SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 7183 

Viewed 1434 times 
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo

 
 
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/21/04 10:02 PM
Last Updated:1/21/04 10:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nukunukuchan said... (4/20/04 3:02 PM) Reply
If you were left with such a small gap I can totally see how that can be confusing; it took me a while to figure out that part of the pattern, I agree it needed a better picture and directions. I was left with a gap of about an 1 1/4" to 1 1/2", so mine turned out looking different than yours. I have photos of my finished haori, if you like I could email them to you :-)
sailonsilvergirl said... (3/12/04 7:17 PM) Reply
Yes, thanks, I collect antique and vintage haori so I do know about that gap under the arm. I'll have to take another look at the directions then, because what I wound up with wasn't the gap of several inches like on a haori but a 1/4" gap, like it really wasn't supposed to be that way. Although I wonder if I may have also cut the sleeves slightly narrower. I can't remember that detail, but if I did, that would account for a gap looking more like a mistake than intentional because narrowing it would have removed some of that gap. I wish for details like this, that pattern companies would show a close-up of that area. Nowhere in the pattern photos do I see what the underarm should look like. Although I also saw this as a Western modification of haori, while I think Simplicity has a haori pattern that's more true and where I would expect to see the gap.
nukunukuchan said... (3/11/04 7:22 PM) Reply
I think you misunderstood the directions for this sewing pattern. Japanese haori are meant to be a jacket worn over kimono or other clothing, and therefore have a gap under the arm for air flow. There is supposed to be that gap between the armpit and the top of the gusset. That is why they have you sew the gusset together at the top and turn it inside out-so when you sew it into the haori there is that nice finished seam! I also did this pattern with some embroidery and it turned out lovely.
Ann C said... (1/23/04 10:53 AM) Reply
How pretty!
SewingSusan said... (1/22/04 6:45 AM) Reply
Great fabric choice for your jacket. I made a kimono for a friend in October and had a similar problem with the underarm seams joining. I eventually got it to work but was not completely satisfied with the end result. The pattern in that instance was Butterick 6698. Like you, I still don't really know what the problem was.
jlg said... (1/22/04 5:08 AM) Reply
Very pretty jacket. I like your fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 1539

photo
by: monicawood...

Review
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Pattern Details