SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6407 (Misses' Shirts)

74 more reviews
Viewed 782 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/09 8:34 PM
Last Updated:8/19/09 8:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Fitting ... argh! Generally your blouse is looking quite nice. I can see what you mean about a tendency to fall backward. Next time... It does look beautifully made though.
8/19/09 8:52 PM
homejewel said...
I bought this pattern, too, because of the great reviews. But I fear that I will have to redraft it a good bit, too. You may not think it is perfect, but from the pictures, it really does look great on you. Nice choice of fabric, too.
8/19/09 9:03 PM
Michelle L said...
Good for you for sticking it out and figuring out the issues. I often find that I need to add a center back seam in my tops to make them fit. I think it looks excellent, it is a gorgeous shirt.
8/19/09 9:45 PM
Jali said...
The fit seems good from the pictures. It's a lovely white shirt in a beautiful fabric and I am sure you will get a lot of wear out of it.
8/19/09 10:06 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
I think it looks pretty. You did a real great job with the cuffs.
8/19/09 10:11 PM
SewRusty said...
Just remember, no one else will be nearly so critical of your work as you! I LOVE the fabric choice for this, and doubt that anyone else thinks the flaws are as glaringly obvious as you do. :-)
8/19/09 10:22 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
All your effort was worthwhile because you have a great blouse. Now you can do anything with your TNT pattern.
8/19/09 10:24 PM
Lori V said...
Your blouse looks very pretty on you.
8/19/09 10:40 PM
Dee2 said...
I love this shirt & I think the fit looks great. It's a real classic & you did a great job!
8/19/09 11:14 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Thank you!
8/20/09 1:30 AM
lara900 said...
vow: your blouse looks lovely -- I could never tell from those photos that you had to fiddle so much. Bravo!
8/20/09 2:29 AM
AnitaJ said...
You've ended up with a very pretty blouse! I admire your perseverance in getting a good fit and I learned a lot in reading through your fit saga. Thanks for sharing. :)
8/20/09 3:04 AM
Renren said...
Beautiful and you wear it so effortlessly. I know it was quite a struggle, but WOW!
8/20/09 4:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Your blouse does look good on you and the fabric is lovely.
8/20/09 8:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
What lovely fabric! I think the fit is coming along very well. You might include a sloping shoulder adjustment next time if you feel like tweaking a little more. However, the shirt you made looks fantastic.
8/20/09 9:09 AM
RLL said...
I agree with everyone else, the shirt looks great. And as far as the back seam goes, a well known independent designer, Cynthia Guffey, feels every shirt or jacket should have a center back seam for fitting. If it doesn't, you should add one.......in her opinion. I have found that it does help with fitting issues.
8/20/09 3:57 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks everyone! I appreciate your comments and advice!
8/21/09 2:21 AM
moonstar said...
I love your blouse so much that I decided to go ahead and buy the pattern. I'm new to sewing and it looks like an intimidating project but hopefully I will manage.
9/30/09 4:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Australian Smocking & Embroidery Magazine 99-2012-34

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
Simplicity 1824

photo
by: LBT4539

Review
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now