM
Geordie Girl said...
Sorry it didn't work out. It looks as though it has potential though if you keep at it.
8/18/09 3:55 PM
RLL said...
What a difference! Get those sleeves back on and wear it proudly. Nice save.
8/19/09 6:20 PM
jannw said...
Quite a difference in the two..thanx for all the info and your steps in fitting this pattern.
8/19/09 8:09 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow. Congratulations on saving this pattern. It looks lovely on you and I look forward to seeing the final version with sleeves in. Well done, I bet morphing the pieces was not all that straightforward.
8/20/09 3:10 AM
sew obsessed said...
Wow, this was a great save! You really look fabulous in the latest revision. I applaud your determination with this pattern. I was going to pass on it but since you have had a huge success with the latest one I'm off to buy it:-) Thank you for a most thorough review. M
8/31/09 10:04 AM
Elona said...
Ruthie, you nailed the fit! The new tops look spectacular on you, just terrific.
8/31/09 10:58 AM
sewbehind said...
That is gorgeous on you, Ruthie and I must say that you are looking fabulous these days.
8/31/09 11:40 AM
davin said...
I, too, have had problems with their patterns! And their reaction to my questions, after the first one, was snippy and dismissive. Donn't forget, they show you drawings, not photos. The look too often is deceptive, though seductive.
8/31/09 12:01 PM
Kisha said...
It looks wonderful. I truly like your version better. Especially the fit from below the bust down. I'm going to take your suggestions and morph the cowl portion on to a TNT fitted t-shirt. Thanks so much!
8/31/09 12:52 PM
Nancy K said...
I agree with Pam that if you get the shoulders in the right place the fit will be much improved. I also see that the fit across the front seems quite wide, so check when you've narrowed the shoulders and see if the front seam line doesn't need to be cut in a bit.
8/31/09 1:31 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Nice tops!! I love all your variations.
8/31/09 9:58 PM
Annette1 said...
Hmmmmm, no wonder your tops look so much better than the illustrations: You've got some morphing going on. I LOVE the drape on these tops, and you REALLY look good in them!
9/1/09 1:58 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Off the top of my head the PR member coined term Frankenpattern comes to mind.. somebody with a better memory than mine please chime in with the proper credit.. 'cause I love that term... what a journey.. Great Review!
2/27/10 8:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Contest Endless Combinations Contest 2008
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 12/30/08
Read Review

Madison Avenue Dress
Madison Avenue Dress

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Creative Thimble Mini Professional Tote
photo
Review by Pinkhousel... on 3/9/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us