SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3239 (Misses Swimsuits)

5 more reviews
Viewed 363 times 
Reviewed by:Mrs.Moos
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mrs.Moosstar
United States
Member since: 11/5/02
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/09 1:48 AM
Last Updated:8/21/09 3:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gtsang said... (11/23/11 6:51 PM) Reply
Thanks for the idea about the foam inserts. The lack of SUPPORT (iykwim) has kept me from trying to make my own.
JEF said... (8/22/09 9:49 AM) Reply
Wonderful review! I used that elastic in lycra turning method about 2 weeks ago for a pair of swimsuits - still to be reviewed. I totally agree it was a huge PITA but the look was great. Last night I had a thought about them (I know, it's weird to lie in bed thinking about ALREADY FINISHED sewing projects). What about pinning the safety pin on that section of elastic/fabric you use pull through so the narrow end of the safety pin will be going through the lycra tube? Then, use a wire loop turner to grab the end of the safety pin and pull it back through? I didn't use the safety pin when I did mine and my loop turner sometimes cut through the bit of fabric or elastic it was attached to - so I had to start all over over (like I said, the turning was a PITA). Maybe a combo of both of our turning techniques will be the key to success!
beth5646 said... (8/22/09 6:08 AM) Reply
GREAT review. Thank you for all the tips. That is a darling swimsuit. ( I understand about the "woven fabric swimsuit"!!! I too am 53 and have made a few of those in my time also.) After reading your review I plan to purchase this pattern and make some swimsuits for my daughter also. I appreciate the time you spent putting all the details in this review. I will use your tips and fabric suggestions. Thanks.
calminatrix said... (8/22/09 5:58 AM) Reply
it's beautiful! really!
Flying Seamstress said... (8/21/09 5:18 AM) Reply
What an awewsome job you've done here ~ and thank you for such a detailed review. DD must surely love this bikini!
jilly cooper said... (8/21/09 2:52 AM) Reply
beautiful and lots of good tips too
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Pauline Alice Ninot jacket

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review
Butterick B 4875

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Pattern Details
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Pattern Details