Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7827 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 413 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/09 11:45 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jacqui315 said...
I definitely think you've graduated from beginner status with this great dress!
8/28/09 12:42 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your fabulous dress! I so much wanted to make this dress - actually just like you have - color, fabric, etc. - ever since I saw it originally in the Burda magazine. So I am happy to see that you are successful with all of your efforts. Moreover by posting your challenges, your review and links are quite an education of issues I had no previous awareness, and may help me a lot in my future sewing. Thanks!
8/28/09 1:42 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You should be *very* proud of your fantastic dress! It is a winner!!
8/28/09 2:03 PM
Mary Nanna said...
dress looks great - I love what you did with the darts in the back - it adds great shape as well as interesting detail. I love top stitching - when I upgraded my old machine I set it up as a top stitching machine with a special needle etc - but soon gave up on the idea because my new machine has the BEST edge foot (Bernina) which does perfect top stitching! Your dress looks stunning - it sounds to me like you've got "I sewed it" where you only see/remember what went wrong but everyone else sees a wonderful creation.
8/28/09 2:40 PM
carolynw said...
Someone would have to have an eagle eye to find an error in this stunning dress - move up from "beginner" you are quite advanced turning out this perfect dress!!
8/28/09 3:03 PM
Pinkytoo said...
I'm glad I could help and that you stuck with it because the finished project is fantastic! I never would have noticed the belt loops (still don't), and this style suits you so well. I even like the belt as-is. Great job!
8/28/09 3:13 PM
Dynamo said...
This dress suits you! I don't think anyone would notice the wee imperfections that are bothering you. Good on you for perservering and ending up with a great result.
8/28/09 3:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on your gorgeous dress! you look ready for the outback:) i don't see any problem with extra fabric from the front or back, it actually looks perfect. any less ease in the back shoulder area may effect your arm movement. welt pockets, miles of button and topstitching, flat felled seams/hong kong finishes.... move yourself up girl!
8/28/09 4:33 PM
Catbird said...
I think you did a great job and I hope you get lots of wear out of this wonderful classic!
8/28/09 7:09 PM
Kay Y said...
Add me to the list of people who think this dress looks fantastic. Congratulations on sticking it out (and remember, if the "error" cannot be noticed from 8 feet or so away, it does NOT count!).
8/28/09 7:26 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Great dress and love the colour! Thanks for the super helpful review.
8/28/09 7:45 PM
Rhoda K said...
You did a great job on this dress and a great review. The color is beautiful. I didn't realize PA Fabric Outlet had one in Lancaster! I used to shop the one in Lemoyne.
8/28/09 8:18 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks everyone for the commentary! I really appreciate it.
8/28/09 9:17 PM
Fran G said...
Loved your dress and work at first sight! We sewers tend to be super critical of all of our little errors, a little wonky sewing here, a wrinkle there. You are aware of any areas that you are not happy with but the rest of us cannot see them. Your styling of this dress is perfect! How did spray starch help you on this project? I am going back to looks at your links..thanks and you did a wonderful job!
8/29/09 8:09 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I never used spray starch before, but I make my own bias binding and thought that it might help stabilize it. I used an olive green lawn-like fabric for the binding and the starch gave it a nice crispness that it wouldn't have had otherwise. That made it very easy to attach using the binder foot. Also, starching the folded over edge for flat felling helped it go through the felling foot with half as much work on my part. And the nice thing about starch is that it simply washes out.
8/29/09 9:54 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress. Lucky you with the loftier buttocks!
8/29/09 11:17 AM
Vintage Joan said...
What a great dress -- it looks fantastic on you. Thanks for a very good review. :)
8/29/09 7:50 PM
Vellela said...
Lovely dress...looks great
8/30/09 11:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-107 Boucle Jacket
photo
Review by Jstarr4250 on 1/20/14
Read Review

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5103 Blouses
photo
Review by Cheryl Ree... on 12/5/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1642 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6939 Pattern( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us