SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2589 (Misses Tudor Costume)

10 more reviews
Viewed 536 times 
Reviewed by:Tweet Twacey
photo

 
 
About Tweet Twacey
AZ USA
Member since: 1/23/09
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/09 11:25 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Gorgeous dress! Love your fabric choice and the dress looks fantastic!
8/19/09 11:27 PM
Peter in NYC said...
That is an amazing dress! Love how they are color (and pattern) coordinated.
8/20/09 3:07 AM
jilly cooper said...
wow - your ability to pick the right fabric and put it all together is really, really good.
8/20/09 3:40 AM
Sister of Josh said...
Excellent - very beautiful.
8/20/09 7:01 AM
okie2thdoc said...
That's incredible. I love the way it looks but am thankful we don't have to wear something like this everyday;)
8/20/09 8:59 AM
MCBurbage said...
I've had some trouble with Simplicity's undergarment patterns not matching up well at the neckline with their associated gown patterns. It sounds like you may have had this problem with this pair of patterns. How much wider did the neckline of the dress come out than the undergarments?
8/20/09 12:37 PM
Tweet Twacey said...
Thank you all for the comments! MCBurbage- The undergarments were visible for about 2". They lined up well in the front and the back, however the cut on shoulders was too wide to keep them covered. I don't know if this is the pattern's fault or not. The fabric I was working with was very heavy and the weight of the sleeves might have been partially responsible for the dress being slighty off-the-shoulder. Whatever the case it made for a very horrible and odd-shaped sunburn because I forgot sunblock.
8/20/09 1:38 PM
papago said...
All I can say is - WOW!! This is stunning. Great job!!
8/21/09 0:28 AM
ukdame said...
So much difficulty in this style. I applaud you too for entering into such a huge project. Can you imagine how they did not bath too much back in those days..of couse no 90 degree heat but still?
8/21/09 11:04 PM
FreckleHead said...
If I am getting this right, the smock or chemise is supposed to show a little bit, because it would have some blackwork embroidery around the edge. I have seen several portraits that show gowns being worn like that. :D Great job, your review gives me he courage to start on this gown lol :D
8/25/09 0:30 AM
Raven Elle said...
I am about to make this gown and seeing it in the flesh is nice. I hope mine turns out as well as yours. *GULP*
9/6/09 6:31 PM
Rebecca Szetela said...
This is a really impressive effort. The coordination of your 2 Tudor costumes in terms of fabric choices is also impressive. Excellent sewing. Bravo!
10/17/09 6:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1225

photo
by: Marge99

Review