SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7827 (Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 414 times 
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo

 
 
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/28/09 11:45 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jacqui315 said...
I definitely think you've graduated from beginner status with this great dress!
8/28/09 12:42 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations on your fabulous dress! I so much wanted to make this dress - actually just like you have - color, fabric, etc. - ever since I saw it originally in the Burda magazine. So I am happy to see that you are successful with all of your efforts. Moreover by posting your challenges, your review and links are quite an education of issues I had no previous awareness, and may help me a lot in my future sewing. Thanks!
8/28/09 1:42 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You should be *very* proud of your fantastic dress! It is a winner!!
8/28/09 2:03 PM
Mary Nanna said...
dress looks great - I love what you did with the darts in the back - it adds great shape as well as interesting detail. I love top stitching - when I upgraded my old machine I set it up as a top stitching machine with a special needle etc - but soon gave up on the idea because my new machine has the BEST edge foot (Bernina) which does perfect top stitching! Your dress looks stunning - it sounds to me like you've got "I sewed it" where you only see/remember what went wrong but everyone else sees a wonderful creation.
8/28/09 2:40 PM
carolynw said...
Someone would have to have an eagle eye to find an error in this stunning dress - move up from "beginner" you are quite advanced turning out this perfect dress!!
8/28/09 3:03 PM
Pinkytoo said...
I'm glad I could help and that you stuck with it because the finished project is fantastic! I never would have noticed the belt loops (still don't), and this style suits you so well. I even like the belt as-is. Great job!
8/28/09 3:13 PM
Dynamo said...
This dress suits you! I don't think anyone would notice the wee imperfections that are bothering you. Good on you for perservering and ending up with a great result.
8/28/09 3:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
congratulations on your gorgeous dress! you look ready for the outback:) i don't see any problem with extra fabric from the front or back, it actually looks perfect. any less ease in the back shoulder area may effect your arm movement. welt pockets, miles of button and topstitching, flat felled seams/hong kong finishes.... move yourself up girl!
8/28/09 4:33 PM
Catbird said...
I think you did a great job and I hope you get lots of wear out of this wonderful classic!
8/28/09 7:09 PM
Kay Y said...
Add me to the list of people who think this dress looks fantastic. Congratulations on sticking it out (and remember, if the "error" cannot be noticed from 8 feet or so away, it does NOT count!).
8/28/09 7:26 PM
SpinningJenny said...
Great dress and love the colour! Thanks for the super helpful review.
8/28/09 7:45 PM
Rhoda K said...
You did a great job on this dress and a great review. The color is beautiful. I didn't realize PA Fabric Outlet had one in Lancaster! I used to shop the one in Lemoyne.
8/28/09 8:18 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Thanks everyone for the commentary! I really appreciate it.
8/28/09 9:17 PM
Fran G said...
Loved your dress and work at first sight! We sewers tend to be super critical of all of our little errors, a little wonky sewing here, a wrinkle there. You are aware of any areas that you are not happy with but the rest of us cannot see them. Your styling of this dress is perfect! How did spray starch help you on this project? I am going back to looks at your links..thanks and you did a wonderful job!
8/29/09 8:09 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I never used spray starch before, but I make my own bias binding and thought that it might help stabilize it. I used an olive green lawn-like fabric for the binding and the starch gave it a nice crispness that it wouldn't have had otherwise. That made it very easy to attach using the binder foot. Also, starching the folded over edge for flat felling helped it go through the felling foot with half as much work on my part. And the nice thing about starch is that it simply washes out.
8/29/09 9:54 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful dress. Lucky you with the loftier buttocks!
8/29/09 11:17 AM
Vintage Joan said...
What a great dress -- it looks fantastic on you. Thanks for a very good review. :)
8/29/09 7:50 PM
Vellela said...
Lovely dress...looks great
8/30/09 11:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 7608

photo
by: Mobycat

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now