Online Sewing Class: Pattern Work
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3239 (Misses Swimsuits)

5 more reviews
Viewed 367 times 
Reviewed by:Mrs.Moos
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mrs.Moosstar
United States
Member since: 11/5/02
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/09 1:48 AM
Last Updated:8/21/09 3:03 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $10.99 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gtsang said... (11/23/11 6:51 PM) Reply
Thanks for the idea about the foam inserts. The lack of SUPPORT (iykwim) has kept me from trying to make my own.
JEF said... (8/22/09 9:49 AM) Reply
Wonderful review! I used that elastic in lycra turning method about 2 weeks ago for a pair of swimsuits - still to be reviewed. I totally agree it was a huge PITA but the look was great. Last night I had a thought about them (I know, it's weird to lie in bed thinking about ALREADY FINISHED sewing projects). What about pinning the safety pin on that section of elastic/fabric you use pull through so the narrow end of the safety pin will be going through the lycra tube? Then, use a wire loop turner to grab the end of the safety pin and pull it back through? I didn't use the safety pin when I did mine and my loop turner sometimes cut through the bit of fabric or elastic it was attached to - so I had to start all over over (like I said, the turning was a PITA). Maybe a combo of both of our turning techniques will be the key to success!
beth5646 said... (8/22/09 6:08 AM) Reply
GREAT review. Thank you for all the tips. That is a darling swimsuit. ( I understand about the "woven fabric swimsuit"!!! I too am 53 and have made a few of those in my time also.) After reading your review I plan to purchase this pattern and make some swimsuits for my daughter also. I appreciate the time you spent putting all the details in this review. I will use your tips and fabric suggestions. Thanks.
calminatrix said... (8/22/09 5:58 AM) Reply
it's beautiful! really!
Flying Seamstress said... (8/21/09 5:18 AM) Reply
What an awewsome job you've done here ~ and thank you for such a detailed review. DD must surely love this bikini!
jilly cooper said... (8/21/09 2:52 AM) Reply
beautiful and lots of good tips too
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Made By Rae Washi Dress

photo
by: sunnysewin...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 29655-1005

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Bendy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Checkbook Cover Paper Pattern

Checkbook Cover Paper Pattern

Pattern Details