Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2589 (Misses Tudor Costume) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 518 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Tweet Twacey
photo
About Tweet Twacey
AZ USA
Member since: 1/23/09
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/09 11:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Gorgeous dress! Love your fabric choice and the dress looks fantastic!
8/19/09 11:27 PM
Peter in NYC said...
That is an amazing dress! Love how they are color (and pattern) coordinated.
8/20/09 3:07 AM
jilly cooper said...
wow - your ability to pick the right fabric and put it all together is really, really good.
8/20/09 3:40 AM
Sister of Josh said...
Excellent - very beautiful.
8/20/09 7:01 AM
okie2thdoc said...
That's incredible. I love the way it looks but am thankful we don't have to wear something like this everyday;)
8/20/09 8:59 AM
MCBurbage said...
I've had some trouble with Simplicity's undergarment patterns not matching up well at the neckline with their associated gown patterns. It sounds like you may have had this problem with this pair of patterns. How much wider did the neckline of the dress come out than the undergarments?
8/20/09 12:37 PM
Tweet Twacey said...
Thank you all for the comments! MCBurbage- The undergarments were visible for about 2". They lined up well in the front and the back, however the cut on shoulders was too wide to keep them covered. I don't know if this is the pattern's fault or not. The fabric I was working with was very heavy and the weight of the sleeves might have been partially responsible for the dress being slighty off-the-shoulder. Whatever the case it made for a very horrible and odd-shaped sunburn because I forgot sunblock.
8/20/09 1:38 PM
papago said...
All I can say is - WOW!! This is stunning. Great job!!
8/21/09 0:28 AM
ukdame said...
So much difficulty in this style. I applaud you too for entering into such a huge project. Can you imagine how they did not bath too much back in those days..of couse no 90 degree heat but still?
8/21/09 11:04 PM
FreckleHead said...
If I am getting this right, the smock or chemise is supposed to show a little bit, because it would have some blackwork embroidery around the edge. I have seen several portraits that show gowns being worn like that. :D Great job, your review gives me he courage to start on this gown lol :D
8/25/09 0:30 AM
Raven Elle said...
I am about to make this gown and seeing it in the flesh is nice. I hope mine turns out as well as yours. *GULP*
9/6/09 6:31 PM
Rebecca Szetela said...
This is a really impressive effort. The coordination of your 2 Tudor costumes in terms of fabric choices is also impressive. Excellent sewing. Bravo!
10/17/09 6:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2008-111
photo
Review by redroserac... on 3/31/10
Read Review

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by piccalizzi... on 8/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us